We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation,good food very loud après ski bar with decent live band every night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langley Hotel Gustavia
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a half decent room compared to the one they wanted to give us but still small by any standards and when your paying £650 each for a week you expect a decent room, we were put in the wrong room and were asked to move into a broom cupboard with a slanting roof a skylight and no other windows I must say I was stunned and refused to move.
The food on the other hand was pretty good and the bar although a little bit "allo allo" was very busy at lunchtime when we arrived which was a good sign,the drinks prices are pretty high and not good value at all it's the cheapest spirits at the smallest amounts possible at the gustavia a sure way to make them what must be huge profits although the house wine was very reasonable and not at all bad,the facilities aren't great a damp board/boot room with one seat and a leg breaker of a floor are very poor for a hotel of any standard to be honest,all in all the gustavia needs improvement but the staff are nice and do there best so if you like loud après ski in a very busy bar and don't mind small rooms then the gustavia will suit you, if you prefer a bit more space with decent facilities then avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Nice and helpful staff, intense after ski party but really no space for social meetings, conversations or just relaxing.
The only place to relax with friends (if you don't want to participate in the after ski party) is at the the "library". Unfortunately were the only two sofas occupied by the band before and after they played.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Booked 2 nights for son and freind at Christmas and staff was incredible!!Able to communicate via email from US to get extra bed and wine for present. Great location right across from train from Geneva in heart of town and steps from Skiset ski rental. Reasonable rates given location and accomodations. Thank you Gustavia!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week.
We have assigned to 3rd floor with great view. The hotel located near to restaurant, shopping and tourist attraction area by walking distance.
If you are traveller like to chill up at bar through out the night, this place is highly recommended as opposite hotel bar are opened late night with good music.
Thank you for reception lady who is very helpful to guide us the tourist attraction area we should visit and clear information and map shared.
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellytea4668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Rooms are clean. Good location, but rooms facing the bar across the street are noisy. Showers are typically European - a cramped afterthought. How many people take baths, anyway, especially in a hotel bathroom? Internet is a joke. No printer available to print tickets or boarding passes. No safe deposit box, in room or at front desk. Attached bar and restaurant are handy. Easy walk to center of town and across the street from train station. Front desk variably helpful. As in all European tourist destinations, just about everyone speaks English.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigskyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Want a charming hotel with a great location in Chamonix? This is it. Rates are reasonable, the breakfast is quite good and the adjacent bar/restaurant is quaint and nice as well. A good place to come back to after whatever activities you have done during your day. Annie, the manager, is personable and very helpful. People watching from the outdoor cafe/bar is a must. So is the yoghurt and baguettes served at breakfast. Everyone was nice and helpful (the bellman refused my money after carrying my bag downstairs- that was a first:) even filling water bottles for me. Can't wait to return to this little gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Nice hotel with character.
Bedrooms varied. Our party had modern rooms, mostly with bath but some only wetrooms. Rooms lacked shelf space. Mont Blanc view rooms also overlooked railway station and road, neither of which caused a noise problem. Brevant view rooms were looking over back of hotel, very quite.
Although the bar was one of main apres ski bars, very busy and noisy during this period, but was quiet come time for sleep. Noise was only from other inconsiderate quests.
Meals were well presented and tasty. Restaurant staff always pleasant and accomodating.
Most quests appeared to be from Scandinavia, but were all English speaking and happy to exchange experiences.
Boot room was good size but not heated.

Work out bus route as soon as possible as position of hotel is not near lifts.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManxCats2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Clocher Villa savoy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel Gustavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel Gustavia

Address: 272 avenue Michel Croz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £74 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Hotel Gustavia 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel Gustavia is located in the heart of Chamonix just in front of the train station at the foot of Mont-Blanc. This hotel has a sporty atmosphere with a restaurant and bar very famous for its Apres-ski! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langley Hotel Gustavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavia Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing