We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langley Hotel Gustavia
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great location across the street fr the train station. Good breakfast. Wimsy staff drags down the rating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DormyStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Yes, the three most important things for a hotel. The location of the Gustavia is great. Opposite the train station is usually the worst part of any town but in Chamonix you are just around the corner from the shops, bars and restaurants. And, of course, very close to the station. Buses for the slopes are only a couple of blocks away too. But the shower. The bathroom is small, or certainly was in my single room, which was actually a twin with two equally narrow beds. But the problem comes with the curtain that wraps around you like a shawl and clings on to you like an ice skater on their first lesson. And bend slightly and you will switch the water to cold. Shower excepted the hotel was good value and the staff were helpful. A bit noisy at night too.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Whilst we were only in Chamonix for 2 nights in April (no skiing for us) you tell this place was was very informative about skiing conditions and other events/activities for a youthful crowd. Very friendly and helpful service and in a good location.
We enjoyed a trip up in the cable car.
We just loved being in the town itself and we weren't particularly concerned with an exclusive room. It was a comfortable enough room and someone promptly came to fix a plumbing problem when required. Walking around town it seems there are a number of similarly priced mid range hotels so if you have a family I would probably chose another hotel.
We didn't eat at the hotel but had a great steak meal at a nearby restaurant "Le Bergerie".

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Good location and a great bar for apres ski. Rooms were really tiny though. Breakfast was good. Disappointed with rooms, nothing like the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaisyMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hotel Gustavia is a nice but basic hotel, very clean, nice staff and quite central. The food is very good too but it's a set menu so if ur picky then don't go half board.

As for Chamonix ski resort I was disappointed. I'm a boarder and I like to play on the piste with butters, lips and jibs but the runs are too steep and short. They do have a couple snow parks which are ok but really this place is all about off piste. Although you have a choice of mountains to chose from in Chamonix, getting the bus every morning was a chore.

Spunky Jones.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jia1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We visited Chamonix to try skiing for the first time and we stayed at this hotel for a week, half board. The breakfast offered a variety of things (mainly cold) but the dinner was a three course meal (set menu) which was amazing. The hotel was a little noisy because of Chambre neuf (one of the best apres aki bars in town) being situated right under the hotel, so i wouldn't recommend it for families with young kids or maybe people from the older generation. The location of this hotel is perfect opposit the train station and walking distance to the center of town where all the shops are. The rooms are basic but very comfortable.The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We would love to stay there again, hopefully in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lex_az79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a half decent room compared to the one they wanted to give us but still small by any standards and when your paying £650 each for a week you expect a decent room, we were put in the wrong room and were asked to move into a broom cupboard with a slanting roof a skylight and no other windows I must say I was stunned and refused to move.
The food on the other hand was pretty good and the bar although a little bit "allo allo" was very busy at lunchtime when we arrived which was a good sign,the drinks prices are pretty high and not good value at all it's the cheapest spirits at the smallest amounts possible at the gustavia a sure way to make them what must be huge profits although the house wine was very reasonable and not at all bad,the facilities aren't great a damp board/boot room with one seat and a leg breaker of a floor are very poor for a hotel of any standard to be honest,all in all the gustavia needs improvement but the staff are nice and do there best so if you like loud après ski in a very busy bar and don't mind small rooms then the gustavia will suit you, if you prefer a bit more space with decent facilities then avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
135 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#37 of 73 in Chamonix
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#51 of 73 in Chamonix
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel Gustavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel Gustavia

Address: 272 avenue Michel Croz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Hotel Gustavia 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel Gustavia is located in the heart of Chamonix just in front of the train station at the foot of Mont-Blanc. This hotel has a sporty atmosphere with a restaurant and bar very famous for its Apres-ski! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langley Hotel Gustavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavia Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing