We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep looking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langley Hotel Gustavia
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Keep looking”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Location is good, but the hotel needs an update. Plus, with so many bars and restaurants nearby, getting a good night's rest is tough. If you decide to stay here, bring earplugs! We were told we had a room with a view. Well, if you consider a view of the wall of the building next door, you'll score. Personally, I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    96
    81
    32
    33
See reviews for
61
101
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Gustavia has awesome , helpful and very knowledgeable staff. We are a couple (aged 40) who climb and love to travel.

This is a very central hotel, 5 mins from both main streets of Chamonix and 5 mins from the Cable car up to Aguilles du Midi.

Its got varying rooms in terms of size, some mountain facing, some not - but all are nice, well presented and clean. There is a lovely restaurant and bar joined as well as onsite dining room for a well catered breakfast. WiFi is free however varies as you head upstairs (common in traditional buildings - thick walls!) Outside there is a seated area for food and beers and live bands play as well as a great BBQ on a Friday Saturday night.

We were staying on the mountain some nights but we were able to store our luggage securely while we were away and there were no probs checking back in etc. Its common round Chamonix!

Overall a fantastic Chamonix/Mountain feel - great access and good amenities. Overall VERY GOOD. Only minor downside is that a bar nearby can be a bit noisy until midnight , not an issue unless you have a 5am start - really minor !!

Apart from that better Wifi signal throughout would be great but again is quite minor.

I would defo stay here again :)

Staff are LOVELY!

Room Tip: Book then contact the hotel and they will do anything they can to help you. we had complicated movem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinylJunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel in summer is a walkers/climbers hotel, no frills. It is in a perfect location for the station, Montenvers railway, and Midi cable car, a fair walk for Planpraz lift however. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is superb, and the dinner was fine.The only downside was a drain smell in the bathroom together with some noise from bar opposite. ( it was Bastille evening)

Room Tip: Buy your lift pass online, and get an extra day free. Also note over-65 discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSarum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived about 8.30.p.m. having been delayed by the French Rail strike. We had booked a double/twin room but were allocated a single room by the well meaning but totally inefficient receptionist. We had to go down and tell him it was a single and he proceeded to get a bed to put in the room. I Can only describe it as a fold up camp bed one has in the loft at home. The room was stuffy, there was one fanlight which could not be opened. There were two hooks on the wall for all our clothes no other storage space was provided.
Breakfast was another fiasco and the person in charge had let most essential run out and had to be chased for things like plates, milk, butter, orange juice coffee and so on.
The whole place had the atmosphere of a youth hostel run by friendly but totally inefficient young people.
After we left. the Manager chased us by e-mail for a sum which he said we had under paid for our stay. When I explained how we felt he did have the grace to let the amount we had pain stand.

Room Tip: Don't choose any, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on two separate occasions, staff were very helpful, room was spacious enough with a great view of the mountains, bathroom was quite large the first time we stayed and adequate on the next. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in the 2 weeks we have been in Europe. Bed comfortable, and noise was not a problem, definitely not a flash place, but good value for money, and would stay again. Very well located across from the train station and hire cars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I hosted a visit for 40 travellers from our local running club, to compete in the Mont Blanc Marathon event in June 2014. To keep costs down, there was room sharing by many of us, including some in triple or quad rooms. The rooms were comfortable, there was good food available, the bar has a great atmosphere, and it is a perfect location near the station. The assistance in planning the visit before we arrived, that started many months before our visit, was also excellent and very helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the friendliness of the staff - they were always keen to help, at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

BAD
1. Wifi didint work in rooms as advertised (confirmed by staff that it doesn;t so why do they advertise it???). and ok but spotty in the public area. a hotel which cannot provide reasonable wifi today indicates owners have no concern for guests. and lie about it even worse.
2. booked a room described as 25 sq m2 twin room . yet it was 10 sq m2 (i measured). hmmm. and a dump. lies and more lies.
3. a 2 star hotel at most. must have paid someone to get 3*
4. shame on Booking.com who falsely advertised and only answered complaint with a form letter.
suggest no one ever use them!!!
GOOD
staff was very friendly:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#40 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#41 of 73 in Chamonix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel Gustavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel Gustavia

Property: Langley Hotel Gustavia
Address: 272 avenue Michel Croz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Hotel Gustavia 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel Gustavia is located in the heart of Chamonix just in front of the train station at the foot of Mont-Blanc. This hotel has a sporty atmosphere with a restaurant and bar very famous for its Apres-ski! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langley Hotel Gustavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavia Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing