We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, great value traditional hotel”
Review of Lacs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lacs Hotel
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of June, and the first thing we noticed was that the hotel has a lovely traditional family run feel to it. We were welcomed by friendly staff who checked us in efficiently, before heading to our top floor room, which had a stunning view of the Aiguille du Midi directly opposite our window - literally could not get a better view anywhere else! The room was basic but very clean, warm and comfortable, with a flat screen TV and comfortable bed. Whenever we came in from a day's adventuring it had always been cleaned spotlessly with new towels provided and the bed made. Everything you really need. Plenty of parking available, but the town is only 15 mins walk away and free buses run from nearby. Although it's slightly out of the way, it means it's very quiet and peaceful. It's also great value for money. We'd definately stay again, and would recommend it to anyone visiting the valley. Top tip: The resteraunt next door at Hotel le Vert serves some amazing food and has a great selection of drinks - we only discovered this on the last night, but would have visited more often had we known earlier!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room on the top floor, if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droll284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff was amazing! They were the most helpful and flexible. We had all kind of problems with our stay and flights and they did their all to help us.

The place itself is small, cozy and clean. Unfortunately the place is a bit far away from the town. The is a bus stop near but buses run not so often.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turunen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed on Boxing Day 2013 for 4/5 days. The hotel is excellent value for money and has a real family run feel which we found really nice. The views are beautiful all the way around the hotel. It was very quiet and the beds were very comfy. The breakfast was basic but nice and the rooms were very clean. The lady at reception was helpful at all times. It is a short walk to the town centre but it isn't too far and the walk helped us work off the gorgeous French food. There is a bus that is free though but working out the times was a little hard work at times. The hotel next door le vert was also very helpful especially at getting us to the slopes. It was only a couple of euros each way and they picked us up at any time we wanted. We loved it here and if we return we will definitely be staying at des lacs.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel does what is necessary: good beds, okay TV, good wifi, lots of hot water. No frills. Our family room was plenty big enough but could have done with a few more hangers. On the edge of town so own transport (or buses) is necessary - but nowhere in Chamonix is actually convenient for everywhere. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

very good hotel for money. room we stayed in was tiny, but was very comfortable and clean and had most things you'd need. Let's face it - you are going to stay in Chamonix to spend time in a hotel room... The staff were very friendly and the parking is free, as well as being very close to the bus stops. There is a nice hotel and bar/restaurant (Hotel Vert) right next door. Despite another reviewer giving THIS hotel one star for the noise coming from ANOTHER hotel (??!!), we had no such problem and slept in silence through the night. It's also a short walk/drive out of the centre, which I consider to be a big advantage.

On the down side, there is no tea/coffee making (but I'm sure that's in fitting with the star rating) and the free wifi connection is very patchy, but again, these are minor points.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_blag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Rooms small and basic but very clean and warm would stay here again and recommend ... Only 50 metres from free ski bus ... Free parking and optional breakfast worth the 8.5 euros and starts at 7.30 am

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed over Christmas and was a great spot with affordable rates, particularly over the holidays. Was lovely Swiss styled rooms that put us immediately in an alpine setting. Room was good size. Shower awful but can't win them all.

Staff lovely and accommodating. Next door is a great, hip/younger hotel called Hotel Vert with a great snow shop (waxed and edged our boards for a tenner each, while we waited!!) , a shuttle service to the resorts if you just can't handle the terrible bus service, and the best restaurant we ate at in town (highly recommended!!). So both spots together, you have it all.

Breakfast at Des Lacs is optional for an extra 8.50 or so, great coffees in the cafe. Snow gear storage in a barn out back, and rumor is, free parking... Although we didn't drive so can't confirm this.

A bit far from town when walking home at night after the bus service, but nothing much can be done on that. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room opposite Le very (may be loud, their bar is right next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#37 of 73 in Chamonix
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Chaumiere
Hotel La Chaumiere
#35 of 73 in Chamonix
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#16 of 73 in Chamonix
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#19 of 73 in Chamonix
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacs Hotel

Address: 992 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £80 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lacs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lacs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing