We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Richemond
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Morgane(Chamonix)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Arve(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$546
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
137
121
24
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
121
24
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower attachmenttinned fruitmont blancrefundable depositthe busan older hotelski room in the basementa lovely family run hotelboiled eggshand held showersingle roomcentral locationrooms are largefrench hotelbreakfast roomvisited this hotellots of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

great location in the centre of the town. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and cheap and the breakfast is good. Staff are very helpful and polite. Wonderful hotel for those on a budget and for the odd weekend break. We had a great time here

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuddenhamtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent 2 nights in February at Hotel Richemond, as part of a ski weekend. The location is great - in the heart of the village, the bus stops for the ski bus to the slopes are right behind the hotel which also has parking. It also has storage for skis & snowboards in the basement (not allowed in the rooms). There was a bar area as well as games room we did not use.
The building is an old, charming one, so we were very surprised to find the room was very modern - it looked recently refurbished.
Our room was very big (had a sitting area, dining area, walk-in cupboard) on the 1st floor, right next to the stairs, which was unpleasant. At night and early mornings the footsteps on the stairs would make loud thumping in our room - which seems to be incorrectly laid out : the bed's headboard is right next to the wall by the stairs! Not good.
Both nights we had difficulty sleeping due to the incredibly high heating in the rooms - unfortunately the temperature in the room could not be individually adjusted. It was extremely uncomfortable. Opening the windows let a lot of noise in, so didn't help us sleep better.
The bathroom was very well laid out with both a shower and bath as well as a his-and-hers basin.
The breakfast was very standard : coffee, black (English) tea, hot chocolate, croissants, pieces of baguettes, jam & butter, cereal, canned fruit cocktail (no fresh fruit), yoghurt and boiled eggs.
We really expected more for the large amount we spent here, but I guess that's what you get during ski-season in one of the most popular ski towns in France.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quazilogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived at Chamonix from Saint Gervais via the spectacularl Mont Blanc express. It was a 40 mins journey from Saint Gervis La Fayet station. We reached 7-48am at Chamonix. Normally,the first train starts at 7-06 am from Saint Gervis and runs almost every hour except at noon or after 10pm.
Chamonix is very close to Geneva and by car or van it takes about 40 mins.
Aiguille Du Midi is the nearest station for the hotel. It is only a 3-4 mins walk from the station. From the platform, we turned left, crossed the level crossing and walked on the road on the right called “Rue Dr Paccard” to reach the hotel.
I feel we made the perfect decision by staying at this fantastic hotel for 3 nights in the first week of September 2013. The Hotel is located right in the centre of the town and everything is available at your doorstep. Just outside the hotelat the back, there is the bus stop for going to all the site seeing places(ski buses).
As soon as we reached the hotel, we were provided with free guest card which provides access to the local transport free of cost including Mont Blanc express –Servoz to Vallorcine route.
We loved this facility as it saved a lot of money and hassle, thanks Hotel Richemond.
There are many restaurants around the hotel area so food is not at all a problem.
Various supermarkets are also just outside the hotel, so daily requirements if any can be met easily.
Now coming to the rooms- the rooms were quite comfortable and charming. We had booked a triple room (no 37 on 2nd floor) and what a room! It was like a small apartment- very spacious room with lots of furniture’s and cabinets. It had a nice balcony with 2 chairs for enjoying the view outside with some tea/drinks. We saw some beautiful sunrise on the snow covered mountains. We loved it.
The room had windows on 2-sides and so we enjoyed snow covered Mountain View from the bed. After a long time we enjoyed watching the moonlight falling on the snowy mountains.
Housekeeping changed the towels and made up the rooms every day. There is no facility for making tea and coffee. There is a small fridge in the room and also a good safe.
The breakfast meets the requirement. It has breads, eggs, meats, fruits.
I would have been more amazing if we had a little variety in menu as it was the same every day.
Now come to the staff- I must appreciate that they were very helpful and friendly. The receptionist went out of her way to help us and gave us all the maps, directions and guided us in all respects on each day. Thanks for the same; it eased our tour as if we were at home.
We went out every day as follows-
Day 1- Morning- Aiguille Du Midi and panoramic Mont Blanc(Helbronner)- 5 mins walking distance from the hotel, for the cable car station.
Afternoon- Brevent ( walking -30 mins from hotel for lift station)
Day 2- Morning- Montenvers Mer De Glace (15mins walking distance from hotel to the starting station)
Afternoon- Grand Montets (Bus 1- 30mins from hotel to lift station)
Day 3- Morning- Prarion-Bellevue(Bus 1-25mins from hotel for lift station
Afternoon- Tramway Du MontBlanc (35 mins walk from Le Pranion lift stationon top to Cal de Vora tram stop) and then Bossons chairlift( Bus 2 for Glassier Du Bossons-30 mins for chair lift station)
Day 4- Morning- Bus 1 to a lake,just outskirts of Chamonix

You may find other luxurious hotels in Chamonix but at this price and this location, it is the best choice!
Overall, we are very happy that we stayed here and will stay again if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The first thing that I encountered was a very friendly welcome from the tiny reception desk. The second was the spaciousness of the foyer and the residents' lounge. There is definitely a traditional French charm about the place even though in places it's a little basic. The bedroom was spacious, had a flat screen TV with BBC and a comfortable bed. From the window there was a great view of the mountains and a glimpse of the main shopping street. The large bath was very good for a soak after a day on the piste but only had a hand held shower. No fancy soaps but nice towels changed regularly. The hotel was always comfortingly warm. Its position is superb with access to the ski buses outside the back door and access to the main street through the front but it's set back enough to avoid any street noise. Breakfast was ample enough to set you up for a hard day of boarding or skiing with plenty of coffee to get you going. You will find more luxurious hotels in Chamonix but you will have difficulty finding one so friendly and central at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very traditional family run hotel , in many ways going back in time old world grandeur , location was perfect , so relaxing after climbing Mont Blanc , it was the treat we deserved , the location was fantastic , right in the heart of the town which meant no more walking although with a large drive way up to it you still had a lot of peace and quiet , and never quite in the hustle and bustle , not every one's cup of tea , but one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in , full of charm , rooms huge and we had great views . would live to go back one day .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews