We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”
Review of Hotel Richemond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Richemond
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is quirky and full of history. What a refreshing change to stay in a hotel that has plenty of character. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent views and breakfast is plentiful. The location is spot on for the ski bus, restaurants and shops but what makes this hotel special is the family and staff that own and run it, they are friendly, attentive and extremely hospitable.
I would like to thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LINDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here with my son as part of a skiing holiday package so the hotel was chosen for us - and a great choice it was! The key attractions are the large bedrooms and the excellent location in the middle of town so all the restaurants are very close, as is the bus stop for skiing. An unexpected attraction for me was that the wireless internet was limited to the lounge/reception area... which became something of a social hub for a lot of the guests as we compared notes on the day's skiing with each other or the very approachable staff.
The hotel is a bit old looking in places as others have noted, but overall we thought it was excellent value and we would definitely stay there again. And the views are excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessGrumpy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This formally grand hotel is right in the middle of Chamonix, the location for the ski buses is as good as it gets. 1 min from the bus stop for all valley buses.
The staff are very helpful indeed and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in a triple room on the third floor which had beautiful views over Mont Blanc and the sun shone through the windows and was large for a French room. The room was in need of an upgrade with the carpets pretty grubby and threadbare mats. Bath no shower. The breakfast was meagre fare considering this is a B&B. Tinned fruit in syrup, excellent croissants, only one meat per day for your bread- ham or sausage, one cereal type with yoghurt. Plenty of hot coffee and tea, chocolate from an urn. No hot option apart from boiled eggs which were in demand so the boiling machine could not keep up so no eggs for everyone. In the round this B&B is quite expensive compared with some of the half board deals further out of town but its location is as good as it gets. No boot heaters for those of you skiing.

Room Tip: South and west facing rooms get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is the the second time i have stayed in this old hotel in the middle of Chamonix. If staying get a room with a bath. Many of these rooms have great views of the mountains. You can have a bath while looking towards mt blanc. Because of the construction of the building noisy people in the room above sounds like thunder! The young norwegians above us had a party at 2am. On asking for a new room the next morning we were told that a party in the hotel at this time was very unlikely! They did, however give us a much quieter room and latter confirmed that room 52 were the culprits. A great location and good value.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the building. Much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in for four days, February half term. Great location for everything. Ski bus stop right outside and great for accessing shops and restaurants. Rooms are basic but everything you need. Would definitely visit again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshire4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

great location in the centre of the town. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and cheap and the breakfast is good. Staff are very helpful and polite. Wonderful hotel for those on a budget and for the odd weekend break. We had a great time here

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuddenhamtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent 2 nights in February at Hotel Richemond, as part of a ski weekend. The location is great - in the heart of the village, the bus stops for the ski bus to the slopes are right behind the hotel which also has parking. It also has storage for skis & snowboards in the basement (not allowed in the rooms). There was a bar area as well as games room we did not use.
The building is an old, charming one, so we were very surprised to find the room was very modern - it looked recently refurbished.
Our room was very big (had a sitting area, dining area, walk-in cupboard) on the 1st floor, right next to the stairs, which was unpleasant. At night and early mornings the footsteps on the stairs would make loud thumping in our room - which seems to be incorrectly laid out : the bed's headboard is right next to the wall by the stairs! Not good.
Both nights we had difficulty sleeping due to the incredibly high heating in the rooms - unfortunately the temperature in the room could not be individually adjusted. It was extremely uncomfortable. Opening the windows let a lot of noise in, so didn't help us sleep better.
The bathroom was very well laid out with both a shower and bath as well as a his-and-hers basin.
The breakfast was very standard : coffee, black (English) tea, hot chocolate, croissants, pieces of baguettes, jam & butter, cereal, canned fruit cocktail (no fresh fruit), yoghurt and boiled eggs.
We really expected more for the large amount we spent here, but I guess that's what you get during ski-season in one of the most popular ski towns in France.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quazilogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richemond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richemond

Address: 228 rue du Docteur Paccard, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £89 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richemond 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Richemond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richemond Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing