We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of chamonix - staff and facilities are amazing :)”
Review of Hotel Le Faucigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Faucigny
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Staff very attentitive and will advise you on everything to do in Cham! Hotel is Right in the heart of everything and has been done up to a high standard. The spa room is amazing after a day in the snow as well! Seriously can't fault this place and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ke5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We've just come back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Le Faucigny. We stayed in a family room which had a double bed, bunk beds and we had asked for a cot - not the biggest of rooms but we (a group of 3 adults and one baby) fit in it comfortably. We travelled with our 12 week old baby and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They washed baby clothes for us, kept milk in their fridge, arranged flasks of hot water, helped my mother-in-law carry things up to the room..nothing was too much for them. They don't have a lift so always volunteered to help with carrying things to the room. It's also really close to a nursery slope (a 5 min walk in ski boots) which can get you to the planpraz ski lift for Brevent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I went with a group of 4 guy friends to Chamonix and we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location was perfect, right in the center of town and a short walk from the train station. The staff was very accommodating especially Milene. She helped us out by answering all of our questions, booking a mountain guide for our tour of the Vallee Blanche. She also made our reservations for an authentic French restaurant she suggested which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also took her advice on where to ski the first day there which turned out to be a great idea. The room was very clean and the decor fitting. I would highly recommend staying here as the hotel was also a great value.

Room Tip: We had 4 big guys staying in the family room. It fit us and our gear though two of us did have to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I sent several emails to the hotel prior to arriving as we needed to take a piece of medical equipment with us. Our first time travelling with the dialysis machine. The hotel were happy or us to take the dialysis machine and I asked for a superior room as we wanted the extra space.
We booked this hotel due to the location, It is slap bang in the centre and on our arrival we were very pleased. We went into reception which was up some steps although the path leading to them was quiet icy and slippery. We were met by a very nice lady who offered to help with the luggage and numerous other medical bits we had taken. We were very grateful as we had lots of boxes and a heavy dialysis machine.
We went up to our room and were pleased with the size. There was a double bed, a shower en suite, a tv and a comfy chair. The warm was warm and comfortable.
We unpacked and went into town - a very short walk away for a well deserved beer after a long drive from the UK.
We had a good nights sleep and had breakfast in the hotel the next morning. The food was ok - hot was eggs and bacon and there was cheese, meats and breads as well as tea and coffee. It was fairly expensive though at 12 euros each.
After breakfast we asked at reception where the nearest ski lift was and the lady was very helpful and gave us a map with directions to the Brevant gondola. . A previous reviewer said it was a long walk up a hill....it is if you dont know the short cut. Out of the hotel via the rear door go left to the road and then right to the ski bus stop - through the car park where you get to the ski school and a short button lift which takes you almost to the gondola entrance - 5 mins and no hills. We came back the same way with no problems.
The hotel itself has been recently done up so everything feels quiet fresh and new. There is a ski and boot room in the basement although the door in is a bit tight. There is a nice lounge area / breakfast room where you can get afternoon tea and cake. There is a sauna although I didnt get to use it so cant comment on it. The location is fantastic and parking wasn't an issue as Chamonix was very quiet the few days we were there.
I really liked this hotel and the staff were a credit to the hotel. They went out of there way to help and when we left the chap who worked overnight helped us with our luggage. I would absolutly go back. However I did learn an important lesson if you are taking heavy luggage as we were - always ask if there is a lift - there wasnt and the stair are quiet narrow, not a huge issue as we got help with the luggage. Also it is a short walk from the parking area and the hotel only had three or four dedicated spaces. if they are full I would imagine parking can be tricky. These are only personal observations and didnt ruin our stay at all. All in all we had an amazing time in Chamonix and liked the hotel very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room - they are a little bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is situated pretty much smack bang in the middle of Chamonix which was exactly what we wanted and booked.

2 minutes walk to main area for bars, food, casino and night life.

Its a 10 minute walk up an steeeep hill to the main cable car that runs out of Chamonix up the mountain. That's not a reflection on the hotel, but if you are a skier, be prepared for a trek in a morning that takes it out of your legs.

We booked a family room for 3 blokes (all +40). The hotel reception were a little surprised when we turned up and asked "you wanted the family room?". Family room as advertised was one double and 2 single beds so ideal ... apart from it was a downstairs double and a mezzanine fitted into the roof space where hobbits/umpa-lumpas would have felt right at home. But hey, European ski resort hotels are generally on the "comfy" side.

The hotel has been open 2 weeks when we arrived so take my criticisms as comments that with time could well be improved upon.

You have to carry all your own baggage to your room. No problem, I am a beafy chap, but if you aren't into humping cases/ski-snowboarding gear around its a bind.

10 unsalted, icy concrete steps upto the hotel front door were an adventure that abit of salt could have fixed.

Hot tub and sauna were nearly perfect, if only the hot tub had been hot. They were trying to get it fixed and it was hotter toward the end of the week. Much as I like walking round in my birthday suit, I thought it appropriate to use the bathrobes we saw other guests walking to the hot tub in. Sadly we didn't have any in our room and had 3 towels for 3 blokes for showering and hot tub that weren't replaced daily. The Hotel staff questioned where got the extra bale of towels from in our room ... we did explain we helped ourselves as they hadn't supplied enough.

Staff were friendly if a little un-knowledgeable about places to go. Ask me about any good pubs where we live and I can at least recommend a few.

Its a review, so I have to say this next bit .... breakfast - we ate all the bananas on day one. Day 2 arrives, no bananas. So we bought some later that day on our way back to the hotel. Day 3 breakfast, no bananas ... we got some from our room. The staff commented and said oh, you brought your own bananas and laughed ... ok, but come on, walk 2 minutes round the corner and buy some bloody fruit. Day 4, no bananas ......

The hotel has a front and back door. Back door has 3 signs showing you where it is. Frustrating to walk to it only to find it locked and you then have to walk round to the front which isn't by the side of a building but a walk back into town.

Cellar ski/boot locker room has its own external door. Bit of a squeeze getting into it but no problem, apart from when its locked. So you drag your gear back out of the hole you just squeezed into and slip your way up the icy steps and walk thru the hotel reception and down to the locker room.

Maybe this reads as a bad review, but all in all it was OK. Good price for 3 of us for 5 days, excellent location, clean and modern hotel. A few improvements and the ratings would bump up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJH_EHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a 6 week vacation in Europe and it was by far the best place we have stayed. The staff were amazing. The Spa is amazing. Location and lay out - All amazing. Highly reccomended to anyone looking for a stay in Chamonic central. Mike & Nat from Perth, Australia

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Willacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked this hotel only because we had no other options but still expected at least 3 stars hotel. We got depressed right after entering. 1. The hotel is tiny but in the center. Location is ok, just 10 min walk from the bus stop. 2 you have to pull all your suitcases and ski equipment upstairs as the hotel is not disable people friendly. We had to bring our suitcases up than 2 stairs down and up again to get into the room. 3. The room is so tiny so 2 people can hardly enter. No way to place all your stuff in the bathroom-no space. No place to dry up your cloth after skiing. Just imagine the most tiny room you've ever seen.But the view from our room was ok-partly mountains. 4. Don't take breakfast there.12 euros but the choice is very poor, coffee is awful. Cross the street and you can have the much better option. 5. In 7 days we got just one set of small bottles of shampoo and soap! 6. Theres no spa in the hotel!!! Don't be cheated by the photos! Just sauna for 1,5 person and jacuzzi. No place to seat(( everything is very small and shabby. We used spa of the hotel les aiglons. It was 1000 times better! 7. The staff at the reception is really helpful and nice. That was the only positive point.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValeriaChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Faucigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Faucigny

Address: 118 Place de l Eglise, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £91 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Faucigny 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historical heart of Chamonix, close to shops, ski school and the French Mountain Guides company, hotel Le Faucigny was completely refurbished in late 2011. We've ambitiously repositioned our hotel to make it stand out from the traditional Chamonix offer. 28 Rooms, 3 stars, a spa, a flowered courtyard and views of the Mont-Blanc. Hotel Le Faucigny is a gem to discover. Our spa dedicated to well-being includes a jacuzzi, sauna, relaxation and treatment room to let you unwind after a day's skiing. Come and discover Le Faucigny's secrets in an amazing and enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Faucigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faucigny Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing