We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Chamonix”
Review of Hotel Le Faucigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Faucigny
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Chamonix”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Normally I am very fussy about hotels, and in fact rarely return to one. However, I found this hotel a really excellent choice, and as such thought I would do something I hardly ever do: comment on this site.

The hotel was reasonably priced, in fact so much so that I was worried its quality would be far lower than on the website. When I arrived I found the quality to exceed that promised on the website. The staff were unfailingly helpful, doing everything in their power to assist. I am blind, but rarely need any form of assistance, however on the receptionist noticing this she offered to upgrade my room without charge to what she perceived as being an easier choice for me (I had booked a standard room on the 2nd floor). However I did not need this assistance, but thought it was dealt with in a tactful and thoughtful way. The staff carried all our luggage up to the room and throughout the stay provided us with help on all levels. They were happy to provide local restaurant recommendations, help when my husband suffered a minor injury, offered us drinks when waiting for our transfer on the last day, and generally made the whole experience a real pleasure.

The breakfast at the hotel was not included in my room rate, and whilst I was initially unhappy about this, I soon realised that it was so good I did not mind paying for it separately. This is something that I woud normally never do, but the hotel price was so reasonable that I ate breakfast on several days of my stay. It was a self-service buffet where the food was almost immediately replenished if it was running low. The bread and croissants were bought when needed throughout breakfast from the nearby bakery. The muesli was excellent, as was the tea and hot chocolate. The only slight quibble I had was that the orange juice was not fresh juice, but considering the quality of everything I feel somewhat churlish mentioning it. Food was plentiful, the fruit was fresh and the service was again relaxed and friendly.

The room, although not on the large side, was very pretty and with views of the Aiguille Du Midi out of the skylight to die for. The shower was lovely, the maidservice good and the beds comfortable. I really could not ask for more for that price.

I have stayed at a great many hotels including some of the best in the UK. I can honestly say that it is one of the best in its class. I hope that by sending this review I do not render it fully booked for my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    166
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
335
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great hotel. Savoie decor with a wonderful nice modern twist. Breakfast was really good and a step above a standard hotel breakfast offered at other similar hotels.

The walls are a but thin but in general was not an issue as most guests seemed to make an effort to not make too much noise and were in bed early.

Great location and the staff was very professional and helpful.

I would stay there again and recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssieWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a very nice hotel , very similar to many small resort hotels in a perfect location. Breakfast was nice and our room was quite large. But what made this hotel unique was the amazing staff. They really made our trip. We were not blessed with great weather in Chamonix, but the helpfulness, caring and most importantly, their cheerfulness made our stay perfect. We have met nice people before on our trips but the consistency of the quality of this team is unique. They also deserve praise for the wonderful complimentary tea , coffee and sweets.

Room Tip: Some rooms back on a commercial area so if you are going to have your windows open and want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Hotel Faucigny is located centrally in Chamonix and the room we stayed in was very comfortable with a beautiful view of Mount Blanc. It is a bit tricky to find, however if you can find St Michel Church, then you're there...it's right next door. Parking was not a problem and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If we go to Chamonix again, we will stay there.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the 2nd floor overlooking the main entrance. It had a stunning view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcps7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A gorgeous hotel! Great value. The rooms are lovely, modem and clean, though quite tiny. Great location. The spa was fantastic! Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Wonderful staff. The staff are so friendly and helpful that you want to stay longer.They make the place what it is. The hotel is boutique type. Situated centre of town near bus and train and restaurants.Free car park. Very clean. Free WiFi. Nice spa and sauna. Gowns and slippers provided. Free afternoon tea/coffee. Lovely breakfast with fresh breads, juices, cereals, cold meats, hot bacon and egg, cheese, yoghurts, fruit. Great inclusive packages. We had champagne included in ours! Book with the hotel rather than agencies to get the best deal. Your e mails will be answered immediately. Would definately stay here if in Chamonix again.

Room Tip: Book the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnM06022011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here one night late April 2012.
Staff were super friendly.
Standard room was a bit small, but very well laid out and a terrific view from the sky window.
Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaniv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Faucigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Faucigny

Property: Hotel Le Faucigny
Address: 118 Place de l Eglise, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Faucigny 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historical heart of Chamonix, close to shops, ski school and the French Mountain Guides company, hotel Le Faucigny was completely refurbished in late 2011. We've ambitiously repositioned our hotel to make it stand out from the traditional Chamonix offer. 28 Rooms, 3 stars, a spa, a flowered courtyard and views of the Mont-Blanc. Hotel Le Faucigny is a gem to discover. Our spa dedicated to well-being includes a jacuzzi, sauna, relaxation and treatment room to let you unwind after a day's skiing. Come and discover Le Faucigny's secrets in an amazing and enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Faucigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faucigny Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing