We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was doubtful but ended up agreeing with all the other reviewers”
Review of Hotel Le Faucigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Faucigny
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Was doubtful but ended up agreeing with all the other reviewers”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

After extensive research I ended up using Expedia to book this hotel to get a better deal than the hotel's website. This got me free breakfast and use of the sauna included in the price. Being a ski town, lodging options are thin and luxe isn't always as luxe as in a major city. That being said, Hotel Faucigny was a great choice. It was easy to find and had ample parking. The stairs to the reception is a bit tough to get a ton of luggage up. But the staff offered to help and they were helpful throughout our stay. They all spoke English among other languages and were up on all the local activities and restaurants. Maps were provided and knowledge of trails were very accurate. The only room available for our stay was on the 2nd floor (we know it as a 3rd floor) and there was no elevator. This was the only drawback of our stay. The room was small but efficient and comfortable. The room along with the bathroom were extremely clean. We had a view of the Mont Blanc through our skylight. The lobby was comfortable as was the breakfast/afternoon tea room. Breakfast was good with hot dishes along with pastries, cereals, yogurts, meats and a variety of beverages. We were celebrating an anniversary and the staff provided a complimentary bottle of champagne and lovely box of macaroons. I had dinner at two other hotels and toured their facilities. Overall for the price, Hotel Faucigny hits the mark

Room Tip: The top floors have a skylight instead of a window or balcony. Plus the stairwells are tight and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    166
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
335
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed overnight on one of the hotel packages and was delighted with the deal. No parking due to building work but easy to get a space nearby and hotel had warned me of this. Lovely welcome from young receptionist whose English was excellent. Second flor room had a roof light window which had a great view of the stars from the bed. Shower had lots of hot water and all furnishings and fittings were in pristine condition. Towel robes were extra thick and very comfortable. Breakfast was of high quality and had a great selection so is worth taking. Right in the centre but up a small lane so you get peace to sleep. A great decision to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Everyone at the front desk is always ready to assist you with anything you may need! They will go out of their way to help. The rooms were excellent. Breakfast was great! Excellent location, located a block from the tourist information office. I used the hotel at the start and at the end of the TMB circuit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

+ Great location! Super friendly staff! Free spa in the basement. Free tea and cookies in the afternoon. Clean and cool rooms. Designer hotel!
- Expensive breakfast. Thin walls. No english channels.
But! We looove this hotel. We'll be back! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NordKucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Mountain, GA
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights in Sept 2013, requesting Mt. View. On arrival before noon, were shown to room with skylight only - very small, airless, though clean with updated bath. The only other room available - though we noted many folks checking in after we did - was an even smaller room with narrow window overlooking the garbage collection area. Did I mention no A/C and temps in high 80's? On request we were given a fan which came in handy every night, but especially the night it rained and we couldn't open the skylight. It is listed as a "Hotel du charme" and if given one of the front rooms with views of Mt Blanc I might even agree. The staff was not helpful and never offered to change our room after first day (we saw many checking out). Our mistake was booking this and another room in Annecy by Hotel.com and paying in advance. We may use this service in the states, but never in a foreign country again, because it was 3-4 time we've been taken advantage of. Hotel far overpriced for most of rooms.

Room Tip: Don't pay in advance so you have some leverage when you arrive and they try to stick you in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grabs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just returned from having a mini break in Chamonix. The hotel was delightful and so were the staff. The reception/lounge area is lovely and afternoon tea is included in the room rate. A very cosy place to sit and spend some time.

The room was small although I was prepared for this after reading other reviews. It wasn't a problem though as the room was incredibly clean and stylish. The bed was really comfortable which is not always the case in hotels.

Also, excellent value and right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmsgrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the heart of Chamonix. This makes parking an issue, which is a little bit frustrating. As others have noted, there are only a few parking spots, which may or may not be reserved in advance. In different correspondences with the hotel, I was led to believe that the parking could not be reserved and was first come-first served. However, when I arrived at the hotel, I was told the parking spaces (3 of which were empty) were reserved. I ended up parking at the free lot, which was not far away but not particularly convenient either. What was frustrating is that two spaces were not used during my entire stay (I could see the parking area from my room). The inconsistency about parking is odd to me. Other hotels I have stayed at have offered parking for an additional price, and I would be willing to pay for it. To have free parking that only a select few guests can use seems unfair.
That aside, I did enjoy my stay. The room is tiny but clean and comfortable. I would recommend that the hotel provide fans, however. Although Chamonix is in the alpine air, it can get hot in August, and a fan would have been welcome, especially in such a small room.
The best part about the hotel is the friendly staff who were always smiling and cordial.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tin_man_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Faucigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Faucigny

Property: Hotel Le Faucigny
Address: 118 Place de l Eglise, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Faucigny 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historical heart of Chamonix, close to shops, ski school and the French Mountain Guides company, hotel Le Faucigny was completely refurbished in late 2011. We've ambitiously repositioned our hotel to make it stand out from the traditional Chamonix offer. 28 Rooms, 3 stars, a spa, a flowered courtyard and views of the Mont-Blanc. Hotel Le Faucigny is a gem to discover. Our spa dedicated to well-being includes a jacuzzi, sauna, relaxation and treatment room to let you unwind after a day's skiing. Come and discover Le Faucigny's secrets in an amazing and enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Faucigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faucigny Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing