We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay couldn't have been better at this charming hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Le Faucigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Faucigny
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed at Hotel Faucigny for a 4-day ski vacation, and we loved it! Monsieur and Madame Ecochard were so friendly and helpful. Our luggage was lost the day we arrived at the Geneva Airport, forcing us to wait 5 hours for its arrival on the next flight. As a result, we ended up arriving quite late in Chamonix. Monsieur Ecochard was so kind when I called him to alert him of this - he placed a key for us in the mailbox and left a note with all the instructions we would need.

Breakfast was typical French - lots of wonderful baguettes, cheese, and jams. If you're looking for heartier foods, you'll have to try one of the local cafes. The Faucigny has a ski room and a locked boot room, which made the end of the ski day much easier.

The location is fantastic for touring Chamonix. It's right in the center of town within walking distance of some of the best restaurants and bars. The location isn't quite as convenient for picking up the bus to take you to the ski resorts. We had about a 10 minute walk in ski boots to get to the nearest bus stop. That being said, it was a great workout!

Next time I'm in Chamonix, I will definitely stay at the Faucigny. We found it to be incredibly charming and definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francophile515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed here just one night after arriving into town late one afternoon and visiting the tourist information office which gave us details for a few places in our price range. (I think we paid about 80 euros for two adults and a child). This one was by far the best - tiny room but brand new bathroom and a lovely little balcony with perfect views of Mt Blanc. Felt like a lovely homely place, and was really well located right in the centre of town with parking right outside.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Nice budget stay. Location is right in the city center. Rooms are clean, bathroom features brand new. Everything you need is there. Breakfast is 8 euros but it is just tea/coffee, busket of bread, jam and 2 sorts of cream cheese available (that's it). But this is France, I guess that outside breakfast will be much more. The hotel is small but well maintained, if you are coming for skiing the hotel is goods because you basically only stay there for a night. Will come back for my winter skiing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Faucigny six times since 2002. Guy encouraged me in my dream to climb Mt. Blanc (which I accomplished on my third try) and he and Jacqueline are experience travelers. Chamonix is a very active tourist town with many new buildings. Hotel Faucigny's location in the small "historic area" next to the church and the "Maison de la Montagne" provides a calm oasis. The courtyard in front of the hotel has a great view of Mount Blanc ... a perfect location for our cheese, wine and bread picnics. We have stayed as long as 12 nights and as short as 2 days. They were our first stop this year on a four week European trip and the extra long "driving day" to get there was well worth the effort. A two star hotel with four star owners!!!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank TNH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I don't know why they never answer your email. They don't have online booking service, you can only book the room via email. Eventhough, they don't give you any reply.... I never met such service during my travelling.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
3  Thank YingCai_germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedchataignier, Gérant at Hotel Le Faucigny, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Since 2009, Le Faucigny has changed a lot: new owners, new staff, entirely refurbished in 2011, new website and new services.
The experience is now completely different: this is actually not the same hotel.

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Stayed at Facigny for a week while we skiied to our hearts content during March.
We loved the location of this hotel -it lies in very close proximity to the town & ski bus. The room was great; modern decor, incredible mountain views and most importantly a supreme shower! Owners are warm and friendly and have a wealth of information at hand.
Breakfast was overpriced at 8 euros (for only bread & cheese) so we skipped this & nipped over to pick up croissants from a patisserie a few footsteps away most mornings.
There was also free Wifi which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RicsterDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

far less cheesy rooms than many of the other places in town that haven't been updated like this place which feels clean and fresh, but very, very small. great location. would stay again.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bigwnfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Faucigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Faucigny

Address: 118 Place de l Eglise, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £83 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Faucigny 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historical heart of Chamonix, close to shops, ski school and the French Mountain Guides company, hotel Le Faucigny was completely refurbished in late 2011. We've ambitiously repositioned our hotel to make it stand out from the traditional Chamonix offer. 28 Rooms, 3 stars, a spa, a flowered courtyard and views of the Mont-Blanc. Hotel Le Faucigny is a gem to discover. Our spa dedicated to well-being includes a jacuzzi, sauna, relaxation and treatment room to let you unwind after a day's skiing. Come and discover Le Faucigny's secrets in an amazing and enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Faucigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faucigny Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing