We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Hertfordshire
1 review
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Just come back from our annual Skiing Trip. 5 ladies looking to be near the shops/bars etc. Booked hotel on the internet going on the photos. Fantastic location centrally located in the heart of Chamonix. Atmostphere was warm &cosy. Although bar could be a little more comfortable for nightcaps. Staff were really helpful and pleasant, including the little Austrian Man. Nothing too much for them and made sure we all enjoyed our holiday.

Parking under the hotel has an interesting in/out ramp, but adequate for our needs, need to be well practised on hillstarts.

Recommend The Terrasse Bar for lively nightlife, good bands and Best Nachos ever. Tom, the glass man, worked really hard and a real gent!

Wonderful trip, recommend the hotel, will be back next year.

  • Liked — Proximity to Centre of Town
  • Disliked — Half Board option included set menu with very little choice
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsOnT0ur08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    155
    67
    33
    20
See reviews for
72
167
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

This is a classic package holiday hotel, bit anonymous but good standards and nice big rooms. Safe bet but in my opinion quite expensive. Very friendly receptionist though which is nice when you arrive tired and wet (third day of rainfall in the region!)

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holiday_lover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

My 22 yr old son and I booked the Park Hotel Suisse via Chamonix.net. We were pleased to get a twin room with seperate bathroom and toilet. We then read the review on this site and were worried we had done the wrong thing. Not at all.

The hotel was splended. Traditional, welcoming, warm. The staff (whose English I admit wasn't brilliant), were helpful and friendly. Our room was beautiful, with a mini-bar for our supermarket bought wine, TV, a seperate walk-in wardrobe, which served as a dressing room for both mother and son. Also a huge bath, perfect for soaking those tired aching muscles.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. We spent 3 nights there, salmon one night, lamb chops another and on our last night we had a grill/stone at the side of our table where we cooked our own steak and chicken with helpings of salad, fresh bread and french fries.

My only agreement with other review is that there was indeed a small Austrian waitor who I think had escaped from an episode of Faulty Towers "Mr. Faulty!!!!!".

We will be back and can't recommend the hotel enough.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Eight of us stayed for three nights in late February. The hotel was clean, efficient and on the whole very friendly, save for the small Austrian chap with the moustache, who was rather surly. They were rather lacking in teaspoons but the restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner and the girls at the bar did their job efficiently and with a smile.

The bedrooms are not huge (this is France !) but they were clean and had everything that you could want including channel 66. One of our crowd, Tim, will be back again, but whether it will be with us or Ginty we are yet to find out. AQA didn't have the answer to this.

We will be back next year !

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

This hotel has had many mixed reviews.. I have stayed in all sorts of hotels from luxury to budget for those who think this is bias.

This Hotel has had bad reviews on service - but i guess we may have been lucky or they have new staff there. We found the staff to be nice and friendly...

The nighttime porter, the waitresses and the recption were very nice and helpful. One old waiter was quite forgetful.. dont order from him.. couldnt even get a coffee order right.

some receptionists english isnt too good.. but hey,, its france.

drinks at the bar was very quick and they seemed to look after us very well. (we were a stag party of 5 guys) and they didnt mind us playing poker until the early hours or arriving back early in the morning drunk. (obviously we were well behaved lol)

the location of the hotel is great.. the shuttle bus that goes to the slopes is literally 100 metres away. the hotel is right in the center of town. the main club Le Garage is literally a 5 minute walk. late night partiers will enjoy the hot sandwich shop around the corner from the hotel which opens until 2am. the kebab shop is very close to Le Garage which opens until 2 as well.

the casino is 200 meteres away in the main square and a few nice bars between the hotel and Le Garage.

the rooms are a little small, but cozy enough to get a good nights sleep. also one can check out in the morning, then ski all day and pay 3 euros for a towel to go have a shower.. (for those with a night flight)

overall we found the place to be good value in a great location with friendly service.. surprinsgly considering the previous reviews. as i said, maybe we were lucky or they have addressed the previous issues by hiring new people.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank delcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

I stayed at the hotel for a few days over the New year's weekend. I wasn't too impressed. The staff was not rude, but they were not particularly friendly either. After confirming that we were NOT going to have dinner at the hotel for New Year's eve, the extra fee appeared on our bill (it was taken off after 10 minutes of arguing).

The hotel facilities itself are marginal. There were power outages on 2 of the 4 days that we were there. They charge for use of the sauna (I think 10 euro for an hour). It was clean and the temperature was fine.

The location was the best part. It is just a half block off of the center of Chamonix. And just across the street is the Tourism office. The bus stop is about a block away.

All in all, I wouldn't say that I was disappointed, but when I go back, I'll try a different hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — WI-FI charge is 7 euro for 1 hour, 30 euro for a day. There's free WIFI at the coffee shop around the corner.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Phu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

I didn't stay in this hotel, but I put down a required deposit for a reservation and cancelled it on time for full refund. At the time, I received a cancellation confirmation email from the hotel. Later, the hotel sent me "NO SHOW" email insisting on keeping my deposit money (they indicated that usually they charge 100% for no show). Supposedly, my reservation had not been cancelled. What made me decide to post this message wasn't because they made a mistake, but the lack of care and responses afterward. Even after I forwarded their cancellation confirmation email I didn't hear from them for a few days. That was when I filled a complain to my credit card company.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Takashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
375 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse & Spa

Property: Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Address: 75 allee du Majestic, 74402, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hôtel Suisse et Spa has been welcoming guests from all around the world since the 1930's with a single theme: "hospitality".This hotel is ideally located in the very heart of the town, in a quiet setting just opposite the tourist office.The Park Hotel Suisse & Spa has 66 rooms which enjoy a view on the Brévent side or on the Mont-Blanc side. The hotel also has a restaurant and bar, 2 meeting rooms as well as a spa area with an 360° breathtaking view on the Mont-Blanc range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Suisse Chamonix
Hotel Park Suisse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing