We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty very very nasty!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nasty very very nasty!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

the desk personnel are extremely nasty, surly. they do not greet you .They do not give you any information of the hotel amenities. They look at you as if to say why do you dare come in ? They told us to park in public parking up the street because they said their garage was full. Then the very next people to come in they offered them the hotel parking. They said we could leave our belongings in storage and then on the day of check out ,,they said we could not! The rooms are small, cheap furnishings. A 2 star at best. considering the very rude behavior of staff I would give it 0 stars. Why stay at a hotel where they try their best to make you miserable??? Directly across the street from a construction site.Thank God we only had to stay for one night. we were staying at the grand hoteldes alpe and they did not have a room for us the last night . STAY AT GRAND HOTEL DES ALPE!!! BEAUTIFUL, GREAT SERVICE FRIENDLY, HELPFUL STAFF 6 STARS FOR THEM.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    159
    67
    34
    20
See reviews for
74
171
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The adjectives we can think of for describing this hotel are all in negative: unhelpful, inefficient, unkind, to the extent of being almost dishonest. Despite our repeated inquiries for information/confirmation, for example regarding their shuttle bus services between the hotel and the airport, they failed to respond to our request. Result: we were obliged to find one on our own, and yet, to our surprise, they charged us 40 euros as the fare (we paid 35 euros for the taxi we took).
We had booked a triple room but were given a double and were charged for a triple! There were other unpleasant anecdotes but we won't go into them.
We are senior citizens traveling widely, and this was the worst experience we ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Condors918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear CONDORS918,
I would like to thank you that you took some of your time to write a comment on our hotel. I feel really sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. We can provide a transfer service between Geneva airport and the hotel. However, we need some information to book it that we ask all the time. If we don’t have that information, we can’t book it. We had at least 1 transfer to book per day and we never had any problems with that.
I think the room you had was a room with a sofa, and the sofa can be turned into a bed. And If you were charged the price of a triple room which appeared to be a double, we should have charged you a double, and not a triple. I think this was all a misunderstanding and you could contact us as we could find back your reservation file and check together what happened and try to fix this situation which is not usual in our hotel.
I would like to thank you again for your comments, and we are looking forward to haer from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The central location in Chamonix was ideal and our two rooms were generous in size. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool on the roof. I have difficulty recommending the hotel however, because the staff was so super unhelpful. The desk staff had no information about local restaurants. Their directions to places that were literally 100 yards away from the hotel were incomplete and vague. We witnessed over and over their distain for skiers and the accompanying equipment, boots, etc associated with skiing. Even asking basic questions, we were faced with employees who made somewhat fake efforts to get us answers although they had the distinct vibe that they hoped we would just go away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathya C, Propriétaire at Park Hotel Suisse & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Good afternoon Barbara B,

I would like to thank you that you took time to write a comment about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the spa and our facilities. However, I am really sorry that you had an unpleasant feeling with our staff. Usually, we help finding and booking restaurants for our guests and I am pretty disappointed that it was not the case with you. Please accept our sincere apologies. We also do not hope our guest to go away and I am sorry you had this feeling. It is also really important to know that we are in the very center of the valley of Chamonix, which is really busy with skiers during winter, and we are really happy with our skiers clientele. We just ask them to store their skies in the Ski room, which is made for this and really convenient with the boots heaters with both access to outside and to the lifts. We try to have our room and hotel clean and dry for the comfort of everyone which would be a lot more complicated if everyone was storing their skies equipment in their room.
Again, I am really sorry you felt that way about our staff and our hotel and thanks again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and found the rooms to be very comfortable (although too warm at night) and a good size. The location was great, although we found skiing in Chamonix a bit tedious without a hire car. The breakfasts were reasonable. Not all the staff were friendly, but some were. The spa was lovely, although, as hotel guests, it seemed a bit mean to have to pay extra for robes and extra towels! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LOLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Based right in the centre of town, we chose the Park Hotel Suisse mainly for its convenience (as convenient as anywhere can be in Chamonix - not the best-linked resort for skiing ever.)
Friendly welcome right from the start, good sized room, decent breakfast.
The star of the show though is undoubtedly the rooftop spa for unwinding after a tough day on the slopes, a beautiful, warm small swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi. Two saunas and a steam room - all contributing to winding off the day perfectly before the 1 minute walk to the town centre and its variety of restaurants.
Other thing worth noting, ski-lockers are a generous size, although you are asked for a €20 refundable deposit.

Only downsides...
Wifi was supposedly available in-room, but we could only get it in the lobby
Toilet in the room didn't have a window or extractor fan.

Overall a great stay though, staff were really lovely and helpful, and I would definately go back if in Chamonix again.

Room Tip: Maybe aim for a higher floor - at check-out time with all our bags, every single lift on the 1st flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ma0nps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Traveling with group of business colleagues for long ski weekend, good central location in Chamonix all bars restaurants within easy access.

Service by everyone who we came into contact within the hotel all very service driven.

Good continental breakfast.

Hotel offer secure lockers in ski room.

Bed rooms very warm and offering very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelwEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taby, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Fantastic outdoor jacuzzi and hot pool at the roof with a view of Mont Blanc.
Good central location and nice staff.
Ski lockers with heating for ski boots is great.
The beds could however been a bit larger

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse & Spa

Property: Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Address: 75 allee du Majestic, 74402, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hôtel Suisse et Spa has been welcoming guests from all around the world since the 1930's with a single theme: "hospitality".This hotel is ideally located in the very heart of the town, in a quiet setting just opposite the tourist office.The Park Hotel Suisse & Spa has 66 rooms which enjoy a view on the Brévent side or on the Mont-Blanc side. The hotel also has a restaurant and bar, 2 meeting rooms as well as a spa area with an 360° breathtaking view on the Mont-Blanc range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Suisse Chamonix
Hotel Park Suisse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing