We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chamonix Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Faucigny(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Morgane(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Refuge des Aiglons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Arve(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc(Vallorcine)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Heliopic(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
38
27
14
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
27
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tub and saunashared kitchenfree teabudget accommodationbus stationmont blancdu midimammothhosteltubsslopes
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I was part of a group of 25 staying across both the Christol and Mammoth Chalets in March 2013. We had an amazing time. The chalets are top drawer with everything you need. You can tell they've been running for a while because the whole operation was really slick and easy and everything was where you hoped it would be. Food was very good, which isn't easy for 25 people. The hosts were very accomodating, especially with lifts to and from the different ski areas which other places have not been as good at in the past. The social areas are spacious, cozy and well set up for either chilling out or partying. I will definitely be going back in years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lambert_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was surprised to read the couple of negative reviews on here, it's like they're reviewing a different place! I have stayed at Chalet Christol a number of times over the years and am consistently impressed with the place and the staff. The chalet itself has been refurbished recently and, although I was a fan of it previously, it really is something special now. The owner is always looking for ways to improve their chalet and service and takes lots of feedback on board, another reason why the negative review surprised me.

They had ski and snowboard fitting at the chalet so there was no inconvenience for those wanting to ski and transport was provided to and from the slopes with recommendations being made as to the best locations.

The staff are always friendly. It’s obvious that it's their home and they are obviously comfortable there but to me, this is one of the best features. It's much nicer having staff who will chat to you and have a laugh rather than just tiptoe around trying to hide! The food was also fantastic. You always get generous and filling portions provided by people that clearly care that you are happy. After a day outside, this is just ideal. And I'm a big fan of the afternoon cake! :)

The chalet's location is good too. It's a little walk from the centre of Chamonix but it is a pleasant walk and you are very close to Le Jekyll, which is great for a night out and does fab food too.

Yes, the rooms are not huge and the ensuites are a little cramped but how much space does you really need? The beds are comfy, there’s room for my stuff and I can fit in the shower...don’t really need much more than that!

Ultimately, I find the chalet great value for money with friendly staff and an attentive owner – every time I stay here, I have a great time and never want to leave. A solid 5 out of 5 :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueTattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Chalet Christol in February 2013 where we had a lovely stay and a great weeks skiing. We were a large group of 15 and found the chalet perfect for us. We found the staff very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. On our day to Courmayeur we were hosted by Rachael and had a great day's skiing. The chalet hosts on the others days were also keen to show us around which was a bonus.

We all enjoyed the food over the week and the chalet hosts even made a birthday cake for one of the lads. Hot tub and Sauna were excellent and the lounge room was great for socialising. A couple of the rooms are on the smaller side but most have an ensuite which makes it easier to all get out on time in the morning.

We would highly recommend both Chalet Christol and Chamonix and we'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSimp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Château Mammoth and I'll definitely stay here again if I go back to Chamonix.

The château is well located just out of the town centre so very quiet in the evenings. It's also not too far away from the town centre if you do fancy a bit of apres skiing.

The accommodation has got all the facilities you need and it's handy that the owners also have a ski shop and can organise all your ski hire for a very reasonable price.

The staff are really friendly and always went out of their way to check that we were okay. It was also great that they drove us over to Italy for the day to go skiing at Courmayeur.

I'd definitely recommend that you check Mountain Highs out. For what you pay you really do get a great deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review. I am quite surprised at the negative comments below, and I hope that my review will add some balance.

I have just returned from a week's holiday at Chalet Christol, one of Mountain High's chalets. We were a group of 13 travelling from Scotland, London, Northern Ireland and the South of England. Logistically, we were a complicated group, however, the guys at Mountain Highs managed to organise all of our airport transfers, ski hire, boarding and ski lessons, ski passes, daily lifts to the slopes, and cater to some very particular dietary requirements with ease. We took advantage of all services that would make our trip easier and to no huge expense.

With so many people to coordinate and organise, it was a Godsend that Mountain Highs organised so much for us before we arrived. The only thing that didn't happen was that our ski hire was not delivered to the chalet before our arrival, although this was not hugely inconvenient as we were taken to the ski hire shop on arrival and were fitted there quickly. Any boots or items that weren't working well on the slopes after day one, were replaced. I broke a hired board binding early on and this was replaced quickly and without any charge from the ski hire shop. Nothing was a hassle.

Transfers were organised each day to the destination of our slopes and our drivers were always pleasant, chatty and flexible - they went out of their way to help us. One afternoon, they carried a change of shoes to pick us up from a day's skiing so that we could hit the pub comfortably for some apres-ski fun and returned our ski and board boots and equipment to the chalet.

Our chalet hosts were Ollie and Kelly. They prepared breakfast, afternoon treats and a three course meal every evening. Breakfast varied each day and included cereals, yoghurts, fruit, bread, cheese, jams, eggs, mushrooms etc. If anything ran out before we had all eaten, it was quickly provided by the guys. Dinner was always filling and well prepared. Some members of our group had specific requirements such as vegetarian, allergic to nuts, intolerant to dairy etc, and the hosts catered for us all excellently. There were no disruptions to our meals or delays and we all ate at the same time. No idea how they did it! Ollie and Kelly went to a lot of trouble for us and we really appreciated it. The flowing wine at dinner was great and of course we lapped it up! In the afternoon after skiing we were welcomed home with cake, cookies and different treats each day.

Our room was cleaned a couple of times during the week, enough for us, and fresh towels were made available on request.

On the hosts day off, we were given tips on where to eat and drink and a discount card for a local eaterie where we went most days to watch the football, rugby etc (jekyll and hyde). Happy hour was 4-7pm and we took advantage of the pitchers of beer for 8euro and glasses of wine for 2euro. The food was good and the portion sizes generous, ideal when skiing daily.

Overall, the standard of accommodation was good for the price. The rooms were on the small side, however, it is a small compromise considering the cost for one week's catered chalet!
When we arrived, we realised that the security key for each room was the same, so we asked for that to be changed for peace of mind. This was carried out quickly and effectively like all other requests we made.

The chalet living area with TV snug suited our group well and we hung out most evenings up there. There wasn't much room for storage in some of the rooms but as we were all friends, we helped each other out in this regard. We used the sauna and hot tub most nights to soothe our aches and pains which was great. Chalet Christol's hot tub was playing up so we were able to use Chalet Mammoth's tub. We took advantage of the free Wifi throughout our stay which was great for keeping on top of work emails or researching during the trip.

Before travelling, our group was extremely satisfied with the organisation of our trip. We appreciated the regular updates from Mountain Highs and were able to change details of our trip such as adding new guests at the very last minute. The booking system was easy to use and the invoice system helped us to budget ahead of the trip.

During our trip, we couldn't have asked for more. Our hosts were amazing and very good at what they do. They were very patient with us, despite it being a 'lively' rather group!!

We paid for most of the in-resort services on our last night in cash or by card which was really convenient. Our ski hire equipment was picked up by the ski shop so we had no hassles at the end of the stay whatsoever. The town centre was a ten minute walk which was easy for our group.

All-in-all we couldn't have asked for more from our stay at Chalet Christol. Everything was organised for us by the chalet owners and hosts and all we had to do was turn up! I would rate this Chalet, and recommend it to anyone. Our group was very easy-going - we knew it was not five star accommodation, although it was modern, clean and well equipped for our needs so suited us perfectly.

If you are very fussy about room size and storage space etc check the room dimensions before you book to avoid disappointment. If you aren't able to manage the ten minute walk to the centre, maybe try for somewhere closer to the town centre!

If you want to experience an excellent catered ski trip on a budget give this place a try!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor possibly better than ground floor check dimensions and storage capacity before you travel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edinbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews