We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very far from train station”
Review of Chamonix Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chamonix Lodge
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is very far from the train station! I repeat, very far! Also, I am having difficulty in finding this place, as minimum direction was given. They are supposed to give away guest card that allow free transportation in that area, but they are "running out" of card, although I wonder they have ever stocked it. There are only 2 shower rooms (with toilet) in the whole building, to be shared with many peoples, multiple rooms, yet, they only clean it once a day, you can therefore imagine it hygienic standard. Nothing great about the free breakfast provided, just from cheap bread from Carrefour, and coffee/tea. If given a choice again, I will definitely avoid this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Chamonix Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Mountain Highs is a no frills hostel which is perfect when you are spending most of your time outside. I was able to book a single room here for 3 nights for the cost of one night at the next cheapest accommodation.

I figured, and I was correct, that most people staying in Chamonix were here for the hiking, thus it was really quiet at night (and a bit louder in the morning - the rooms aren't all that well insulated).

The rooms were sufficiently clean. Breakfast was very basic (black tea and store bought white bread with jam) but you could easily supplement with additional food. It is a 15 minute walk into the town center. The staff is only on-duty for a few hours a day, but that did not seem to cause any problems.

All in all, a good deal and I would stay here again, especially when traveling alone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpiter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

To come back to the hostel, tired after a day of hiking, it is wounderful to sit in the hot tub and the sauna and just relaxing! This was by far my best holiday ever, and I have had many good holidays. In just a fiew minutes, you reach Chamonix center with a lot of resturants and bars. If you prefer cooking by your self, that is possible too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We loved our stay at Mountain Highs. The facilities were great and the staff friendly and helpful. We took a dormitory for our family of 4 and the bunks were clean and comfortable although the room was tiny. The common areas were excellent and kept clean and tidy. The kids loved the free wifi and movies. The supermarket wasn't too far and we enjoyed being able to prepare our own meals.

Room Tip: Rooms with en suites were spacious. The dorm was tiny but very good value for a family of 4.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

When we found Mountain Highs Chalet Christol we thought it might just bee too good to be true as it was a significant amount cheaper than any other accomodation we could find. We took sole occupancy of the chalet as a group of 16 mid-20s skiiers, and we weren't dissappointed. The staff were friendly, helpful and fixed any issues (caused by ourselves rather than the fault of Mountain Highs!) quickly and with a smile. The bedrooms were small but clean and easily fit for purpose (we barely spent any time in the bedrooms as we were skiing or socialising the entire time). The social areas, hottub and suana were spaciaous, clean, comfortable and provided a sense of luxury. Food wise - breakfast could be improved upon but was satisfactory, where as the evening meals were great! The open bar option was fantastic for a party loving bunch such as ourselves! The location of the chalet was fine (just a 10min walk to town) and the hosts dropped us off and collected us from the various mountains (none of which were more than a 20min drive away) as and when we needed them to.

Overall I would say this chalet is fantastic value for money and could not be better ran. It is perfect for a group such as ourselves who took sole occupancy and were looking for fun on a budget. It may not hit the height of luxury that some my seek but it is as advertised and more!

Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goreus1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Chalet Mammoth for 7 nights last week and had a brilliant experience. The chalet is well located - walking distance to Chamonix centre and a short drive from a number of ski areas. We filled the chalet with 8 adults / 4 very young children, hence we were not going to be the easiest of guests - different breakfast times, some of us in during the day, some of us out, children fed early etc however we were looked after exceptionally well, nothing was too much trouble and our hosts went out of their way to accommodate us in any way we required. This was also the same for the booking process and my (many) pre-arrival emails, transfers were included, ski passes were delivered to our chalet along with ski hire, all dealt with efficiently and made very easy for us.

The chalet itself was a good size for our group, with plenty of comfy seating in the living area, each bedroom with its own en suite and a garage area for ski gear. Outside a sundeck and a much used hot tub, with stunning views.

Having stayed at both self catered and catered chalets, I definitely prefer the latter - especially with small children. A range of breakfast was provided to suit everyone's tastes, inc a hot option. The cake for afternoon tea was a welcome treat after skiing and our three course meal, which we added canapes and fizz to was very good. The chalet was cleaned and swept frequently, the hot tub was also cleaned and refilled during our stay.

All in all an excellent holiday at great value, just a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank LucyJ23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Having stayed at a few fully catered chalets over the last few years, often in large groups, I have come to expect certain issues and difficulties that are not always well dealt with. Not so at Mountain Highs Chalets - a professional operation that never felt impersonal or too slick, but simply ticked every box for a relaxing, quality ski holiday with friends.

The food was consistently fantastic - breakfast, lunch and dinner, no mean feat when catering for such a large group. Even when we were late one night the salmon was cooked to perfection and the welcome duck meal was quite exceptional! Booze was good quality and constantly flowing. We weren't exactly an abstemious group, but there was never a dry moment and the variety of spirits was impressive for a ski chalet.

The rooms were clean, well equipped and spacious, with constant hot water and fluffy towels provided and the social spaces were comfortable and well designed. UK Sky TV, good music systems, plenty of big squishy sofas and large tables for card games etc. There is even an extensive collection of DVDs and books for that all important downtime.

The hot tubs (which have the most spectacular views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding glaciers - sunshine at 4pm through pink-tinged sunset to starlight at 8pm) were always hot and regularly topped up. The staff even cleaned them mid-week, which I consider to go well beyond standard chalet service.

Our hosts were incredibly friendly and eager to please, despite us occasionally proving a bit of handful (late for dinner, some people skipping dinner, one messy night in). Transfers to and from the various ski fields were well organised, even with little advance warning and a variety of different subgroups to deal with. Their patience and flexibility throughout the week was much appreciated and enhanced the entire experience for the group.

Rach, the manager, was also excellent and regularly sorted out any problems people may have had (ski boots too tight, pass upgrade requested, hairdryer wanted, etc.). Service was personal and every effort was made to ensure the holiday was as hassle free for every guest as possible.

All-in-all, I would highly recommend this company and its two chalets to anyone - large groups, families (plenty of games for the kids and a bit of a garden to run around in, build snowmen), business trips and couples looking for a social environment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabejabe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
58 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamonix Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix Lodge

Address: 92 Chemin de la Chna, 74400, Chamonix, France (Formerly Mountain Highs Chalet Christol)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Chamonix
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal at Chamonix Lodge is to provide you with modern, great value hostel style accommodation and holidays in the wonderful mountain town of Chamonix. Chamonix Lodge operates hostel style accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis and we can offer you a fully equipped kitchen to use at other meal times. We have three separate living areas for you to relax in and most of our bedrooms are en-suite; we have many configurations in rooming type to suit your needs. From our large garden you can access the hot tub and sauna (all year round), and more specifically in the summer time you can make use of our relaxing hammocks, decking area, slackline, and barbecue area after a great day in the Chamonix mountains. Our hostel is owned and operated by mountain lovers! Whether you are here to take part in the numerous winter and summer outdoor activities or just for sightseeing, we want you to feel the love that we have for the amazing town of Chamonix and the stunning mountains that surround us. Chamonix Lodge is located a short distance from the centre of Chamonix, with a bus stop at the end of our road for those who don’t want to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chamonix Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing