We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chamonix Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chamonix Lodge
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights before attempting Mont Blanc. It was very clean, friendly and excellent value for money. Great place to relax and soak in the amazing views. I will definitely return to this hostel if I was come to Chamonix again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJWilliams21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
21
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

After 25 years of skiing, this has been the prettiest alpine town by far! Chamonix was only an hours transfer from Geneva. The chalet was a brisk walk in everyday shoes into town, but not suitable for walking in ski boots. However, there was an excellent chalet shuttle service to any piste area of your choice (to and fro). The food and staff were both excellent, offering amazing quality and quantity of food over a variety of authentic European dishes. Complements to our staff, Emma and Tom who were friendly and helpful, also our shuttle service drivers Anthony and Richard. The facilities in our chalet were very good which made our holiday particularly enjoyable as there were large communal areas to relax in and socialise after a long day of skiing with staff and other guests in the chalet. The overall holiday experience was a 8/10!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moo226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The chalet was very far from the center of Chamonix and the buses for the center were on every hour instead of minutes apart. The rooms were really small, only with beds and rarely with a wardrobe. There was one wall-plug per room. The bathrooms were too small as well. One of the rooms has been a garage and has no windows that can be opened.
We were in the chalet for two weeks during the Christmas holidays and they (the people who were meant to take care of the chalet) didn't clean at all and changed towels and linens only once for the whole stay at our insistence. My daughter was bitten all over by bugs and "all the measures they took" (only changing they linens) to destroy them were unsuccessful to put it mildly.
Even though there was a bus that was supposed to drive us to the ski lift the drivers were indisposed and we were never able to return when we wanted to. We took a hour traveling with the public transport.
This was the most disasterous vacation ever!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This chalet comes highly recommended. From the word go Gary (Valley Fever) was extremely helpful and accomodating with the difficult task of taking staged payments from 16 unorganised friends, who were potentially arriving and leaving all on different days. We were picked up from geneva and dropped off at the chalet door (with a return transfer picking us up from the door) hassle-free and Tom and Emma, our chalet hosts, had cake and drinks awaiting us on our arrival.
Although some of the rooms were a little cramped, most had doubles with en suite, and to be honest - how much time do you spend in your bedroom on a skiing holiday? there was a huge living room with a fire lit every evening, and a snug with a TV and DVD collection for the evenings people wanted to be slightly more antisocial! The hot tub and sauna were also amazing.
Tom and Emma cooked an amazing 3 course meal every night, and were very accomodating of us arriving late back in the evenings (due to a course we were all booked on) - poor things had to stagger the dinner times. No complaints from them.

Only thing I'd say is that the chalet is a good 20 minute walk from town (slightly longer if in ski boots), and although the chalet offer a shuttle service to and from the slopes, we were sometimes too many people/at the wrong time to use it. You either have quite a lot of walking to do, or you have to rely on the public busses, which only run every half hour - even in the mornings/afternoons at peak times.
Overall however, considering the very reasonable price per person of this chalet, I would highly recommend and would be keen for a return visit.

Room Tip: if youre a couple and therefore in a double, you'll be fine. amongst our group of friends, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is very far from the train station! I repeat, very far! Also, I am having difficulty in finding this place, as minimum direction was given. They are supposed to give away guest card that allow free transportation in that area, but they are "running out" of card, although I wonder they have ever stocked it. There are only 2 shower rooms (with toilet) in the whole building, to be shared with many peoples, multiple rooms, yet, they only clean it once a day, you can therefore imagine it hygienic standard. Nothing great about the free breakfast provided, just from cheap bread from Carrefour, and coffee/tea. If given a choice again, I will definitely avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Mountain Highs is a no frills hostel which is perfect when you are spending most of your time outside. I was able to book a single room here for 3 nights for the cost of one night at the next cheapest accommodation.

I figured, and I was correct, that most people staying in Chamonix were here for the hiking, thus it was really quiet at night (and a bit louder in the morning - the rooms aren't all that well insulated).

The rooms were sufficiently clean. Breakfast was very basic (black tea and store bought white bread with jam) but you could easily supplement with additional food. It is a 15 minute walk into the town center. The staff is only on-duty for a few hours a day, but that did not seem to cause any problems.

All in all, a good deal and I would stay here again, especially when traveling alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpiter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

To come back to the hostel, tired after a day of hiking, it is wounderful to sit in the hot tub and the sauna and just relaxing! This was by far my best holiday ever, and I have had many good holidays. In just a fiew minutes, you reach Chamonix center with a lot of resturants and bars. If you prefer cooking by your self, that is possible too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.6 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamonix Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix Lodge

Property: Chamonix Lodge
Address: 92 Chemin de la Chna, 74400, Chamonix, France (Formerly Mountain Highs Chalet Christol)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal at Chamonix Lodge is to provide you with modern, great value hostel style accommodation and holidays in the wonderful mountain town of Chamonix. Chamonix Lodge operates hostel style accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis and we can offer you a fully equipped kitchen to use at other meal times. We have three separate living areas for you to relax in and most of our bedrooms are en-suite; we have many configurations in rooming type to suit your needs. From our large garden you can access the hot tub and sauna (all year round), and more specifically in the summer time you can make use of our relaxing hammocks, decking area, slackline, and barbecue area after a great day in the Chamonix mountains. Our hostel is owned and operated by mountain lovers! Whether you are here to take part in the numerous winter and summer outdoor activities or just for sightseeing, we want you to feel the love that we have for the amazing town of Chamonix and the stunning mountains that surround us. Chamonix Lodge is located a short distance from the centre of Chamonix, with a bus stop at the end of our road for those who don’t want to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chamonix Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing