We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Ciel & Logis
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Seattle
1 review
“Not happy”
Reviewed 4 February 2008

I had a problem booking this trip on the internet through Expedia. A mistake was made during the internet booking process and I tried contacted both the hotel and Expedia immediately, since my credit card was charged. After many, many attempts to resolve this, the hotel and Expedia said nothing could be done since their policy was 100% non-refundable at the time for any reason. I realize that policies are needed, but given the circumstances I feel that neither the hotel, nor Expedia made good faith efforts to come to a solution on this issue and the attitude was "you booked it, so you're stuck with it". I even suggested they relist the room as available and if they get someone to rent it, then I get refunded. This was denied as well.

I can't speak to the quality of the hotel, however, since I didn't actually stay there (but I was still charged $800 for 2 nights!).

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank tbrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed here for one night in early october.We were scheduled to stay for two nights.We fled the next morning.It was filthy,crumbling and it appeared it was not cleaned in a while.The sheets were old and smelly.We had to pay for bed sheets and towels ,almost one fourth of the room rate.
The man at the reception desk was extremely obnoxious and acted like he hated to talk to us.He was` angry and hostile..
I would prefer a homeless shelter to this place.Please do not stay here.It will spoil your vacation
mathew

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kvm8702002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2007

My girlfrend and I arrived at Chamonix at 10.30pm local time only to find that the hotel/appartments locked we had to serch with absolutely no clue for our key whitch was left in a mail box on the other side of the square. When we finaly got in the appartment it did need a clean thease rooms are VERY VERY basic with strange sofa beds that have a large plank of wood under a very thin mattress (my back was in bits by the third day) and you must pay extra for the bed linen??. Another problem with this place is the fact that is right bang in the heart of chamonix sud where the three late night bars are and all night long you will be disturbed and woken.
If you are here for the season and you dont mind very basic accomidation then this place is ideal but if however it is a nice relaxing holiday you are after AVOID - oh they will take 170 euros from your credit card on arival so dont break any cups!!!.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank uklondonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

We booked this 4 day break last minute and this was the only option we had for accomadation. The rooms are located very close to the centre wer all the nite life and great shops wer. But for the skiing i would recommend maybe out of town and select a nicer place to sleep, because you've gotta get the ski bus to get to any of the slopes anyway. The room was very very basic, very small and we tried to spend as little time there as possible. We paid extra for a late arrival (you phone up and the reception leave a key and map of apartment location in a box?) also we paid extra for the sheets and pillow cases, & towels the ten year old dog blankets came free in the room??? come on it 2007.. Beds were terrible and you couldnt swing a cat in there, we couldnt wait to get out the place its was worse than basic living or hostel standard, we visits our friends who paid near the same round the corner and its was fabulos but no space.. avoid like the plague..

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2007

We booked in direct with the Residence. We had a very nice stay, the view from the apartment was just fantastic and the position of the Residence is central & convenient. The staff is very helpfull and knows very well the ski domains & also good restaurants around.
I would recommend this Residence to anyone that want to spend holidays in Chamonix.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank tulipebordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2007

You tend to get what you pay for. Having read other reviews, and not paid for a 5 star hotel in Verbier, we pretty much got what we expected - and went prepared with sheets, toilet paper, tea towels, etc. Having said that, it was clean, close to apres-ski and the ski resort buses and all year Spar shop, heaps of hot water for baths after ski-ing and a compact but functional kitchen. The only word of warning - it can be hard to find as not clearly sign posted from the road and in middle of a pedestrian area. Suggest you call in advance for clear directions.

  • Liked — Cost for the location
  • Disliked — Poor availability of guaranteed parking in close proximity - but we simply dumped our gear outside and then parked
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2006

We stayed at the Ciel and Logis for 5 nights, and as I was sharing with a friend had requested a studio for 2/3 persons. This is a small studio, and if there are three of you, don't even attempt it. We paid the 14 euro each for the linen. You get a pillow case and 2 top sheets. There are blankets in the cupboard, but did not use, that would be personal choice, just didn't feel comfortable using them, (take a sleeping bag). The shower was very powerful, but no shower curtain, so everything got wet through. This is cheap basic accomodation, but the location is excellent, with everything you need within a minute walk, and the views from the balcony cannot be beat. For 2 lads on a short ski break, it was o.k, wouldn't take the wife and 5 year old in there though.

Helpful?
3 Thank SpeedsterLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
387 reviews
9.3 mi away
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Ciel & Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Ciel & Logis

Property: Residence Ciel & Logis
Address: 92 Place de Chamonix Sud, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Ciel & Logis 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Ciel & Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Ciel Logis Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing