We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and basic. good value for families or groups of friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Ciel & Logis
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 21 August 2009

apart from being impossible to find (dont use google maps, just look for the bottom of the aiguille cable car and ask from there) these are groups of apartments, some private and just let out so I bet the quality varies tremendously. We booked mid Aug for one night through a late booking internet site and got a one bedroom apartment for 50 euros which is tremendous value. However we didnt realise there were no sheets and towels so bring your own! It wasnt tremendously clean but it wasn't disgusting. It was very basic but who comes to Chamonix and the gorgeous alps to stay indoors? Great location for kids as entrance is by a pedestrian square with a couple of good but basic (and cheap) restaurants so you can let them run round while you eat, and only 2 mins to pop back to the apartment if you have forgotten something. There's also a supermarket next door which is very handy. We really appreciated the central location and of course the value for money if you are prepared to rough it a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoppalongkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2008

At 50 Euros a night….good value in low summer. But mid winter, do yourself a favour and spend a little more, and avoid… see the pictures. So what was wrong, cramped, claustrophobics beware; it has no been renovated since the last ice age; foam beds; need to hire linen and TV; Bath only, which we had to sit in as there was nothing to hold the shower head, and the water goes everywhere; poorly equipped kitchen; no room for skis, and there is no drying room in the entire building.

On the plus side, it’s in Chamonix; only 5 minutes walk to the Aiguille du Midi cable car; if you don’t get the Mont Blanc side then view is almost as impressive.


PS. The apartments are located on Place de Chamonix, Sud 92. But to find reception, walk off the Place de Chamonix road, towards the Aiguille du Midi cable car. You will come into a large courtyard with some shops and pubs. Keep heading towards the cable car, past a tree in the centre of the courtyard, and the reception is located on the right. But it is not well marked, and is at the bottom of another apartment block. But make sure they are open, 9-12noon, and 3-7pm only. And if their service under whelms you, welcome to France!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Discusting!! Was not what we believed we had booked. We couldn,t get in.Then the lift was broken,stair lights were out.Room floor was filthy,Shower head was broken and not so much as a bar of soap!! No one made contact with us during our 3 day stay. Worst place we,ve ever stayed and wouldn't recommend anyone else too. I went looking forward to the spa and swimming pool!! They arn't there. This is enough to put tourists off France. Why are websites still allowing it to be advertised?

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leoIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Wot a dump - service was basic, accommodation was very basic and ancient, in fact this could have been in the 'accommodation from hell' listing - my children were so upset my youngest burst out crying. We arrived and was so appauled by the smell etc we refused to stay - instead we happily booked in at the Mercure Hotel. Like one of your other 'reviews' we booked through Expedia and was told 'no refund' - Once they have your money thats all that matters.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays5Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

First thing to note is that the Ciel is not a Hotel. They are simple apartments with simple amenities. Each apartment comes with cooking facilities and utilities. If you booked last minute and paid a small fortune for what you think is a hotel you will be somewhat disappointed, on the other hand if you paid 50 Euro a night and dont expect room service you will be quite happy.
If you do as we did, and take sleeping bags, toiletries & everything else you could want, you should have no complaints! There is a convenient Spar around the corner for food, and a few bars and snack places within a few feet of the doors.
The Ciel is a 5 min walk from the Chamonix Sud bus stop for the ski buses, and a 5-10 min walk from the centre of town for the nightlife. The square it is located in is not generally noisy and the nearby bars do not disturb.
We don't think this place deserves all of the negative reviews that have been posted - our only complaint was the price, which is down to our time of booking!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Katherine701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

I had a problem booking this trip on the internet through Expedia. A mistake was made during the internet booking process and I tried contacted both the hotel and Expedia immediately, since my credit card was charged. After many, many attempts to resolve this, the hotel and Expedia said nothing could be done since their policy was 100% non-refundable at the time for any reason. I realize that policies are needed, but given the circumstances I feel that neither the hotel, nor Expedia made good faith efforts to come to a solution on this issue and the attitude was "you booked it, so you're stuck with it". I even suggested they relist the room as available and if they get someone to rent it, then I get refunded. This was denied as well.

I can't speak to the quality of the hotel, however, since I didn't actually stay there (but I was still charged $800 for 2 nights!).

Stayed: February 2007
Thank tbrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed here for one night in early october.We were scheduled to stay for two nights.We fled the next morning.It was filthy,crumbling and it appeared it was not cleaned in a while.The sheets were old and smelly.We had to pay for bed sheets and towels ,almost one fourth of the room rate.
The man at the reception desk was extremely obnoxious and acted like he hated to talk to us.He was` angry and hostile..
I would prefer a homeless shelter to this place.Please do not stay here.It will spoil your vacation
mathew

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kvm8702002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.2 mi away
Residence & Spa Vallorcine Mont Blanc
5.9 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#58 of 73 in Chamonix
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,215 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Ciel & Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Ciel & Logis

Address: 92 Place de Chamonix Sud, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Ciel & Logis 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Ciel & Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Ciel Logis Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing