We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Hotel l'Heliopic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel l'Heliopic
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Very good!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

New and modern hotel located right next to the l'Aiguille du Midi ski lift. Friendly staff, good breakfast and dinner. Very nice pool, sauna, and relax. Nice and clean rooms, ours with a view of Mt Blanc. Good parking facilities, and the ski bus stops right outside the hotel. Ski rental in the hotel and Intersport is 100 meters away. Short walking distance to the center of Chamonix.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    333
    71
    22
    8
See reviews for
319
546
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am Mrs Fussy from Planet Fussy when it comes to hotels. I persuaded husband to stay here and he only did so based on price, location and underground parking (his remits for a perfect hotel). My remit is so much more!
It is in an amazing location, right next to the Aguille du Midi lift. It has it's own ski shop, mountain guide/advice desk, great restaurant (we ate there 3 times and very good), space, lovely bar, amazing spa (with ice room and freezing plunge pool amongst the usual). We had a double room with mountain view and balcony. Amazing! Huge 6' bed, lovely sheets, felted side tables so so quiet when rummaging to find stuff in the night (must do this at home), TV, DVD player (they have a huge selection of DVDs downstairs to borrow FOC), big safe (could fit our macbook pro in width ways), Nuxe toiletries, lovely bath with shower over, space to dry boots and heated radiator to dry clothing. Great towels. Heavy curtains to block out light. Peace and quiet. And free, fast Wifi that worked.
I loved it.
There is breakfast in the hotel which we didn't try but there is a lovely little shop just outside that sells lovely coffee, croissants, lunch items, snacks, travel plugs - all sorts of things. This was also so good. The location is great: a short walk to the centre of Chamonix and views. Stunning views.
We went in march for 4 nights, not a school holiday week. We could see that if our children had been 10 years younger, there were areas for them to be entertained and watch cartoons. And space for them to run around.
As I said, I loved it and husband did too. We have found our place to stay in Chamonix now.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiefutures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel is lovely and as you would expect of a brand new hotel, modern and nice furnishings. The staff were very friendly and helpful except for one lady that seemed to be on the front desk on the morning shift. We encountered her on our first morning and she was quite rude and unhelpful, we simply avoided her after this and approached the other staff instead. Breakfast was included and to be honest was probably one of the worst we have had in any hotel. As we have a one year old we were quite often one of the first at breakfast and even being early the hot breakfast (eggs, bacon etc) was stone cold, the other selections of yoghurt, fruit, bread was satisfactory. Given the standard of the breakfast we chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to everything including the buses to the slopes. The spa was quite nice and relaxing after a day on the slopes. I had a massage one day, not cheap but as you would expect for the location. The deli that is attached to the hotel is good for a casual lunch, they had a nice selection of focaccia's soup and quiches and were quite tasty. The highlight is probably the ski shop attached to the hotel. They were fantastic, we hired all of our equipment from them, the equipment was all near new and in excellent condition and was reasonably priced. They also have lockers to store your equipment which means not having to worry about drying anything in your room or the space it all takes up. It was so easy coming in of an afternoon, dropping off all of your equipment and then relaxing upstairs. I think the hotel has achieved a nice mix between a hotel and a lodge. Chamonix is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very nice stay at Hotel Heliopic, rooms are on the small side, even for deluxe size but clean and well appointed, comfortable bed. (no mini bar which was a drag) bathroom contains lovely NUXE toiletries. Hotel lobby spacious and open with great bar. Hotel has adjoining deli great for take away breakfast, coffees or just to stock up on drinks for the room etc. Underground parking excellent although 10 euros per day. Location right next to Aguile du Midi lift and very easy stroll into town. Breakfast selection very varied with good service. Spa massage excellent, pool and jacuzzi area clean and relaxing. Ski shop waxed our skis to perfection and there are lockers for ski gear. Free Wifi worked well. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights, the hotel is lovely and modern. Staff were really helpful and friendly, we had a room on the top floor which was nice. It was quiet so you could get a good night sleep after a long day on the slopes. The lift next to the hotel called the agelle-du-midi takes you up to the highest point in chamonix however there is no groomed ski-runs and it is all off piste and NOT for the inexperienced! Minimum black level with a guide! The hotel has a bus stop right out the front which is perfect for getting the buses to the different slopes. The spa inside the hotel was nice and clean we also had a massage which we really enjoyed. Breakfast was ok, standard croissants, bread, scrambled egg and bacon etc. The only minor problem with our room is the lighting and the shower. The lights weren't very bright so it was difficult to see when the daylight had gone and because we were on the top floor the shower was under the sloped roof so unless you were a dwarf you had to have a bath or a very awkward shower as the shower head was low down. The hotel was always lovely and warm, and I feel the cold so this made a big difference to me. Overall I had a lovely stay and would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holly939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assendelft, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nice Spa, good service, Nice staff, quiet rooms, bus stop in front off the hotel every 10 minutes to piste. Close to center. Nice shops and restaurants. Ski aerea is gorgeous with Nice view mont Blanc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What wonderful service we received here at the L'heliopic, the staff we're excellent and could not do enough for us. We visited as couples, and it was an excellent retreat to return to after a good days skiing.
The standard rooms were well proportioned and very tastefully decorated with some lovely extra touches. The communal areas are very spacious, comfortable and sociable. Even though we didn't require it, facilities for children were good, a playroom, TV area, sweets and soft drinks free of charge. We didn't eat evening meal as we like to venture out but the breakfast was very good.
We drove from Switzerland and needed to use the underground parking which we thought was very decently priced per day and very secure.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and we will certainly be returning ourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms had balconies we just requested a high floor but there are only 3 anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Heliopic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Heliopic

Property: Hotel l'Heliopic
Address: 50 Place de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel l'Heliopic 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heliopic Hotel Sweet & Spa is set at the foot of Aiguille du Midi lift and will open its doors in December 2013. If you come as a couple, family or group, our hotel will take care of your well-being.The hotel offers the most innovative services and personalised attentions, such as a 500m2 spa, a restaurant, a bar, a ski shop, 4 conference rooms, a take-away shop and a covered car park with 44 spaces.The Heliopic Spa, where relaxation meets amazement, offers the following facilities: pool, relaxation area, hammam, banya, ice cave, tepidarium, treatment rooms and many other surprises ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel l'Heliopic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing