We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of Mont Blanc”
Review of Hotel l'Heliopic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel l'Heliopic
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a difficult hotel to find in Chamonix. But when once we located the entrance and the door it was fine. Our room was big enough and had a beautiful view of Mont Blanc. The wifi was good, there was parking and the location was fine for walking everywhere in town. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. In the morning we had the breakfast. It was not bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited for 4 nights, Arrived by transfer from Geneva airport. On arrival the hotel looked stunning and reception area was very spacious and checking quick and reception staff very helpful. We had room 315 and this room overlooked the aiguille du midi cable car station. Room was perfect, very clean and bed comfortable. Large LCD TV with some English news channels. Bathroom was the same clean and nice fluffy towels, plus dressing gown and slippers. Our balcony was ideal in the morning for watching the sun rise over the mountain.
Spa was amazing, with all what you needed, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, ice bath, ice room and relaxation area.
Cannot fault this hotel on anything, service is 5*, all staff are so friendly, polite and helpful. Decor is modern with a very relaxed atmosphere.
Location is excellent for aiguille du midi cable car and town centre.
Will definitely be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ski every year and I was very pleased with our 2014 choice.

The resort of Chamonix is my favourite thus far and I was very happy with the hotel which I found excellent.

If you want a very comfortable good quality ski hotel with all the facilities you could ask for this is the one for you.
I must admit we ate out every night due to such a great variety of restaurants within walking distance so I can't comment on the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a family room due to my little boy being with us and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this great hotel for one night in spring. The Hotel is well situated just next to the cable car to l'aiguille du midi. This hotel is brand new, you can tell. The room is big enough and in the typical mountain style, but very modern. There is a lack of decoration, we missed the personal touch. Bath was very clean and nice but a bit small. You have a DVD Player in your room and there is a library in the lobby where you can take DVD's and Books - great idea we never saw before (especially when wether is not good).

The staff at reception is young, friendly, very helpful and welcome you with a big smile. In the restaurant they was one waiter who just spoke english. The chef de service is so professional and always here to help. Diner was fresh, creative and very tasty. For breakfast they offer a bright range of specialties as well as continental.

The spa is very modern and stylish but don't book this hotel only for a wellness trip, you will be disappointed as it is very small. But they have saunas, a jacuzzi and one pool.

We really recommend to book your parking place in advance as it is hard to find a place in the city.

We enjoyed this place and the service in this beautiful mountain landscape and we'll come back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michi4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel Heliopic is well situated for skiing and is modern, new, clean and well equipped.

We had a smooth check-in and check-out, and no major issues during our stay. Bed is comfortable. We enjoyed having the epicerie (small supermarket / bakery shop) as part of the hotel for our breakfasts - they have good sandwiches. We didn't use the spa.

However, let is point out the following annoyances:
-DO NOT BOOK THE ATTIC ROOM, you cannot stand in the shower and you will hit your head. The hotel does mention it in the room description, but it sucks.
-You will not able to use the bag drop off area, because people use it as a parking lot
-You will not be able to get Q-TIPS
-You will not be able to get hot room service (i.e. pizza) at lunch, because the restaurant is closed. So you can only get cold sandwiches from the epicerie.
-You do need to enter what looks like a bus lane to access the hotel
-The WIFI may be unstable, don't forget to cross your fingers
-You may need to ask to get your room cleaned

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C4L1MER0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHeliopic, Directeur général at Hotel l'Heliopic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and would like to make some brief remarks:

- Our Deli Epicerie du Midi offers cold sandwiches, soups, panini, salads and all varieties of food to go or to stay.
- Q Tips and, shower caps, toothbrush are available on request by calling the front desk
- Place de l'Aiguille du Midi (our address) is pedestrian only. Access by car is thru Route Blanche. GPS coordinates and route instructions are available on the websites we are listed on
- Tough cars can be towed away as the drop off area is also a bus stop, some guests do park their car here. We are doing our best to teach people not to do so.

Overall, we feel that you enjoyed your stay and will be very pleased to welcome you back on your next visit in Chamonix

Kind regards

Frederic Martineau
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Super nice, family friendly hotel. Room was a bit small but the lobby was actually the ideal place to stay to read or for a drink after a day's hike. If you love mountain-related books, this is the perfect fit ;-) But this hotel's main feature is its spa : jacuzzi, sauna, hammam, tepidarium, cold bath and a large swimming pool are included in the room price. We loved the design and the furniture. Friendly staff who arranged a restaurant booking at the last minute for us. Litterally in front of the Aiguille du Midi cable car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Chamonix-l’heliopic hotel
A nice, very new hotel right behind the téléphérique aiguille du midi. Reasonable price and clean and comfortable room.
The spa is too stuffy and crowded, and opens too late (10:00). We ended up not bothering to go. But the view from the room is awesome!
They may wish to consider furnishing the balconies, too.
Service is excellent! Really adorable and helpful staff!
Kind of hard to find, even if it is so centrally located.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ipimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Heliopic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Heliopic

Address: 50 Place de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £87 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel l'Heliopic 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heliopic Hotel Sweet & Spa is set at the foot of Aiguille du Midi lift and will open its doors in December 2013. If you come as a couple, family or group, our hotel will take care of your well-being.The hotel offers the most innovative services and personalised attentions, such as a 500m2 spa, a restaurant, a bar, a ski shop, 4 conference rooms, a take-away shop and a covered car park with 44 spaces.The Heliopic Spa, where relaxation meets amazement, offers the following facilities: pool, relaxation area, hammam, banya, ice cave, tepidarium, treatment rooms and many other surprises ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel l'Heliopic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing