We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel l'Heliopic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel l'Heliopic
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely Hotel and best location which only 1 minute to go to Ropeway station of Aiguill du Midi, 3 min to go to Cantral.
But 2 problem in there,one is The room 4th floor is low roof.
Many times hit my head to roof. Another one is very slippy of the shower faucet. If your hand was with soap it not possible to open fauset due to slippy.
You should better to never stop fauset during Shampoo, body washing....

Room Tip: To avoid of 4th floor due to low roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terra_sands_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    307
    64
    20
    8
See reviews for
284
506
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel only opened in Dec 2013, so everything still feels amazingly new.

We love the stylish decor and the furniture so much that we enquired about the furniture designer. The toiletries are all from the spa and they smell amazing.

The duvet is incredibly comfortable and plush and from most balconies, you get to see the Mont Blanc.

You can't get a better location to the cable car station up to Aguille du Midi, it almost feel that the station is built for the hotel.

We loved it so much that we wished we have opted to stay for another night.

2 thumbs up!

PS. If you are driving, remember to pre-book the hotel parking lot.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ancyancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is very nice. We chose it because of its location even knowing that it is very child friendly and there might be lots of families. However that never created a problem for us.

We had use of the parking garage at an additional 10 euros per day. Space is limited.

Our room was very nice but there was no fan or venting. The hotel sent a 'ventilator' to our room and that helped a lot. They supplied a variety of toiletries items for our use and the linens were very nice. And the bed was very comfortable.

We didn't use any of the services, but overall it was a very good stay while in Chamonix.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in the summer. The hotel is nearly brand new - and the two reasons for the "4" rating is that the hotel is new and good location in Chamonix.

That being said there is a number of factors that means that this hotel is "on the edge" between "3" and "4", namely
+ Housekeeping
+ New hotel
- No fridge in the room (not a problem in the winter - but in the summer it would have been nice
- Overall nature of the breakfast seems "quantity over quality"
- Service at times severely lacking - for example in reception where they where clearly indifferent to the fact that there was not parking available.

So when the rating is "4" it is a 3.6 - with the caution that if the hotel do not keep focus and drive it would quickly become a "stay-factory" rather than a hotel.

Hope that I will be proven wrong - but let me just say that had the hotel not been new I would most likely only have given this a 3.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THN_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHeliopic, Directeur général at Hotel l'Heliopic, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying at the Heliopic duing your last stay in Chamonix.

We are glad that you overall enjoyed your sta with us and would like to reply to some of your remarks.

- Hotel rating in France is seriously handled by the government and is official. To be rated 4 stars, a hotel has to fulfill a numerous number of criteria including a mystery visit where among other things, service is tested.

Of course, we do care about our guests satisfaction and even if perfection does not exist, the number of excellent or very good reviews on TripAdvisor and other websites show that we are guest service oriented.

Though we do not have mini bar in our rooms (which is not mandatory for a 4 star), we have plenty of other facilities to satisfy all our guests (free tea/coffee in room, in lobby, kid's corner with games, candies, DVD player and DVDs at no charge, books, areas for socializing etc)

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards

Frederic Martineau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Chamonix is the most charming sky village I have been. It remind me of Zermatt very much. The hotel location is right next to Aiguille Du Midi Lift and a nice walk to the city (not more than 5 min) walk thru the charming area and you will be in the center of the village.

We have stayed in many hotels in Chamonix, Heliopic Spa is a new hotel built in 2014 or 2013. This means that everything you get to use there is brand new! Hotel is very charming and very cozy but yet not small at all: offers you plenty of room everywhere: lobby, spa, rooms, even the garage ;)

The rooms are wonderful have this earthy organic look in to it with eco conscious electricity and recycling bins in the hotel ! The service is amicable, we were there with our little dog, and on the arrival the room already had a doggy bed and plates. How cute is that?!
The spa is amazing: ice room is a very unique experience. One of my favorite hotels! Thank you Hotel Heliopic team !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel had a great room plan for families. I was traveling with my sister and two nephews and the bunk beds in the room were a hit. The room was spacious and immaculate. We enjoyed the four robes! The breakfast was quite substantial and the happy hour was a great deal. We loved our view of the Aiguille du Midi lift and the Alps. Excellent location in Chamonix. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52072Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were registered for 3 nights in a standard room but found the noise from the 4 lane highway outside the room intolerable. After asking to be moved 3 times without being provided another room, we booked into another hotel. (Apparently they were full) When we returned to pick up our luggage, the manager on duty miraculously found a different room but we had already booked in to the other hotel. The manager refused to provide us with a refund and tried to placate us with drinks The check in staff suggested we close our door to the balcony if we didn't want to hear the traffic.

I request that our three night stay be refunded, as the standard room was not tolerable but the manager on duty refused. We found the staff quite disrespectful of our requests and their attitude was not pleasant.

The superior rooms looked okay, as they were facing the other way from the Highway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Heliopic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Heliopic

Property: Hotel l'Heliopic
Address: 50 Place de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel l'Heliopic 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heliopic Hotel Sweet & Spa is set at the foot of Aiguille du Midi lift and will open its doors in December 2013. If you come as a couple, family or group, our hotel will take care of your well-being.The hotel offers the most innovative services and personalised attentions, such as a 500m2 spa, a restaurant, a bar, a ski shop, 4 conference rooms, a take-away shop and a covered car park with 44 spaces.The Heliopic Spa, where relaxation meets amazement, offers the following facilities: pool, relaxation area, hammam, banya, ice cave, tepidarium, treatment rooms and many other surprises ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel l'Heliopic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing