We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Riviere - Aiglons
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$165
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$90
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Morgane(Chamonix)
US$144
US$101
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$129
US$121
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$103
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
103
235
105
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
235
105
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspar supermarketmain bus stopdouble bedbig fridgeoccasional noiseski storage lockergreat locationfree wifiaccess codeindividual lockerskitchen areaminute walkski bustight squeezesnowboarding holidaybedroom apartmentchamonix sud
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This accommodation was clean, had all the essentials and was close to both the slopes and the apres ski. If you are looking for somewhere which is clean, friendly, quiet, and with all of the amenities you could possibly need within a basic apartment then this is the place for you. Some of the other reviews of this place seem to have been written by people who don't have a clue what to expect from a self catering apartment in a European ski resort. The kitchen was fully equipped - minus a kettle but there are saucepans to boil the water. Bed comfortable, hot shower and bath, heating on demand and even a dishwasher!! You do need to clean the apartment but there is a brush and hoover. You can also buy an 8 euro cleaning kit from reception with dishwashing tablets and basic cleaning equipment. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0wchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We stayed at the Residence after reading the reviews, and were a bit worried. We needn't have been, it was clean, recently renovated, with a dishwasher, microwave, big fridge, two rings, plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. Comfy sofa bed. What more do you want? It was 2 mins from the Ski bus stop and the "Chamonix Sud" pedestrian area with bars, shops etc and a whole 5 min walk to the main town centre.
You do need to provide your own towels, (or rent from reception) kettles aren't provided ( I have never been anywhere in France where they are - they are a British thing) and you can buy a cleaning kit from reception, as you need to clean the appartment at the end of the stay (or take a packet of Flash wipes and some Fairy liquid and a sponge!) hoovers provided.
There was a ski locker room.
The only thing I would say was if you had 4 people in the studio you only got 1 blanket and pillow each, (and 2 sheets) so you might want to consider an extra one or a sleeping bag, and if you like lots of pillows the same.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiliebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I stayed at the Meava Riviere with my girlfriend in April 2007 for 8 days of skiing. We booked through Expedia and only paid 33GPB per night. The apartments were very basic, but included a fridge, small hob, and lots of cooking/eating utensils. The worst thing was the old ("dog") blankets for the bed, although you did get clean sheets. Beware that you have to clean the apartment yourself (or pay 40EUR), but this is a relatively easy task.

The best thing was the location. The "Chamonix-Sud" bus-stop for the free bus to all the ski-slopes was about 50m away. (You have to get the bus to any slope in Chamonix). It was also only 5 minutes walk away from all the main bars and restaurants in the town centre.

I would recommend this for people who want to ski through the day and eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Glasgow_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2006

It's clearly been a while since I went two star self catering:

On arriving at 1pm we are told by our Neilson rep that Reception, and therefore our rooms, are not available until after 5pm. When we are finally able to check in we find that self catering accomodation does not provide towels, the kitchen equipment doesn't include a kettle let alone a microwave, that cleaning the room will cost 40 Euros and use of the TV in the room also costs 40 Euros.

The advertised facilities include:

Reception(!)
Games room
Laundry

These are sporadically open during the morning and afternoon only so if you plan on skiing in the daytime don't plan on a game of pool during the evenings.

Chamonix Sud has a couple of bars, restaurants & shops but the main town is livelier. Neither are near the gondolas, so crowded bus journeys hauling ski gear are necessary at the start and end of every day.

In short, it's basic and inconvenient - thankfully we had loads of snow and therefore a great holiday but I wouldn't recommend Residence La Riviere...

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Davester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2004

Beautiful wooden rustic lodgings that was perfect for my wife and 4 children. cozy feel, yet spacious. in the morning, we sat on the terrace and just admired the stunning views of the aquille du midi.
great location, and easy accessibility.

6  Thank Shacharlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews