We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 28 February 2012

While the location of this hotel is excellent, the staff are rude and unhelpful and the rooms are very dated. Services are non-existent in this hotel. Despite being checked in late due to "cleaning" of our room, we entered a dungeon-like room (#3 Flageres) that smelled like a dungeon. This supposedly large room looked nothing like the photos that caused us to book here. We were eventually moved to a much better but smaller room. The cost differential was over euro 500 but the hotel refused to even consider a refund of my pre-paid room, despite acknowledging the shortcomings of the room they had given us. I would recommend travellers stay away from this hotel and book somewhere else until they change the staff and upgrade the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from #3 Flageres. We eventually stayed in #21 Mont Blanc which was a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BryceCode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

I booked this apartment as a (much) cheaper alternative to the accommodation that was offered by the conference we were attending. We paid about 72 euros a night for the apartment. I have no real complaints; it was clean and it "did what it said on the tin". We had two bedrooms, one en-suite, and a kitchen/living area, plus a nice balcony. The only negative was that I am 1.85 m tall and we were on the top floor, under the sloping eaves. This meant that only 30% of the floor space was available to me and I hit my head a couple of times. But, in summer at least, one doesn't come to Chamonix to stay indoors...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

After twelve summer holiday weeks over the past twenty years, my choice is La Ginabelle. There might be better value for money somewhere else, but we have stayed at La Ginabelle for our last three summers here. We are two adults with two young children, and we have stayed in three different size apartments. One was small, the next one had a low roof and the last one faced the main road. They all served us well, but the next time I will make sure we don't face the main road (east).
We will stay there again. It's a bit pricey, but many other aparment buildings are dumps. If you want a central location with a pool i chamonix, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We had a mixed experience at Ginabelle, as follows:

Good: very central location - yet quiet in evening, good indoor pool (for children to play, not for swimming), nice reception area, friendly helpful staff, good views from apartment, nice towels and adequate kitchen.

Not so good: apartment dated and very "worn", cleaning could have been better, strange smell from bedsheet (until changed).

Overall we had an OK experience, but I had expected a more modern and clean apartment based on the website pictures, hotel rating and price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRR186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Many thanks for submitting your review following your stay at our Ginabelle residence. We're so glad you benefited from our centrally located residence and onsite facilities. We're happy that the kitchen also served you and your families needs. We wanted to personally reply to apologise for the upkeep and furnishings in the apartment. We're pleased to confirm parts of the result are scheduled for full refurbishment in the next year. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I travelled with family, stayed in apartment 12 in "Flegere".The hotel was dirty, no toalet paper in apartments. The complex is OLD as everything in Chamonix and overpriced. The floors are very dirty in halls. Overall impression: BAD. Maybe worth for 2 stars. Becides, they charged my card after my stay and i do not even know for what. I am not satisfied at all. Be carefull - if you gave money to french people and want it back - THEY WILL NOT GIVE YOU THEM BACK, NEVER. I love-love-love ITALY!!!! Guys, trust me, in Italy everything is MUCH-MUCH-MORE better!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank horoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in Chamonix. We strive to improve our levels of cleanliness at every opportunity. In this instance we cannot apologise enough for the state of the rooms. Guests should be provided with toilet paper on arrival, and should then supply their own for the duration of their stay. Pierre & Vacances properties are self-catering residences, not hotels. A fee may have been placed on your card if the room was not left in a satisfactory condition. We urge you to get in touch with customer services to discuss this matter further. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Travelled with my wife and 2 girls aged 10 and 6. First of all it has to be one of the most beautiful places in Europe. Scenery is spectacular. The Hotel is quaint. It is clean and from what I could see it was one of the best in Chamonix (because of pool). There was no restaurant or Pub in the hotel which was a pity because the Foyer is quite nice. The staff were very friendly. Spoke English very well. The room was lovely. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the top floor with all facilities. there was an elevator which was kind of rickety. We spent alot of time in "Elevation 1904" a pub/ bar food. Couldn't really call it a restaurant but it was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was very cheap to eat there. There were cheap wine and cheap fizzy drinks for the kids. I thought it was a bit strange there were dogs every where. I found that Chamonix is a boutique town and alot of the main street restaurants could be expensive for their drinks. The food was relatively cheap in most restaurants but when you bought a drink you were ripped off. Don't ask me why because France outside of major cities is normally good value. The clothes shops were expensive but i did find a shop over by the Aguile du midi cable car very cheap with all the gear you needed. There was a small cabin across from the hotel that made chips and burgers. he was great also you could bringthem back to your room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadioCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

we spent 3 nights at the La Ginabelle last week and had a wonderful stay. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment and it was perfect for our family. The interiors of the apartments are just fine, not fancy but very comfortable. The public areas and hallways could use some new carpet but the facility is kept up nicely. The lobby is very nice and has a small toy corner that kept my kids (2 and 4) very happy!
The location can't be beat- across the street from the train station and steps from the pedestrian town center of Chamonix. Literally a 2 minute walk from the Montenvers train to go to the Mer de Glace. Chamonix is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Ginabelle! What a great value- we paid less than $500 (USD) for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Would definitely return!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
Thank nfowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Les Balcons Du Savoy
#26 of 73 in Chamonix
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appart Hotel le Genepy
Appart Hotel le Genepy
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maeva Residence Le Chamois Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle

Address: 29 Passage du Grepon, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £71 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic, typically Savoyard resortIdeally located in the heart of the resortA residence offering relaxation areas and 'Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle Hotel Chamonix
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing