We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so far so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
belgrade
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so far so good”
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Just returned from seven days stay at the Residence. Been to several different apartments in the hotel and I found them all nice equiped with everything that you might need during your stay.
Residence is nicly located near the realway station and downtown but 700 m from the major ski lift, If you like walking with your ski shoes on this is a place to be.
Garage has very low clearance so if you come with a SUV or car with a ski rack good luck with finding a parking around the city, as the hotel doesn`t provide outdside parking space.
Swiming pool small but nice, saunas are very clean and neat. as well as gym. Staff very friendly and helpful. Make sure you leave clean apartment after your leave othervise you will be asked to pay E 63 for cleaning.
After all I find this residence good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skendizc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    188
    103
    40
    20
See reviews for
330
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

Just back from Chamonix and staying in La Ginabelle. The location to the town is perfect. 16 of us stayed there as our accomodation for our ski trip. No one in our group was disappointed.
The rooms are small but very well equipped, and very clean on arrival. the pool and shower areas are all spotless. We found the staff to be helpful and courteous. I would have no problem recommending here as a place to stay.

  • Liked — central location and coziness
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinDave007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

This was our third self catering visit to Chamonix and we decided to try the apartments this time. We wanted something central, comfortable and with a pool - La Ginabelle turned out to be the perfect spot for us. The 3/4 person apartment was very comfortable for the two of us (although 3/4 adults may have been a crowd!), and was clean and well equipped. It was great to be able to relax in the pool/sauna/turkish bath at the end of a day's hiking. As we had not hired a car this time, the location of the apartments opposite the train station and round the corner from the bus stop, made it easy to take full advantage of the guest travel card. The reception staff were able to help us with any information we needed, and a problem with the TV set in our apartment was resolved promptly. All in all we had a great time, and would happily return, hoping to get a room with a similar wonderful view of Mont Blanc.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the indoor pool
  • Disliked — It had twin beds rather than a double bed in the bedroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LABAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

The location is central and close to everything, the lobby is warm and welcoming and the staff are friendly and helpful, however, the rooms, applicances, decor, parking, and general condition of the whole place was very disappointing. Parking lot flooded, dishwasher didn't work, shower leaked, upholstery soiled, walls in disrepair, sofa hard as a rock, etc. Also, the afternoon and early evening closing of the front desk, pool, and internet access is a major pain in the but. A 2 star at best. The website is misleading.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank travelfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_PV, Responsable de la communication en ligne at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle, responded to this review, 15 May 2008
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments via Tripadvisor.
We have carefully considered your feedback on the MGM Residence La Ginabelle. This RMGM residence is part of P&V Holidays, the leading provider of self-catering accommodation in France.

We are pleased to announce that this Residence is due to be refurbished in winter 2009-10. Particular attention will be paid to the upholstery including the sofa, the HiFi, the bedding and general decor and we very much hope that this will be to your satisfaction. The reception area will also be renovated to afford more comfort and quality, complete with a new Kids Corner. We should add that the cleaning contracts have been reviewed in full. Staff have been specially trained and a new protocol is now in place that will ensure higher standards for winter 2008-09.

We are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and hope that you will choose to holiday in one of our residences or villages again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutchan-cho, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Our skis and snowboars got stolen in the underground parking. It's caused by our carelessness, but also poor security of the hotel.

They stole 2 pairs of skis and 4 snowboards that are on 2 pairs of ski carriers on the loof. Of course the carriers are locked, but they broke it. We leave them like that in the parking because we thought the parking is enough secured.

The door of parking can be opened by the wireless key. Hotel guest has free access from the room to the parking, but the hotel building is also locked by the room key or password.

After the incident, the hotel reception said they're not responsible for the theft. They also said the parking is shared with the other apartments, so people who are not recognized even by the hotel reception can come in. We didn't hear it on check-in.

What I'm surprized is that nothing else is damaged with the exterior of the car. The parking space is quite tight, so it should be difficult to do it without scraching the car by the broken carrier or the stolen skies. From this result, I think they are professional thieves.

As there's no security camera. So we completely lost the way to track down the thief.

What I heard from one rental ski shop is that there was also theft but in ski locker in the building. They broke the locker and stole skis inside. I think it's quite possible because, as you may be aware of, the thief can easily be entering the hotel building because the door from the parking is not locked.

So my suggestions are
"Don't go with car if you stay there"
"Keep skies in your room"
"Don't count "sofa bed + pull-out bed" to sleep" (Too small like coffins)
"Get ready to check out at 10:00 am"

Basically rooms and the facility are very good, but everyone need to be careful for thieves, which may be normal in exclusive resort areas like Chamonix.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hide40667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2007

We have just returned from Ginabelle we found it very good location,also staff very friendly,pool very good. apartments very good on the small side but very clean. ******

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WickfordDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2007

Have just returned from a great skiing holiday in Chamonix where we stayed in the Flegere block of the Ginabelle, which I have absolutley no complaints about. We were a group of 18 adults (3 women) with a mix of ages from early 20s to approaching 50. We had 3 apartments of 6 people and this worked out well for us. The main room in each was a generous size with all the facilities you would expect from an apartment and more, inc. a dishwasher (you are provided with a pack of tablets and washing-up liquid). There is a shared bathroom and separate toilet with one bedroom having an en-suite, and we had a loo roll in each on arrival. Obviously being an apartment you need to buy provisions (inc. loo roll) and there is a supermarket and a smaller shop nearby, plus a bakery very close by. The Ginabelle is located centrally by the train station and near to everything you need, inc. a very nice bar for apre-ski. Bus stops are nearby for getting to the slopes although you can also use the train (check the timetable though as they are not very frequent). Public transport is free for guests resident in Chamonix. The Ginabelle has a reasonable sized pool, a Turkish Bath, 2 saunas, 2 steam rooms plus a gym if you have any energy left after a hard days skiing or boarding (we didn't!) The rooms are quite well sound-proofed as I could not hear the late night goings on from our nominated "party chalet" which was right next door. All in all I would recommend the Ginabelle providing you are looking for a reasonable apartment as opposed to The Ritz. It is worth mentioning that 2 of the beds in each apartment are made by pulling out a coffin-like bed from underneath the sofa, leaving the sofa as the other bed. I can only assume that Ginabelle is either under new management or has improved this year; why else the bad reviews prior to 2007?

  • Liked — Location, size of apartments, facilities, freedom to do our own thing
  • Disliked — Temperature control was difficult, lots of hanging space in wardobe but not much shelf space (only a few hangers provided), only 2 keys per apartment of 6 people (a key is needed for the ski locker)
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Les Balcons Du Savoy
#26 of 73 in Chamonix
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maeva Residence Le Chamois Blanc
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Appart Hotel le Genepy
Appart Hotel le Genepy
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
834 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#18 of 73 in Chamonix
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle

Property: Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle
Address: 29 Passage du Grepon, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic, typically Savoyard resortIdeally located in the heart of the resortA residence offering relaxation areas and 'Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pierre & Vacances, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle Hotel Chamonix
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing