We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We had a mixed experience at Ginabelle, as follows:

Good: very central location - yet quiet in evening, good indoor pool (for children to play, not for swimming), nice reception area, friendly helpful staff, good views from apartment, nice towels and adequate kitchen.

Not so good: apartment dated and very "worn", cleaning could have been better, strange smell from bedsheet (until changed).

Overall we had an OK experience, but I had expected a more modern and clean apartment based on the website pictures, hotel rating and price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRR186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Many thanks for submitting your review following your stay at our Ginabelle residence. We're so glad you benefited from our centrally located residence and onsite facilities. We're happy that the kitchen also served you and your families needs. We wanted to personally reply to apologise for the upkeep and furnishings in the apartment. We're pleased to confirm parts of the result are scheduled for full refurbishment in the next year. We sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    178
    101
    35
    19
See reviews for
316
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I travelled with family, stayed in apartment 12 in "Flegere".The hotel was dirty, no toalet paper in apartments. The complex is OLD as everything in Chamonix and overpriced. The floors are very dirty in halls. Overall impression: BAD. Maybe worth for 2 stars. Becides, they charged my card after my stay and i do not even know for what. I am not satisfied at all. Be carefull - if you gave money to french people and want it back - THEY WILL NOT GIVE YOU THEM BACK, NEVER. I love-love-love ITALY!!!! Guys, trust me, in Italy everything is MUCH-MUCH-MORE better!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank horoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in Chamonix. We strive to improve our levels of cleanliness at every opportunity. In this instance we cannot apologise enough for the state of the rooms. Guests should be provided with toilet paper on arrival, and should then supply their own for the duration of their stay. Pierre & Vacances properties are self-catering residences, not hotels. A fee may have been placed on your card if the room was not left in a satisfactory condition. We urge you to get in touch with customer services to discuss this matter further. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Travelled with my wife and 2 girls aged 10 and 6. First of all it has to be one of the most beautiful places in Europe. Scenery is spectacular. The Hotel is quaint. It is clean and from what I could see it was one of the best in Chamonix (because of pool). There was no restaurant or Pub in the hotel which was a pity because the Foyer is quite nice. The staff were very friendly. Spoke English very well. The room was lovely. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the top floor with all facilities. there was an elevator which was kind of rickety. We spent alot of time in "Elevation 1904" a pub/ bar food. Couldn't really call it a restaurant but it was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was very cheap to eat there. There were cheap wine and cheap fizzy drinks for the kids. I thought it was a bit strange there were dogs every where. I found that Chamonix is a boutique town and alot of the main street restaurants could be expensive for their drinks. The food was relatively cheap in most restaurants but when you bought a drink you were ripped off. Don't ask me why because France outside of major cities is normally good value. The clothes shops were expensive but i did find a shop over by the Aguile du midi cable car very cheap with all the gear you needed. There was a small cabin across from the hotel that made chips and burgers. he was great also you could bringthem back to your room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadioCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

we spent 3 nights at the La Ginabelle last week and had a wonderful stay. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment and it was perfect for our family. The interiors of the apartments are just fine, not fancy but very comfortable. The public areas and hallways could use some new carpet but the facility is kept up nicely. The lobby is very nice and has a small toy corner that kept my kids (2 and 4) very happy!
The location can't be beat- across the street from the train station and steps from the pedestrian town center of Chamonix. Literally a 2 minute walk from the Montenvers train to go to the Mer de Glace. Chamonix is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Ginabelle! What a great value- we paid less than $500 (USD) for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Would definitely return!

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nfowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 5/6 people. 1 double bed, 2 singles and a large fold out sofa. Plenty of room, beautiful balconies and an extremely well equipped kitchen area. As a member of PV said the hotel is due for renovation work this year, it is not shabby but, yes requires a lick of paint. Car Park is only available for vehicles under 1.9 metres (Beware).
Staff extremely helpful and informative. Sometimes it is all to easy to be negative but i would like to say a huge thanks to the receptionist "Tanja Weck" (I hope that is right). She assisted us throughout our stay with little and large requests. Truly a delightful person and an asset to La Ginabelle. (Look after her)

Thank You for a enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snazzysnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Having read many reviews on numerous web-sites, I thought I’d offer some advice. We ski in Chamonix every year, and this was our first time at the Ginabelle, as our usual place was fully booked. Ok. Yes the rooms are small, but in comparison to some of the accomodation in most ski resorts, if you’ve ever stayed in some of the "excuses" for 3* then this is heaven-sent. My family and I do prefer 4-5* when we travel, but for a clean, suitable, convenient base in Chamonix this is great. The staff were great too. I have also seen comments about the price, and feel I must comment that if you find this expensive, then wait till you go into the Restaurants and Bars !! (typically a family meal for 4 can be 200+ sterling for an average meal, not to mention the 8.50 sterling a drink at the current exchange rate) If you want a good, clean, nice place, then this should be ideal. One point in its favour is that you are near the station and the Montevers bus stop. If you have not been to Chamonix before, there is every chance you will use the Buses to get around the valley. With the Montevers stop being both the start of the Bus route and close by, you will also stand a good chance of getting a seat on the Bus too. We enjoyed it, and hope you do. Chamonix is a great place for Skiers and non-skiers.

Depending on what day and time you arrive in chamonix, be aware that only a few of the supermarkets are open on Sunday, and many close at around 7pm weekdays. So if you are on one of the later flights, you will find it difficult to buy water etc until the early morning (unless you are in a hotel). We usually ask the mini-bus driver to stop at a service station en-route and buy water and nibbles etc there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6thDayBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The rooms are fine, the size is ok for 4 (in a 4-6) but the single beds in the second room are childrens beds and in no way fit for an adult male which makes for not a great nights sleep.

The chalet itself was clean and tidy and well decorate, a larger TV would have been nice given that we liked to stay in and cook a few times. The facilities i.e cooker and culterly was pretty poor, blunt knives, electric hob that didnt really work where particularly a pain, but these are relatively minor, but annoying points.

Swimming pool is very small and typically full of children which again was annoying, but the sauna and steam rooms were good, if again, very small, no more than 3 per room.

Most annoying was the terrible way we were shoved out of the hotel on the last day, Check out is ridiculous at 10:00, with no possiblity of extension, there was a real feel that we have had your money now you can leave, which is a shame as they were ok during the stay. Especially worse since we have to clean our own flat. Another issue was that there was no secure area to store luggage once we were kicked out.

Overall, given it was cheap, there isnt really much to complain about, you get what you pay for. Next time, I might save up for a place with a bigger bed!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Les Balcons Du Savoy
#25 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maeva Residence Le Chamois Blanc
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle

Property: Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle
Address: 29 Passage du Grepon, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic, typically Savoyard resortIdeally located in the heart of the resortA residence offering relaxation areas and 'Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle Hotel Chamonix
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence La Ginabelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing