We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel des Alpes
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Morgane(Chamonix)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Chamonix(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de l'Arve(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
341
78
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
78
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitemont blancloved this hotelelegant hotelnoisy at nightevery requesteach afternoonpedestrian zoneturn down servicebeautiful roomthe breakfast areanoise from the streetthe main streetmiddle of townthere is no air conditioningswimming poolreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had a room with creek and mountain view, and listened to the creek all night. Hotel is right in town, close to everything. Parking is underground and hard to find.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooly123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here as a treat after completing the TMB. Check in was poor and we were ignored whilst staff answered the phone several times in preference to attending to us. Our rooms were lovely but spoiled by the noise from the street (now 11.15pm and still going strong). Went to have a drink in the bar outside before going out for dinner and again was ignored and had to track someone down to order. The steam and sauna rooms were nice. Pool was small and cold and jacuzzi didn't work very well. All in all not one to recommend and glad to be leaving in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheGourmetVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was one of two hotels recommended to me by a friend who has a holiday home in Chamonix. Having looked on Tripadvisor at both, I decided to book this hotel.
Although expensive ( my bill for two rooms for three nights was approximately 2100 euros ), the hotel was perfectly situated in the centre of Chamonix & was exactly what I was looking for. The level of cleanliness was evident throughout the hotel ,
the staff were extremely helpful & friendly, & I would have no hesitation in staying here again.
A couple of things to be aware of;
1. My two sons had a beautiful suite at the front of the hotel overlooking the main square. At night it could be a little noisy with revellers - it was a particular problem in that there is no air-conditioning in the hotel & they needed to open a window to stay cool. I had a smaller room ( but still a reasonable size ) at the rear of the hotel which has fantastic views of Mont Blanc.
2. There is no restaurant but this is not a particular problem given the number of restaurants within a few minutes walk.
If you can afford to stay at this hotel then don't pass up the opportunity to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparky1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This was our second stay at the Grande Hotel des Alpes and if possible this time was better than the last. The staff were particularly pleasant and extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was extensive and always well catered. Rooms were maintained to an excellent standard - towels changed twice daily and the standard of cleanliness was superb. The only two minor comments would be that there is slight street noise from some rooms, so ask for a room at the back. Also, the swimming pool could really be larger. However, for comfort and location it is a beautiful and luxurious hotel - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choosycatEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

the hotel is located in the centre of chamonix so it's convenient to go out for dinner or a drink in the evening. The building is old but in the good way, it has an old time charm inside so one has to accept the slow elevator and small rooms that go with that kind of place. The reception is very friendly and helpful. In the afternoon, a buffet filled with cakes is at the guest's disposal. Breakfast is good, but I must say the service is not as friendly as at the reception. small detail. Just one thing, we had our room facing the street, and it can get noisy when drunk people sing in the middle of the night when passing by, you might want to choose a more quiet side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellePetiteChose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews