We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel at the center of the town with very friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating they help us with gondola tickets and made reservation at the great restaurant. Hotel and rooms are full of old world charm.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_frog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Laying on our bed, we could look out the window and see the top of a mountain. Amazing. And when the windows were open, we could hear the river rushing by below.

The room was large and clean and very, very comfortable. Unusually, the duvet seemed to be a lighter weight, so it was not uncomfortable to sleep under in the summer warmth.

The staff could not have been more friendly and professional. The location is ideal.

There are many areas -- the terrace at the rear, the lobby, the lounge, and the front patio to enjoy a drink and a generous selection of snacks. The breakfast buffet had many choices and all of them were fresh and delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macintosh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

What a great place to stay!

Right in the middle of town and all the action....and all the noise, which is evident if you leave your windows open and your room is on the front side of the hotel, so if you want quiet, ask for something on the back of the hotel....then you can open the windows and listen to the River Arve blasting by, which is quite pleasing.

We originally had a room on the first floor facing the square and it was a beautiful room but a little too noisey for us and I requested a change if possible. The hotel manager, Katia couldn't have been nicer and arranged for us to move the next day. She modified the price on the new room so while it would be a little more...it wouldn't be outrageous. Well, she moved us to room 600 which is at the top of the hotel (actually 700 is a little higher but also a little smaller and there were three of us travelling). The room was like having a chalet of our own for our visit and the decor was quite different from the original room. As it turns out, all the rooms are unique and different.

We loved the week we spend at the Grand. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and went out of their way to make the time we spent there special. Enjoy a drink in the back parlor or at a table overlooking the river and enjoy the surprising and tasty tidbits that come with it...or do the same in the seating area just outside the front door of the hotel.

If you are hungry and like a good breakfast, you won't find another one to match the one laid on by the Grand Hotel. At 20 euros it seems expensive, but not terribly bad when compared to ordering something similar outside of the hotel. The food however is just wonderful. Cereals, hot and cold, fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, eggs, sausages, bacon, yougart...you name it and they have it...and you can have as much as you like. Eat breakfast later and skip lunch and it turns out to be a bargain. The orange juice was fresh squeezed and worth the price of admission all by itself.

The beds were comfy, linens first rate and the cleaning staff was unbelievably good. They came in twice a day to clean up and replace towels, so it felt like we were coming into a new room everytime.

Now, not everything is perfect...the elevator, made nearby in Aosta, Italy seemed to have a personality of it's own. It was very slow...and it would forget to go to another floor after stopping at the first one...but once you understand that, it's no big deal. There is free wifi in the hotel but you'll find the rooms closer to the lobby will have the best signal, so they probably could/should add a repeater further up to improve the situation on higher floors.

The pool and hot tub on the lower level are just lovely and while we were there, were mostly empty, so we had them to ourselves. The steam rooms and sauna are also very nice and very hot, unlike ones we've experienced in other locations.

In the end though, it's the staff that makes this such a great place to stay in. Just ask them for any kind of assistance and they can't work too hard to make you happy.

This was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed in and we were sad to be leaving our friends at the Grand when it was time to go.

Room Tip: We never could figure out how to use the a/c in the room so we mostly left our windows open which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our five day stay at this hotel was enhanced by the friendly and accomodating staff. As family staying we had various needs including business tasks internationally. The staff at the front desk were accomodating and even took care of some stuff after we had left. They made reservations for dinner, got a discount on gondola lift passes, and were very friendly at breakfast. Their service was notable and should encourage future TA surfers to select this one when going to Chamonix.

Room Tip: view of the mountain, and river is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahanakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Wonderful staff, very nice hotel facility, in a great location.

Make sure you get a room on the south side (back side facing the river) of the hotel. The front court yard can be noisy at night.

The private parking garage can be a bit tricky to find.

Room Tip: Room 305 is a very nice room. 308 was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Des Alpes in Chaminox. It is a wonderful old hotel that is right smack dab in the middle of the historic district. It is close to all the resturants and the city center activities. Breakfast was good but not overly impressive. The tooms are somewhat old but comfortable. Nice Bathroom facilities but the bath tubs can be trickey getting into and out of for a shower. We are not over the hill but not a nimble pair of sixteen year olds either. It is a long step from the floor to the center of the tub and my wife had her foot slip on the tub floor which caused her to take a spill.
All in all this is a nice hotel with a lot of history and atmosphere. While it is old, they do a good job of making it comfortable. The best thing to be said about it is the wonderful location.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel might ba a little quieter than the one facing the street but then ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded on arrival to one of the top floor suites. We’ve stayed at this hotel before and it is as fabulous as we’d remembered it. The suite is sensational, but so much better than a room it seems unfair to go on about it.

The hotel pool and sauna / steam room were enjoyed again. The canapés available to all guests in the evening were also enjoyed. Chamonix is a lovely place to hang out, and was still looking good around Easter. They even managed to organise some new street level snow the day after we arrived.

Minor grumbles:

We couldn’t tell what was included / extra for our breakfasts (and my French is not good enough to ask) and so we just had cold.

Having to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KesG_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £171 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing