We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Chamonix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

You couldn't find a better location if you want to walk out your door into the midst of this charming town. The whole street has aromas of charcuterie. They have private parking (for a price). If you're arriving by car, be sure to have a map of how to get to the parking, otherwise you will never find it. Dark wood paneling gives the rooms a slightly gloomy look.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel des Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were in this hotel for two nights, and its location was really great and staffs were kind .
The only and really big problem was a sitting area in front of the hotel. Since the rooms didn't have the cooling system, we had to open the window to sleep on cool, and guess what? Drunk people came and sat in front of the hotel and laughed and talked with the loud voice in the midnights. So we had to choices, sleep in the hot room ( that was terrible) or open the window and listen to the drunk people (this was worst).
We tried both, but we cannot sleep well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vamegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Perfect place to stay in Chamonix. A lot of old world charm and elegance. Lovely tea in the lobby - don't miss it. Also nice to relax in the lobby and enjoy the big comfortable chairs. Our room was large with a lovely windows opening on a view of the mountains and the square. A bit expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ES442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a two week trip to France. We had been camping at Lac Annecy for the five nights before and arrived early at the hotel having dismantled our tent in the rain. The reception staff were extremely helpful and let us check in straight away and after directing us to the hotel's underground car park came to meet us helping with our luggage etc.
Our room was on the third floor and was completely delightful. A previous reviewer described the rooms as dated and I would have to totally disagree. Our room was wood panelled and the dark wooden furniture matched perfectly and was in keeping with the hotel. The bathroom was sumptuous too.
We didn't have breakfast during our stay, however we did use the spa and that was fabulous. We were the only people in the spa and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, sauna and steam room. And if you're looking for somewhere to enjoy a cocktail - we had a mojito in the bar which was one of e best we have had outside of Cuba.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GillyJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We used the hotel as our jump-off point and final landing for the 10 day Tour du Mont Blanc and loved it - luxury before and after our 170 km trek. We found the staff charming - warm and very helpful. They were kind enough to keep a bag for us, and then upgraded our room upon our return. It was stunning, with mountain views and the rushing river below.

Highly recommended - we would love to return.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LaBelleVieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a great hotel. It's big, it's old, it's full of opulent charm. The staff are incredibly helpful and multilingual. Our room was a little noisy above the street at night, but after a weeks hard walking in the Alps, we slept on regardless. It's a terrific location in the centre of town with proximity to all the restaurants and stores you may need. It's also very close to the station. If walking the 10-12 minute walk to the train or bus is either undesireable or unbearable with roller luggage on cobbles, the Hotel can arrange a chauffered car/unmarked taxi that'll only set you back a cheeky €15. I can also recommend the steam, sauna and spa facilities. They'll cure what ails you. Only downside is that for the price, one would expect a breakfast included. I'd say the €20 extra for breakfast is to accommodate for the hyper-gourmande American tourists, who would likely strip bare the buffet, should the words 'gratuit' and 'petit-dejeuner' be floated anywhere near one another.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lachlan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating they help us with gondola tickets and made reservation at the great restaurant. Hotel and rooms are full of old world charm.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_frog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £113 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing