We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Service”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here before and after the Tour Du MT. Blanc. The rooms are good size and nice. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast every morning on the terrace was not only tasty and satisfying, but the views were breath taking.

The front desk staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are much quieter then the ones facing the street. We stay in both rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    73
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
182
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burley, Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of the Tour Du Mont Blanc. Each time the service was impeccable and my rooms were immaculate and very well appointed. My reservations were made by travel agent and the agent called this "the best hotel in Chamonix." They were quite correct. It is quite expensive in peak season but I was a bit early so saved some there. But really, if you're on a budget, this is not the place. If you want real, old-world comfort and service then this is worth every Euro it costs. I enjoyed both stays. The breakfast they offer was the best I had in a month in Europe. There is a very comfortable parlor attached to the lobby which was a great place to relax with a drink and write postcards. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I was there twice. Each room seems unique and both were very well appointed. Ask for a tub...it feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel was amazing. Upon entering we were skeptical and worried. We were unable to enter the garage, and upon entering, was less then happy with the surroundings. Nonetheless, when we called the front desk they were very responsive and pleasant. This gracious manner remained throughout our visit. Our room was very clean, the staff was very helpful and accommodating, and the food/drink was wonderful. The setting for the hotel could not be beat...right in the center of town. In addition, there was a beautiful private terrace at the foot of the river with spectacular views. The only downfall, the rooms do not have air-conditioning (however, we did not find this an issue even during our visit in August). We hope to bring our kids back soon.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chizandpidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vught, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

To round off a wonderful summer holiday we decided to indulge for a few days and chose to stay at the Grand Hotel des Alpes in Chamonix. We had a few problems finding the hotel but luckily the concierge (I think his name was Laurent) guided us in. As a family of four, we decided to stay in the tower room. On entering the room, we were blown away. It was a beautiful room with bags of space. The furniture was what you'd hope to expect from a hotel in Chamonix, a lovely cosy alpine feel. There was a jacuzzi bath in one corner and a cosy little seat at the other end where you could look out directly at the Aiguille du midi! Stunning. There was also a complimentary bottle of Taittinger and fruit bowl!! We had breakfast at the hotel only once as we preferred to pick up a croissant while walking around Chamonix, we ate it on the sunny terrace looking up at the mountains. The breakfast was very good and they even had mars bars and snickers bars to take away. We also had cocktails at the outside seating area on the shopping street which was very enjoyable, sipping a cocktail while watching the world go by. There isn't a restaurant on site but there is a huge choice on your doorstep!
All in all we had a lovely stay, the staff were helpful and friendly and our children were made to feel very welcome too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyMcCluney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I normally stay in the 'cheap seats' when skiing in this area with the lads, but I managed to convince my wife to come here for wedding anniversary. Expensive hotel but it delivers. We loved it. No restaurant but you are right in the middle of Chamonix so you don't need one, they will book you anywhere you want. Chamonix is great for bars, restaurants and live music. Give breakfast a miss unless you are made of money, just walk out of the hotel and get something nearby, better and cheaper!. Parking costs but is great, service is great. Lift is slow! Bar is expensive (top tip; champagne by the glass was better value than wine as they were bigger glasses); Same advice, just go out, that is why you have got a hotel in the centre of town! You can travel in the valley by ski bus but I prefer the car. You can day-trip ski to anywhere from Chamonix, Verbier, Cormayeur, Megeve, Les Gets etc!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel is located right on the rushing stream with killer views of the ice and snow capped mountains. The room was cozy, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom spacious. We were there when it was very hot so the only downside was the lack of air conditioning and the inability for air to flow through the room. We just couldn't get cool at night even with the door open to raging stream below. I am sure 90% of the time AC isn't needed, but it would have been nice. The staff were helpful, the lobby was spacious with wifi throughout. The hotel was convenient to restaurants, shops and the gondolas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegaspali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for a short skiing break in March 2013. It was a great choice, although not cheap. However, you're in Chamonix, and this isn't a cheap town!

We went for the Brevent room, and had a mountain view. The alternative was the river view. They keep the place really clean and well maintained. We had a slight problem, and they changed us over with no fuss. The bed was very comfortable.

They provide breakfast in the morning, and you can pretty much have whatever you desire. You could take fruit, chocolates, and whatever else to fill your self with.

In the afternoon in the main foyer they provide a selection of light cakes and treats with tea/coffee. I thought this was a lovely touch.

They have an onsite massage room, sauna and hot pool. My wife and I both had massages and they were a great way to relax.

The only thing you can't help is that you're on the main street, so late at night you hear everything going on outside.

There were plenty of families staying here, so am sure if we brought our kids they'd have enjoyed it.

I love that they provide free DVDs for you to watch in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SukhPabial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Property: Grand Hotel des Alpes
Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing