We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Merci beaucoup!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Merci beaucoup!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Superb three nights at Grand hotel des Alps. We could not have wished for more. Special thanks to the Monsieur at the breakfast, who was a true service master and Katia at the reception, who is a pure jewel :)! Cheers from Finland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    74
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
98
196
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent six nights in the Grand Hotel and had a faboulous experience. We were traveling with a group of 40 business execs and their spouses. My spouse and I were one of the fortunate ones to score a suite on the first floor, which provided us ample room to spend the week. The rooms were old world, which is what we love and the service was exceptional. Towel service twice daily. The staff was excellent throughout the facilty. The breakfast staff was very attentive, especially if you were on a tight timeframe. Enjoyed the afternoon tea a couple of times as well.

Location in the center of town was fanstastic for shopping and dinners. The access to the skiing was adequate. You have to gear up and then walk out the back for 100 meters or so to get your transportation.

All in all the staff and facilty made for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: If you are looking for extra quiet, I would ask for a room toward the river instead of the front str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armstrong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We are checking out tomorrow and are so relieved that we chose to stay at this hotel. The staff are very helpful, friendly and always greet you with a smile. The rooms, reception and lobby are so authentic. The afternoon tea adds such a wonderful touch to this beautiful hotel, you can grab a few treats, order a drink and sit back in their lovely lounge with a book. After a long day of skiing we enjoyed the swimming pool, spa and sauna which is an incredibly beautiful and relaxing area to unwind. We will be back and will recommend this hotel to our family and friends. I also should add that the location is hard to beat, right in the centre of the old town - close to everything and a couple of minutes drive away from the slopes (parking at the hotel is private and easily accessible).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

just came back from spending 4 magical days at Grand Hotel des Alpes.

we came to Chamonix for a ski trip, and the stay at this hotel made the experience perfect.

even before we arrived, everyone was so helpful, answered our emails 24 ours a day, answering to any questions and helping in any way they could.

the location is great, in Chamonix center, nest to all the great restaurants and shops, and just a few minutes walk from the ski buss station - Chamonix central which goes anywhere and to every ski area.

the breakfast is excellent! and there is a nice buffet every afternoon and evening.
the swimming pool area is great, especially after a long day of skiing. everything is clean and comfortable.

we were 4 people, and stayed at the "old tour suit", which is amazing! beautiful room with everything you want and need.

lovely staff, great service, it would be hard to think of skiing anywhere else after this trip.

highly recommended!!

- D family -

Room Tip: the old tour suit is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Loved this hotel, the room was spacious with balcony overlooking the river, and panoramic mountain views as well. The staff was helpful/friendly and had great recommendations as far as dining. The pool was small but certainly large enough to enjoy, along with the jacuzzi and sauna. Had a great massage on site. The hotel is tastefully decorated, centrally located and noise was never an issue for us (although our room was riverside not street side). An absolutely wonderful place to stay, cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I tried last minute booking via hotel search engine. But none available. Check the few hotels and emailing them for last minute availability (3 days before going there). Hotel Gran Des Alpes the first to reply. Stayed in double room, Brevant view. Exactly Room 503. All booking made and confirm within 3 hours. The receptionist kind to explain and show everything in hotel. Hotel located close to supermarket. Can get fruits, juices and water from there. The room is still spacious even with baby-cot inside. It is at very central location. There is evening snack available at lobby. We nibble on the way out to dinner. Didn't use the swimming pool and sauna. Didn't take the breakfast either. Safety deposit and wifi are free. Wifi no restriction to number of devices. No kettle though in the room. Mini Bar selection is appealing but didn't take any. Room temperature is easier to control.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 503, view of the Brevent ski lift. Left of the hotel entrance to Aguile De Midi, Righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habanawawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing. It had this old school charm that I have not really experienced given that I generally travel in Asia which is all about modernity and clean lines. While I enjoyed this, my mother was not so keen on how rustic it was with the wooden panelling etc. The bathrooms were modern though, which I enjoyed.

Further, the staff is extremely accommodating and were super friendly, ready to answer all questions as it was our first time in Chamonix. THe hotel is also VERY centrally located in the main town and it is easy to walk around (though I suppose the town is very small so you could walk anywhere really). It is also right opposite the ski store where guests get a 10% discount so returning gear/ getting gear is very easy.

The pool is small but the sauna + jacuzzi is more than enough for some after ski rest and relaxation. They also provide some Charcuterie and sweet nibbles from approx 4 -6 to cater to after skiing hunger. Everything served was delicious! I personally did not try the breakfast but given that I had ski lessons starting at 9 everyday it was far easier for me to run down to the many pastry shops down the road which had AMAZING pastries and grab a bite on the go.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolecatherineng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Property: Grand Hotel des Alpes
Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing