We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in the mountains”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent three nights before and after a hike in the Alps and loved this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, it is in the center of everything, the service was terrific, delicious breakfast. Outstanding option. You do need to request a room on the river to avoid the street noise.

Room Tip: insist on a river front room to be quiet. Suites on the top floor are awesome if you can get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    74
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
193
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I couldn't fault the hotel itself. Beautiful building, generous size rooms, lovely decor, great staff. The bedding was a little unusual with individual duvets on a double bed. The main problem was the noise at night from people coming back from bars which wakes you up. If the weather is hot, you need the windows open (there is no air-con). I guess the rooms at the back of the hotel won't have this problem although I don't know how close the river is. Obviously this won't be a problem in winter.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DocDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our two day stay, July 3 & 4th, 2014 was a real treat. The entire experience was Grand without being pretentious. The Hotel and Room was beautifully wood paneled, relaxing view of the river, spacious bath and shower, and above all friendly Staff. Francesca and her staff were always helpful and available. When we booked, this Hotel was rated#1 on Tripadvisor in its category, well, you're absolutely right. A First Rate Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrstaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Top notch would sum it up best. This place exceeded expectations on every front. Great room, lovely view (we were facing the plaza, our friends had a room facing the mountains, so just specific which you want). Very well appointed breakfast included. Location is as center of the walking district as you could possibly ask for. 5 minute walk to Monte Blanc gondola. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CRG-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I couldn't get over how perfect this hotel is. We stayed here for two nights and they think of everything. The steam room/sauna/hot tub/pool is fantastic. The room was clean, cozy, quiet and had everything you need. The best part of the hotel is the staff. They are very friendly and willing to help with anything. We were given great restaurant recommendations. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We found this hotel by chance. We walked down the pedestrian area in Chamonix and decided to stay for a night in this small town. We walked in the reception and asked for a room. Jérôme made us an interesting offer and guided us to 4 rooms, to have a look at the different categories. We decided to stay, to rooms were very nice, the situation quiet and the whole staff very sympathic. I'm speaking french, but I noticed that the reception staff speaks an excellent English, which is not so common in France.

The bed was very comfortable, we had a view to the river. It was very, very clean. The only negative point was, it was very hot in the room. You could not sleep without letting the window open (it was exceptionnally hot in Chamonix, they had 28 °C when we arrived). The rooms are cosy with wooden panels.

The have a parking garage, they show it on a map an then one member of the staff waits for you at the bridge before the garage and guides you into your parking lot and to the reception.

The breakfast terrasse in the garden was beautiful, beside the river. We did have breakfast at one of the pâtisseries, in France it is so easy to have a wonderful croissant and a french coffee outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were looking for a hotel with swimming pool. Grand Hotel des Alpes was our choice because of location in the very heart of Chamonix, good reviews from most visitors and very atractive price. When we arrived, there were no doubts, location was perfekt. The staff was very friendly. Room was moderate, but well kept. We did not try even breakfast at the hotel (I believe the meals are also very good), because we are not "hungry eaters" and price for breakfast would be surely overpriced. What we enjoyed most was the swimming pool, which is rather small, but absolutely sufficient, taking into consideration that we were using it alone.

Room Tip: Only problem was noisy walking street below our window. Each night starting from 23:30 up to 1:30 th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisLatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#11 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Property: Grand Hotel des Alpes
Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing