We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be one of the nicest hotels in France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“This must be one of the nicest hotels in France”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Chamonix is a beautiful town and this hotel is set right in the middle of it. As instructed we approached it via the Rue Payat where the garage is. Unfortunately we were at the wrong end and had some difficulty finding it. We rang up and spoke to Francesca who came out to find us, showed us where to park in the garage, and took us and all our luggage to our room. There she showed us how everything worked, advised about restaurants and where to find the railway to see Mount Blanc. We stayed 3 days and fortunately she came on duty each one at 1130. It seems though that the other staff were as good.

Our room (409) had a lovely mountain view on two sides. The ceiling and walls had attractive wood panelling which made the room a trifle dim as the lighting was not great. The room was well equipped with a large bathroom with bath tub, towelling robes, slippers, proper hangars, glass glasses and free wiFi. The bed was large and comfortable.

Why only four stars then? This is because there is no air conditioning. It is true the temperature in Chamonix is not always as hot as the rest of France but it is quite variable and sometimes during the day and one night the room became uncomfortably hot. This is an expensive luxurious hotel and in my opinion air conditioning is essential.

By the way Chamonix is stunning and well worth a few days' stop on the way home from a sea side holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    75
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
98
197
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Location - right in the middle of town, very easy access to anywhere in Chamonix.

Room - tiny but reasonably well appointed. We were slightly disappointed not to have a clear line of sight of Mt Blanc and the Glacier des Bossons as it was our first visit, but not a big issue.

Service - all the staff were great. The ladies at the front desk were very knowledgeable and always happy to help. The staff at the bar and in the breakfast room were so friendly.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who likes a conveniently located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenChan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In mid August my wife and I stayed for three nights in Room 405. The room was extremely well appointed and the bedding was comfortable. The room had a lovely terrrace that overlooked the river and had a wonderful view of Mt. Blanc and Les Bossons Glacier. Maid service was meticulous and included evening turn-down service. The front desk staff was uniformly professional. In particular, Jerome, who I believe was the senior front desk manager, was consummately gracious in making us feel welcome upon check in and in subsequently checking with us to see that our stay was going well. He also helped us greatly in planning our day hikes so we could make the most of our limited time. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi on the hotel's ground floor were well maintained. (We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, opting instead to sample several of the town's patisseries.)

If we return to Chamonix, it's a no brainer that we will stay again at Grand Hotel des Alpes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent three nights before and after a hike in the Alps and loved this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, it is in the center of everything, the service was terrific, delicious breakfast. Outstanding option. You do need to request a room on the river to avoid the street noise.

Room Tip: insist on a river front room to be quiet. Suites on the top floor are awesome if you can get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I couldn't fault the hotel itself. Beautiful building, generous size rooms, lovely decor, great staff. The bedding was a little unusual with individual duvets on a double bed. The main problem was the noise at night from people coming back from bars which wakes you up. If the weather is hot, you need the windows open (there is no air-con). I guess the rooms at the back of the hotel won't have this problem although I don't know how close the river is. Obviously this won't be a problem in winter.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DocDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our two day stay, July 3 & 4th, 2014 was a real treat. The entire experience was Grand without being pretentious. The Hotel and Room was beautifully wood paneled, relaxing view of the river, spacious bath and shower, and above all friendly Staff. Francesca and her staff were always helpful and available. When we booked, this Hotel was rated#1 on Tripadvisor in its category, well, you're absolutely right. A First Rate Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrstaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Top notch would sum it up best. This place exceeded expectations on every front. Great room, lovely view (we were facing the plaza, our friends had a room facing the mountains, so just specific which you want). Very well appointed breakfast included. Location is as center of the walking district as you could possibly ask for. 5 minute walk to Monte Blanc gondola. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CRG-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Alpes

Property: Grand Hotel des Alpes
Address: 75 rue du Docteur Paccard | Private Garage 131, Rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing