We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I've just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful (booking us a restaurant on one night and recommending ski runs etc). Room was clean and looked recently redecorated but with a traditional alpine feel - which is what I like when I am in an alpine resort. Our standard twin room had a balcony with beautiful view of the river and mountains and although it was fairly small there was still plenty of room for all our things. There was a good selection of foods at breakfast including hot eggs and bacon (which is uncommon in a mountain hotel like this) as well as the usual bread, cheese and meats, cereal etc.

If i was being picky the only critiscisms i would have is that it is about a 5 min walk to the nearest bus stop and when you are in all your ski gear this is a bit of an effort and the boot room is downstairs which makes it tricky to get in and out when wearing ski boots!

I would definitely stay here again if i returned to Chamonix!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smansog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
32
55
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great hospitality, especially from Marie behind the front desk.

We got in early but they were able to get us into our rooms quickly.

Breakfast closed at 10, but we arrived at 9:45 and they still served fresh eggs for us.

After we checked out, we asked if we could leave our bags there for the day while we skied. Marie said yes, and even offered to let us shower at the end of the day even when we would not be staying there that night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, typically the ones on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

This place is ok, and that's it . breakfast good hotel clean and that's it.
Internet so slow you can't run Skype 510KBPS.
Bar prices example 8.50 for a shot of whiskey
bottle beer 6.50 .
so like I said over priced with the slowest Internet I've used ever( and they charge )

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is well situated in the middle of Chamonix but down a quieter street and on the river. It didn't start off too well as we had to wait an hour and a half (until 6pm) for the room to be ready. We were already a bit tired from the heat and the town was crowded (Sunday afternoon). The room was nicely furnished though and we had a view of Mont Blanc and the rushing river, which is the only noise at night. However, it is definitely on the small side. Breakfast is very good. The receptionist wasn't very friendly - maybe they he was sick of English-speaking tourists? The hotel is good though. There is a good lounge and the first hour of Wi-Fi is free. The pool is also handy after a long hot day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_S90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Cloud, Fl
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is ideally located so you can walk everywhere and especially to Dr Paccard street which becomes a pedestrian way in the evenings. There's a big grocery store there plus the great restaurant Bivouac. They make a really great salad. The only negative thing is that they insist you pay for breakfast but it is not very good. The room is so cheap, you can afford to go out to breakfast. They were very nice about opening the breakfast room really early so we could catch our train. It's an easy walk to the train station. There are several train stops and this one was not the main station but all of the trains stop at every station.

Room Tip: Definitely reserve a superior room with a balcony, the room & the bathroom are bigger and probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Charming, great vibe, very relaxing, comfortable hotel. Perfect with or without kids. Very friendly and helpful staff....also an adorable dog. Very centrally located but away from the crowds. Nice place to have a drink and watch the Olympics or play chess in front room. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizab P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We really loved this hotel. We stayed in room 209, which had a balcony looking out uninterrupted onto Mont Blanc. Coming back after skiing and having a shower and a nap with the curtains open looking at that magnificent view was incredible.
The staff were really friendly. It's all the little touches: letting us leave the bags while we waited for check-in or for airport transfer; we ordered two drinks at the bar, mentioned we were going to take them up to the room, and they offered to bring them up; they suggested that instead of paying too much for lunch in the resorts, we make up some sandwiches from the breakfast buffet; after we had checked out but came back after a quick ski, they offered to fetch us some towels in case we wanted a shower (we had checked out 4 hours before!); restaurant recommendations, even a booking made for us one night, travel advice, and so on, nothing was too much trouble.
Placed in central Chamonix, really close to the bus stop to all resorts, 1min walk from all the bars and restaurants, nevertheless it was quiet and restful.
Wifi was free, albeit for one hour's access, we used it for all 5 days, at a cost of 3€!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#25 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#32 of 73 in Chamonix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gourmets et Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gourmets et Italy

Property: Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Address: 96 rue du Lyret, 7400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gourmets et Italy 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gourmets et Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gourmets Et Italy Chamonix
Gourmets Et Italy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing