We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Nearby Hotels
Hotel l'Heliopic(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Faucigny(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Morgane(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Refuge des Aiglons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Arve(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$328
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
56
83
35
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
83
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomski roomthe free buffet breakfasttandem parkingrecommend this hotelmont blancrushing riverskiing weekendnice bathroomski buscentral chamonixrestaurant recommendationshotel is locatedminute walk from the hotelwifi is freetop floorlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We stayed a total of 5 nights at this hotel, 1 at the beginning of our holiday and then 4 towards the end. The fist night was spent in a small pokey room ( all that was left) but was reflected in the price. The next day on viewing other rooms higher up on the side of the hotel facing Mont Blanc, we booked one of these rooms for later in our trip. (room 305) These rooms had been renovated with great bathrooms and had amazing views. Christine on reception was a fantastic help and if she hadn't shown us the other rooms we wouldn't have come back to stay at the hotel. We found her extremely helpful with information and a real asset to the hotel.
The breakfasts were also extremely good compared to hotels in Italy and Switzerland we had also stayed at on this trip, eggs, pastries, rolls, cheeses, ham, cereals, good coffee. We found the hotel good value for money and would definately recommend staying in one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hertstraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Hotel Gourmets et Italy was very interesting to say the least. The hotel is in a good location. When we arrived the room was not ready and we had to be moved to another hotel across town. When the room was ready we had to wait hours for our luggage to be transported back.
The service was very average, and the lady on reception Sophie was difficult at times and customer service was definitely not a priority. Rooms had a great view, and ok size with a lovely balcony, although the toilet didn’t flush and the TV didn’t work. The breakfast was basic, yet cheeses were yummy.
The restaurant next door the Italian one was BRILLIANT and Alan Peru was magnificent!

Stayed: January 2008
Thank Pro-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We, the whole family, wish to thank the crew of the HGI in Chamonix for the warm welcome and perfect service. We felt so good during our stay in your lovely hotel. One can say that Chamonix is like the paradise when the sun is shining and the flowers are all around.

Christine and the rest of the team: keep doing that fantastic job!

Thank you once again
Robert
P.S. that you for the hint. We took the recommended road by Michelin to Nice and saw the wonders of the Provence! Awesome experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roberto5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My husband and I had reservations at a hotel down the street for one night at the beginning and one night at the end of our trip. The first hotel called before we left the States to say there was a problem wit the second night's stay and did we mind if they make a reservation at another nearby hotel - the Hotel Gourmet et Italy. We were assured the HGI would give us our room for the same price as the first hotel, even though it is rated a star higher. They did. Christine was very helpful and kind. She speaks French, obviously, and good English if you are so inclined. Christine not only gave us a room for the same price as our first hotel, but also a room overlooking both Mont Blanc and the River L'Arve.
The nights were quiet as most people are sleeping after a hard day of hiking, rock climbing, etc. and the hotel is on a short side street, so there is not much car or foot traffic to bother you. It is about 5 minutes from anything you could possibly want to see or do so is very convenient. We had a balcony and a good sized, newly renovated bathroom. Christine was quick to ask if our accomodations were up to snuff - they were! The breakfast room is cozy, yet roomy, part of which overlooks the river. The breakfast also included eggs (scrambled or boiled), lots of yummy pastries, yogurts, cereals, fruit and good strong European cafe. There is internet access at the hotel for a small sum. Christine will offer to make calls to area restaurants, or businesses for you if you don't feel up to the French phone system. There was a TV and a phone in our room, which we never used since we like to be truly "out of touch" while on vacation. But it was there if you needed it.
The one draw back for us was that the main parlor/lounge area just off the lobby was where all the smokers went and we are not fond of cigarette smoke. However, no one smoked in the eating areas, so it wasn't that bad. You just noticed the smoke primarily when you walked through the lobby. However, France is allegedly going to no smoking in any (public?) buildings very soon, so it should be a non-issue. The room was smoke free!
This is also, as is most of France, a dog friendly hotel, so if you are allergic to dogs or just don't like them, I'd stay somewhere else.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again and give it overall a high recommendation!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 4deckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

My wife and I stayed three nights (June 17-19) several weeks ago at this small hotel in Chamonix. We were one of the first guests to arrive after their ski season and receievd "red carpet " treatment. The manager, Christine, gave us a woderful room looking directly on to Mount Blanc. The hotel is small and cozy and gave both of us the impression we were staying at a private club. The rooms sparkled , the window flowers bloomed, the breakfasts were ample and delicious and the breakfast room/patio overlooking the river was a pleasant, cool retreat. Cristine helped us untangle, cancel and reorganize the balance of our trip in southern France thus saving us at least a full day of transportation hassles. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the train station and all the shops in the central business district. We'll stay at this hotel again and again.

Buck & Lynne Ramsey, Rancho Santa fe, California

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hummingbird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews