We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depresssing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Depresssing”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Booked a 5 night stay at hotel gourmets et Italy, chamonis, france for sking holiday january 2010.......packed up and left after 3 nights....the room was classed as double superior but was dark and depressing and not big enouigh for single person let alone 2 persons......ski storage was advertised has heated,,,,,,but was in basement area and very cold.....was charged for 5 nights breakfast...even though i did not book breakfast and left aftre 3 nights....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    68
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
32
55
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We were booked in to two rooms but the family could not stand the smell of the dogs.
We have three dogs ourselves but the dogs here were dirty and peeed everywhere and worse. Had to blame DOGS for bad asthma to get a refund.
Hear it has been refurbisehed but I bet the owners dogs are still in situ.
Would never set foot in place again till owner leaves with his dogs!
Good location and skiing ace - as is night life.

Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This review is a little later but I use this site all the time to help me book holidays so thought it was important that I returned the favour. Bear with me as it is a little detailed.

A group of 4 of us booked to stay at this place for Christmas/ New Years last year, 2008/ 2009. Some of our group came from Australia and some from the US and we had been planning this trip for a long time and had spent considerable time choosing our accommodation. However when we arrived we found the hotel literally under renovation/ construction. Walking into the hotel we had to step over rolled up carpets, furniture, beds, mattresses tools and the like along with tradesman and the constant sound of construction going on. When we checked in the receptionist did not even apologise or comment on the state of the hotel but rather just offered to show us to our rooms. At this stage we thought that maybe they would finish the work that day so we would see how we went. As we were showed to our rooms the hotel got worse. Upstairs it was a shambles. We originally couldn't even get into the lift with our bags because of furniture being moved about. When they showed us to our rooms some of them didn't even have handles on the doors and there were sawdust and wood shavings on the carpet and building material everywhere.

Needless to say we returned to reception and complained and asked to speak with the manager. He initially refused to speak with us but after some time he came down to reception. He advised that we had arrived on the first day the hotel was re opened and that they had been delayed in their building and that it would take a few more days. We queried as to why we had not been contacted about this so as to allow us the opportunity to review our accommodation choice. No real response was given. We advised that we were not happy with the state of the hotel and that we were intending to look for somewhere else to stay. We then spent the first day of our cherished holiday searching the town of Chamonix for some alternative accommodation - which was not easy at this time of year!! Bottom line we found available places however on returning to the hotel he advised us that he would not refund us the full amount of our stay because the hotel is essentially ready for visitors and that it would definately be fully completed in 2 days. After many heated discussions he agreed to allowing us a refund of the first 4 nights away from the hotel and then we would have to return for the last 5 nights. We obviously would have preferred to stay in the 1 place for the whole holiday but he refused to allow us the full refund and because he had our credit card details we had no choice in the matter.

The state of the hotel and the behaviour of this manager was absolutely appalling and I would honestly suggest people do not visit this hotel as clearly looking after their customers is not high on their priority.

Even if the hotel was fully working when we arrived I still would not recommend it. The rooms are really small and stuffy and during the stay one of our rooms had a major water heater leak which made the room smell musty. The storage rooms for skis etc was entered via the side of the hotel where the cars parked. There is hardly any room to get between the cars let alone when you are walking in ski boots holding skis and stocks. It is also a fair walk to the bus stop which takes you to the ski fields.

Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This hotel is in a great central location and just 5min walk to the ski bus.
The lobby areas are quite pleasant but seem to have that old fashioned smell to them (i do have a keen sense of smell ) and was worried the rooms would be the same.
We booked a superior room which was ok but quite small - the bathroom was really nice clean and quite modern which didnt really match the room as it was more dated.
We asked to be upgraded and they showed us the top floor rooms - they are really VERY nice and would not look out of place in a trendy 4* and were only e20 extra per night.
The upgrade is a must here.
We booked B&B but the dining area is absolutley awful - really dated tired and just not nice - the breakfast is shocking - coffee from a machine, dry bread, jam, few paks of cereal, out of date yogurts all just plonked on a table - no waiters just the cleaning lady in her overalls to re-set the table. To top the whole thing off they have 2 dogs (which I dont really mind) but one of them is really old and has the most digusting growths on its legs which I could'nt really stomach looking at whilst trying to force any food down. - sorry Im a dog lover but...
The ski room is just a cold damp cellar with a bench.
We generally liked the hotel - mainly because the room was so nice - but be VERY VERY careful as when we tried to check out they tried to overcharge us by e260.
We booked through a reputable web site and was quoted for B&B but the hotel tried to charge us the normal tarrif and e29 per day for breakfast.
As we left at 8am the manager was not there but had left it for the night watchman to do who could not speak any english . I refused to pay the full amount especially as he had our file out which clearly showed our booking price but agreed to pay some which was still e70 more but our transport had arrived by then

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casealwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Clean, tidy and good location.

2* quality.

A bit pricey, but it is central Chamonix.

It was handy to have car parking on site.

The main gripe was that breakfast was foisted upon us and was not optional. At €14, this was steep for the usual eggs, jam, bread, ham and cheese continental thingy. For that price, I want eggs benedict or something a bit more special - even a mcmuffin!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paying for breakfast that I didn't want
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VespaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Despite the hotel looked lovely at the start, the 2nd day money (200 euro) was stolen from our hotel room. (Ofcourse we should have known better and never leave valuables in your room, but we where trust giving (and dumb) and where going to ski Vallee Blanche so didn't want to carry all around.)
For so far no major issue, these things happen.
The bad thing was the reaction of the management, being extremely defensive.
1. "If you travel around the world, you know this happens"
2. "You should have left it at reception" (they happen to have a safe)
3. "I trust my staff"
4. "We have so many people claiming stuff, you could tell me you had one million euro's in your room...."

I was absolutely astonished... Being told off where I at least would have expected some sympathy and some sort of feeling responsible what happens in your own hotel (I talked to the owner Mr Eric Pantalacci). I didn't ask the money back, I just reported a theft in his hotel...
He even walked away from our (absolutely decent) discussion. I asked him what I should do if he didn't want to take it up seriously, go to the police? He told me to do so, so that's what we did.
(Police, who were extremely friendly, did go along to talk to the staff).
He talked to his staff next day (after asking him several times), the result was that it couldn't have been the staff since they where not allowed to look in drawers. Right.
If you need to go here, really do watch your belongings.... Especially reaction no. 4 gave us the feeling more goes missing in this place (the manager said himself that you even have to leave your camera at the reception, for so far trusting your own staff).

  • Liked — NA
  • Disliked — Managment - Theft from rooms - Service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Koen_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Charming hotel with small, but nice comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Great views of mountains and glaciers. Loved the sound of the roaring river right by the hotel. Christine at the front desk was very kind and helpful -- thank you!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiker060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#25 of 73 in Chamonix
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
Park Hotel Suisse & Spa
#32 of 73 in Chamonix
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gourmets et Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gourmets et Italy

Property: Hotel Gourmets et Italy
Address: 96 rue du Lyret, 7400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gourmets et Italy 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gourmets et Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gourmets Et Italy Chamonix
Gourmets Et Italy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing