We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advanced week March 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cold Fusion Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cold Fusion Chalets
Ranked #1 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Advanced week March 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent holiday with cold fusion, a perfect way to go skiing for single travellers. A great atmosphere.

Advanced week - we were skiing in groups of 5; 3 days off-piste with mountain guides - a great skiing experience.

Food and wine great. The staff attitude fantastic.

I read a comment on Dawn that she may have been a little 'grumpy' in the past - my feeling is that she works very hard… Anyone could be a little grumpy if worked so hard. She was so helpful - assisted me with finding my phone, everyday was giving useful advice where to ski; even helped me choosing a right ski boot fitting shop, arranged an appointment and gave me a lift! Thanks Dawn!

So I highly recommend ColdFusion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    24
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
1
212
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I could write volumes. The food is out of this world, the hospitality is beyond what I expected, the facilities are perfect, the entertainments by the chefs made the holiday for me (brownies thankyou). The trips were organised and executed professionally. Even the small touches like help yourself to cake and tea after the slopes makes all the difference to a warn out snowboarder. The jacuzzi hot tub with a beer chatting to the other guests was just perfect. I felt at home within minutes and will DEFINITELY go again next year if not before. Thanks guys for an awesome week.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

What more can I say except.... The food was fantastic (it was a good thing that we skied hard); transfers were EASY; the staff was friendly and accommodating and; for a solo traveller, it was great. I used Trip Advisor and the earlier reviews were accurate! First time to Chamonix, so this was perfect. Jackson Hole is one of my other "homes," and the terrain at Chamonix amazed me. We had guides for 3 days for Off Piste adventures. What fun! This place is HUGE!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had the most amazing week ever with cold fusion! As my first snowboard holiday i was nervous about the skiing itself also travelling as a solo traveller. However, from the moment i walked into the chalet i felt at home and knew this was going to be an awesome week after meeting one of the hosts, sam. She and George (brownie) couldn't have been more accommodating. Anything you want, its done, with a genuine smile. Not to mention the food! After having seconds and thirds every night i got to know that the food was the best I've ever had in any accommodation in any hotel. Beautiful 3 course meal every night! And if there is something you're not too sure of (spicy etc) they'll make sure you'll have a great alternative.

One of my main nervs before i went was my age. I thought i'd be way younger than everyone there but even though i was the youngest, it really didn't matter! Everyone is like minded and every person in the chalet was lovely! :)

They also made your days as easy as possible. There are two vans that will drive you to the piste you want every morning and pick you up at the end of the day. There was never a moment that i struggled to get where i wanted, it was fab! The hosts local knowledge was very helpful too as they'd be able to recommend the best piste for the conditions! Very handy!

I know it sounds crazy but i cant see any (even tiny weeny) negatives about this place. Everyone is great and I'd recommend it to anyone, of any age!

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in chalet 2. i had a brilliant nights sleep every night, it was never noisy etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just back from a great week in chamonix. Very impressed the organisation from Cold Fusion, very slick from booking to airport transfer to ski. I was on the beginners progression week. The lessons were really good and my skiing certainly improved as a result. Our ski instructor - Sebastian was excellent with a really good teaching style and very friendly, collection for lessons was prompt and it was great fun and he pushed us just the right amount.

The chalet was reasonably comfortable if basic and the hot tub a very welcome addition at the end of each day. Our chalet hosts - the Brownies were hilarious and full of boundless, infectious enthusiasm. They related really well to the guests both as a group and on an individual basis and they can cook for me anytime - food was brilliant! They really went above and beyond - nothing was too much trouble. They rather made up for the fact that the main organiser for both chalets was somewhat less friendly and approachable, coming across as rather jaded as has been mentioned in previous reviews.

Only one very minor point and probably only really an issue in chalet 2 (the smaller one) which you may want to bear in mind if it is important to you. The bar is in chalet 1 and it is a soundproof area for partying which is great. However if you are in chalet 2 it is obviously disruptive to the evening to trek over to chalet 1 and there is no set time to turn off music etc so what tends to happen is the party atmosphere continues in the main kitchen area till quite late. Obviously that can be great but it does rather remove the option of going to bed early if you want to as the walls are very thin so you may find yourself staying up a lot later than you would wish after a hard day skiing.

All in all though, a great experience, met some lovely people and the surrounding area and ski slopes are just beautiful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Amazing Chalet
Amazing Staff
Amazing Food
Amazing Concept
Unamazingly enough I absolutely love it, just remember to stop past Chambre Neuf for a bit of apres with your chalet mates and dance on some tables ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent week and a brilliant concept for solo skiers and boarders. The hosts were amazing and they made everyone feel totally at ease. Well done to Chris and Angela! Cooking was also fabulous. This is a quieter week than the Chamonix chalets but the chalet is excellent and the ski area is great too. I would not hesitate to go on another cold fusion holiday and I have met some lovely people along the way!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Fusion Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Fusion Chalets

Property: Cold Fusion Chalets
Address: Les Praz, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
■Exclusively for Independent Travellers■3 Ski Chalets exclusive to Cold Fusion■2 Top Ski Resorts in the French Alps■Season-long availability from December until MaySpecialists in providing ski and snowboard chalet holidays for independent travellers, Cold Fusion will be opening its doors for a fifth successful season in December.Our unprecedented holiday package includes traditional chalet accommodation, excellent skiing in 2 top resorts, a fully catered service, experienced staff with local knowledge and a ready made group of like minded individuals to ski with in the day and socialize with in the evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cold Fusion Chalets Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing