We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and comfortable”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Superb place, comfortable rooms and balcony with a fantastic view of Mont Blanc. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were spotlessly clean and complete wooden interiors were charming. Breakfast was quite wholesome and every bit worth 14 Euro. Would love to go back to Chamonix and L'Oustalet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachinmalik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    66
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
121
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Highlights:
- spotless rooms
- view of mont blanc from the spacious balcony
- comfy beds with quality linen
- nice shower
- good storage space
- friendly and helpful staff (reception made a number of phone calls to arrange luggage transfer on our behalf)

Opportunities for improvement:
- Wifi works fine in lobby but drops in and out constantly in rooms on L1 (likely doesn't work at all in higher rooms)
- breakfast is nice and worth trying once but not great value at 14 Euro pp
- rooms do get a little hot and stuffy in summer but easily solved by opening the balcony door for some fresh mountain air

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our room was quiet, very clean...even in the corners...& well done. We enjoyed our balcony & view of Mont Blanc and the pool with a MB view also. Fantastic staff! You feel totally cared for! Great breakfast in sunny room overlooking garden-3 kinds of juice, coffee/tea, 3 + types of bread, sweet breads/pastries, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, cinnamon rice pudding, and eggs/cheese/ham. Cozy, relaxing sitting areas. We planned to stay 2 nights, but loved our Chamonix set up so much we extended our stay several days.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonVeganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was my 6th time in L'Oustalet - need I say more?! The hotel is incredibly friendly & has a wonderful location close enough to the town centre, & only 100metres from the Aguille de midi cable car - but still quiet at night. The rooms are comfortable & spacious & the bathrooms fresh & spotless. Breakfast is €14 supplement but very tasty & sets you up for your day on the slopes. Evening meal is not available. Views from the room balcony are stunning. Ski room is well equipped with boot driers & ski racks & the sauna / jacuzzi /steam room is bookable in advance for individual use. here is an outdoor swimming pool that is probably available in the summer season (but not in the snow).Free parking & High speed internet is available. I'm looking forward to visit §7.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doctor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Warm welcome at this lovely hotel in traditional-style building in centre of Chamonix. My only gripe is the cost of breakfast at 14 Euros per head.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanL1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Four of us stayed here for the night prior to starting the Haute Walkers Route from Chamoix to Zermatt. L'Oustalet is a pleasant small hotel in a quiet area of Chamonix, about ten minutes' walk from the town centre. We had a twin-bedded room with a small en-suite shower-room and TV, and a large balcony (not used as it was pouring with rain!). The hotel serves breakfast and light refreshments but not dinner; there is a small and not very well-equipped bar. The staff are welcoming and helpful: for instance they were quick to offer us the concessionary pass which gives free bus and train transport the length of the Chamonix valley. Breakfast was a typical continental offering. The hotel would serve very well as a base for a walking or skiing holiday in Chamonix.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Chamonix made all the more memorable because of this wonderful little hotel. What a great find - thanks to Tripadvisor. Traditionally styled but recently renovated it was just perfect. The views from our balcony were breathtaking, the garden and pool area just delightful and being able to sit in the garden for afternoon tea or an ice cream was a perfect way to round off the day. Added to which it was only a short walk to the centre of Chamonix but tucked away from all the hustle and bustle. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The only negative thing was the cost of the breakfast which at 14 euros per person per day we thought was a bit excessive so we chose to have our coffee and croissant in a great little cafe round the corner. Oh, and maybe the room would have benefitted from a full length mirror. Overall though I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
Pointe Isabelle Hotel
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Property: Hotel L'Oustalet
Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing