We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Namur, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have been many times in Chamonix over the last years and each time stayed at l'Oustalet. Very kind and helpful service, well located out of the noise of the city centre but very close to it and close to the gondola to l'Aiguille du Midi. Very comfortable bed rooms with a nice terrasse.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_J1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    68
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
121
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A perfect mountain chalet. Lovely Alpine accomodations -- be sure to get a room with a balcony view of Mont Blanc. We actually could see the mountain peak from our bed. The Alps are spectacular and the location of Hotel L'Oustalet is perfect. Across the street from the gondola to the Aiguile du Midi and a 3 minute walk to the center of Chamonix village. This is rated highly on Trip Advisor for a reason -- book it while you can!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. It has free onsite parking which was great for us.

The hotel is centrally located, 1 minute from Aiguille du Midi cable car and 5 minutes from Gare du Montenvers railway.

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The beds were great. The TV had few English channels but the reception was sometimes poor. We were allocated a family room with had 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed, and one with bunks. It had a separate loo and full bath. We had a balcony with views over Mount Blanc.

A lovely chalet type hotel. Can recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very friendly staff. Great location with safe parking, important in Chamonix if you you have a hire car !

5 mins walk to either side of the main street.

Rooms are very comfortable with good quality beds and linen. Free WIFI available

Breakfast is just about fair value. Mainly french with the addition of cheese and ham and rice pud

Small Tea room attached with good cakes and drinks

Overall, a lovely experience

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Wonderful family room, kids have separate bunk room. Breakfast terrific!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMRParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very good location. 2 mins walk to aguille du midi, 2 mins to a great bakery and restaurant, 5 mins to bus station which takes you to all ski fields. excellent sized room facing Mont Blanc, Excellent and friendly staff, who all speak excellent english. great price for a hotel well located, with spa, sauna and steam room which you can book each night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chromo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have just come back from a week at Chamonix and we were staying at the hotel l'Oustalet. We chose this hotel based on the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor and we certainly were not disappointed, from the friendliness of the owners and staff to the cleanliness of the room, comfortable beds, absolutely divine breakfast topped with pastries made by the in-house Patissier (try the various cakes from the tea room also made in-house, highly original and taste divine!!)
All put together, this hotel is by far one of the best we have stayed in and I am comparing to some 4 and 5 star hotel who may not always have the level of customer service you would expect, A truly wonderful experience, long may they continue!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samsung114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richemond
Hotel Richemond
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#26 of 73 in Chamonix
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 73 in Chamonix
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Property: Hotel L'Oustalet
Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing