We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a good location.”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel L'Oustalet for three nights in September 2010. The hotel is beautifully presented, with a bright dining area and pretty garden. There's also a good sized swimming pool, which I didn't actually get the chance to try, so I don't know how warm or cold the water was. But it certainly looked appealing in the afternoon sunshine.

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of town, which also manages to be only a 5 minute walk from both the high street and the Aiguille du Midi cablecar station.

Our room (number 9) was clean, bright, and well maintained, with a small balcony and a lovely south-west facing view. My wife's only criticism of the room would be that there was no hairdryer. Also, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This was not an issue for us, but might be for some.

The staff were always welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again, or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    66
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
121
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed two nights at the Hotel L'Oustalet and were quite pleased. The reception area is pleasant with a lift to the other rooms. Our room was large by European standards and the bathroom was huge!! It had both a bathtub and separate shower, but no hairdryer. The balcony was nice, only wish it was a bit warmer while we were there to enjoy it more. The hotel staff was very friendly. The plug adapter I had purchased in the US did not work in Europe, so the staff loaned me one of the many they had acquired over time (thank you). You may park for free at the hotel in a chained off lot. Most places to visit in the city are accessible on foot. We did not partake in the breakfast buffet as it was somewhat pricey. There are many bakeries around the city where you can enjoy a light breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMForever28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauvais, France
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for just one night, with our two children (11 & 7). The welcome was so friendly, and we were delighted to discover the large, comfortable room with a seperate room for the children with bunk beds. We had two balconies and a breathtaking view of the Mont Blanc. The decoration was simple, traditional and very pleasant.
We really enjoyed using the green garden with the pool, and sampled many of the delicious ices which the resident patissier makes from local ingredients. He is also responsible for the best buffet breakfast I have ever tasted - home made cakes, yoghourts, even a rice pudding with cinnamon. Nothing came out of a tin.
We really loved this stay, the hotel is perfectly situated at 100m from the centre, but provides a peaceful oasis. Definitely a 3-star-plus-plus !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalind_borrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Beautiful hotel and rooms in Alpine style. Large and comfortable rooms, completely wood paneled. Modern bathrooms. Stylish breakfast and sitting area. Friendly staff. We had a room with a spectacular view of MontBlanc and the Aiguille du Midi from our balcony. Excellent location less than a minute from the cable car and three minutes from downtown. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, mainly because we hurried to get on the first ride up the mountain and also because we wouldn't make use of a 14 Euro breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Booked room based on other Trip Advisor positive reviews, and would do so again. We were traveling as a family of 5 so had 2 adjacent rooms. Both were spotless and typical chalet wooden feel. Beds comfortable. Shower piping hot with plenty of pressure. Nice balcony off each room with great views of the surrounding mountains and gondolas. Quiet location, about a 10 minute easy walk from the train station or city center. Very near to gondolas ascending to Aiguille du Midi. Hotel staff courteous and nice. No wireless internet in rooms. We did not eat breakfast there, feeling that the 14 euro charge a bit high for us (we just walked to a nearby bakery and had coffee and pastries for far less). Room value only rated 3 just because the price is high in all of the hotels in this resort location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaloAltoTravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel is very well located only 2 minutes from the Aigelle Du Midi cable car and under 10 minutes from the railway station. The location is also private with a pleasant garden, tea shop and outdoor pool. Througout our stay the staff were all very friendly and helpful towards my whole family. This is a hotel for those who want peace and quiet- there are cheaper options in Chamonix but the reviews on this site are in my opinion an accurate reflection of this hotel.

The rooms themselves are comfortable and well furnished with spectacular views. They are not huge but we never felt cramped in our triple room. The beds were comfortable and the outdoor terrace/balcony was lovely.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chamonix unless they want late night drinking at the hotel bar etc ( the hotel doors close at 9pm and you are given a code to unlock the doors after that). I would use this hotel on any future visits to Chamonix.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Property: Hotel L'Oustalet
Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing