We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
Review of Hotel L'Oustalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel L'Oustalet
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This hotel was a complete surprise....It looked ok from the outside...but the room/suite we had was just amazing. It was totally alpine lodge in decor...pine built-ins, very charming and totally "alps". The staff was wonderful! Nice (but expensive) breakfast...probably would skip that. DO STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank provencegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Our hotel room was 2 bedrooms with separate bath and toilet. Very comfortable and great service. It is walking distance to the town and restaurants and also to the main gondola lift. There is internet connection for E1 per hour but the reception will check web cams for the mountains if asked ( we were clouded in during our stay but were able to see it was clear up top). Breakfast is standard for Europe and they have a small cafe that is open during the day. There is a pool and lovely lawn if the weather is kinder to you than us! Chamonix is a lovely town and there are some great walks into the hills.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deddans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and open lawn for breathtaking picnics. minutes from train and gondola lift. A chalet feel a few steps from the heart of Chamonix.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This hotel was fantastic and affordable. The breakfast was great, and we enjoyed the pool and sauna. Our rooms had balconies which looked out onto the mountain! The service was friendly and perfect.

Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
Thank MandyC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel only one night, and wished we had more. The room was lovely, all wooden. Seperate bathrom and seperate toilet. We asked for a room over the net facing Mont Blanc, and thats what we got, balcony and all!! The view was amasing of the mountain and glacier. The hotel has a loverly garden and swimming pool area, which was closed when we were there. The bed was fine. The restaurant was fine as was the standard breakfast. The receptionists were always helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAXOM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Out of the windows and deck of our hotel room we had a fantastic view of Mont Blanc. The hotel was picked from TrpAdvisor and they were correct.
It was extremely clean, friendly staff with a lot of information and suggestions.
Strongly recommeded

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel L'Oustalet for three nights in September 2010. The hotel is beautifully presented, with a bright dining area and pretty garden. There's also a good sized swimming pool, which I didn't actually get the chance to try, so I don't know how warm or cold the water was. But it certainly looked appealing in the afternoon sunshine.

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of town, which also manages to be only a 5 minute walk from both the high street and the Aiguille du Midi cablecar station.

Our room (number 9) was clean, bright, and well maintained, with a small balcony and a lovely south-west facing view. My wife's only criticism of the room would be that there was no hairdryer. Also, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This was not an issue for us, but might be for some.

The staff were always welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again, or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
Hotel la Vallee Blanche
#33 of 73 in Chamonix
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oustalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oustalet

Address: 330 rue du Lyret, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £117 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Oustalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel L'Oustalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oustalet
l Oustalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing