We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel du Clocher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Clocher
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been to Chamonix many times and always book our favourite hotel in advance. However as we were touring Europe by car we decied at the last miniute to visit Chamonix. The hotel is well located with free parking and WIFI but that is about all I can say for it. We stayed in room 7 on the 3rd floor. The shower did not work , the sink unit ws rotten with damp, the toilet smelt horribly of Urine. If you are over 4"6 you ownt be able to stand up straight in the bedroom. Rooms 5 and 6 have doors that a Hobbit would have to duck under to get into. We booked breakfast on arrival before we had seen the room, all that we could see was cereal for breakfast so we quickly left. The attitude of Christian when I sent a review by the booking website was to tell me I had booked a 2 star hotel in Chamonix not Dieppe!!!! This is possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in and would prefer to sleep in the car than return here.

Room Tip: dont get room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is very well situated. we stayed here on our TMB. its easy to find, near to the shops and bars and Plan Praz lift. The lady who runs it doe snot speak English and appeared a bit grumpy to start with, however, she was actually very nice. I would recommend eating out. The evening meal was very basic, fried potatoes and horse steak! Breakfast was the usual basic bread and croissant. Our room was lovely, very traditional yet clean loft room was spacious en suite. It was clean. No hairdryer or mini bar but there is a TV. WIFI was very speedy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Du Clocher four nights in March 2013. The hotel is a family run business and it is tiny. 10-12 rooms in total.
It was exactly what we were after though: a good cosy clean room, ensuite bathroom with hot shower, somewhere to store our snowboards and boots at the end of the day and a good basic breakfast.
The hotel is VERY central - literally 2 minutes walk to the main shopping street and restaurants. Max 5 minutes walk to the Brevent ski lift and to the bus stop if you want to go to other slopes (we can highly recommend going by bus no. 11 to Flegere...)
The madame who runs the hotel is a really nice lady and we had a very good stay.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good clean central budget hotel whilst skiing in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second floor are smaller than rooms on ground and first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good price during the skiing season. Small hotel with friendly, pleasant English speaking staff. Room we had was on 3rd floor. A room for hobbits I think. Stairway is very narrow also. Room was very low and a little difficult to shower as room so low. To be honest we were there to ski so didn't mind this to much. We wanted a fairly cheap hotel that was in a central location and that's what we got. Hotels are expensive in Chamonix. Breakfast was good old continental style and was basic but filling. Did the job. It the cleanest place in the world. If a cleanliness freak font stay here. Free fast wifi. Good area to put skis and boots in I the main hall. Location is about 3 to 4 min walk from bus station to Le Houches and Argentiere. Big bonus this and Is just off the Main Street. Area to park car.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just back from 4 nights in this hotel. The staff are charming and the hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the ski lift. The rooms are the smallest I have ever encountered in a hotel but clean and well kept. The breakfast again is very basic but the location and staff made up for any minor grumbles.

Room Tip: All the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris17phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a house turned hotel, rooms are small but they were spotless when we stayed and the staff were very welcoming. The walls are thin so you can hear all other guests come and go, luckily when we were there everyone was up early to ski and in not too late so it went with our movements... For 8€50 breakfast is a big basket of bread and croissants, boiled eggs, ham, cheese and yoghurt and as much tea/coffee and orange juice as we wanted. The rooms are expensive for the size but the location is great, right in the centre of town and yet on a little lane that is quiet. We had to leave a day early as we had a problem with our car and they wouldn't refund our rooms which would have of course helped. Bad day be better but at ten to midday they said it was too late. We weren't surprised but it would have left a nicer feeling. Had lovely three days in Chamonix though!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank eirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Filthy and untidy hotel with management only interested in making money (hotel is in the very center of Chamonix and they are aware of it. Not welcoming staff, old rooms. There are certainly better places in Chamonix for the same price

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#39 of 73 in Chamonix
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#53 of 73 in Chamonix
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#43 of 73 in Chamonix
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Clocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Clocher

Address: 110 impasse de l Androsace, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £62 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Clocher 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming family run hotel in this converted town house in the centre of Chamonix. Set in a quiet streets, this converted town house is well situated close to the shops and restaurants, public transport, ski school and the 'Maison de la Montagne'. Also, with easy access to the ski slopes of Le Savoy and Le Brevent and la Flegere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Clocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Clocher Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing