We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting!!!”
Review of Hotel du Clocher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Clocher
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Sussex
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed here for a few nights. Our room was on the second floor. No lift. You have to be a midget to get through the door. It's only about 4 ft. high. The room was very cramped. The bathroom was adequate. You could, however, see Mont Blanc from the bedroom window.
Having said all that we enjoyed a good breakfast each morning and it is only a very short walk to
the centre of the town. If you just want somewhere to put your head down at night this place is o.k.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lajoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    22
    2
    9
See reviews for
12
42
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Small hotel with a car park in a very good location. We had a room next to reception on the ground floor and initially thought it might be noisy but we slept fine. It was compact and the ensuite was tiny (a bit like the pods at F1 hotels). But it was very clean and comfortable. Everyone was helpful and they let us leave our motor bike and gear the following morning while we went up the mountain in the cable car. The breakfast was the usual continental with the option of boiling your own eggs. Overall good value in a relatively expensive resort,.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickles136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been to Chamonix many times and always book our favourite hotel in advance. However as we were touring Europe by car we decied at the last miniute to visit Chamonix. The hotel is well located with free parking and WIFI but that is about all I can say for it. We stayed in room 7 on the 3rd floor. The shower did not work , the sink unit ws rotten with damp, the toilet smelt horribly of Urine. If you are over 4"6 you ownt be able to stand up straight in the bedroom. Rooms 5 and 6 have doors that a Hobbit would have to duck under to get into. We booked breakfast on arrival before we had seen the room, all that we could see was cereal for breakfast so we quickly left. The attitude of Christian when I sent a review by the booking website was to tell me I had booked a 2 star hotel in Chamonix not Dieppe!!!! This is possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in and would prefer to sleep in the car than return here.

Room Tip: dont get room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is very well situated. we stayed here on our TMB. its easy to find, near to the shops and bars and Plan Praz lift. The lady who runs it doe snot speak English and appeared a bit grumpy to start with, however, she was actually very nice. I would recommend eating out. The evening meal was very basic, fried potatoes and horse steak! Breakfast was the usual basic bread and croissant. Our room was lovely, very traditional yet clean loft room was spacious en suite. It was clean. No hairdryer or mini bar but there is a TV. WIFI was very speedy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Du Clocher four nights in March 2013. The hotel is a family run business and it is tiny. 10-12 rooms in total.
It was exactly what we were after though: a good cosy clean room, ensuite bathroom with hot shower, somewhere to store our snowboards and boots at the end of the day and a good basic breakfast.
The hotel is VERY central - literally 2 minutes walk to the main shopping street and restaurants. Max 5 minutes walk to the Brevent ski lift and to the bus stop if you want to go to other slopes (we can highly recommend going by bus no. 11 to Flegere...)
The madame who runs the hotel is a really nice lady and we had a very good stay.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good clean central budget hotel whilst skiing in Chamonix.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second floor are smaller than rooms on ground and first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good price during the skiing season. Small hotel with friendly, pleasant English speaking staff. Room we had was on 3rd floor. A room for hobbits I think. Stairway is very narrow also. Room was very low and a little difficult to shower as room so low. To be honest we were there to ski so didn't mind this to much. We wanted a fairly cheap hotel that was in a central location and that's what we got. Hotels are expensive in Chamonix. Breakfast was good old continental style and was basic but filling. Did the job. It the cleanest place in the world. If a cleanliness freak font stay here. Free fast wifi. Good area to put skis and boots in I the main hall. Location is about 3 to 4 min walk from bus station to Le Houches and Argentiere. Big bonus this and Is just off the Main Street. Area to park car.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just back from 4 nights in this hotel. The staff are charming and the hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the ski lift. The rooms are the smallest I have ever encountered in a hotel but clean and well kept. The breakfast again is very basic but the location and staff made up for any minor grumbles.

Room Tip: All the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris17phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#51 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#36 of 73 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#13 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Clocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Clocher

Property: Hotel du Clocher
Address: 110 impasse de l Androsace, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Clocher 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming family run hotel in this converted town house in the centre of Chamonix. Set in a quiet streets, this converted town house is well situated close to the shops and restaurants, public transport, ski school and the 'Maison de la Montagne'. Also, with easy access to the ski slopes of Le Savoy and Le Brevent and la Flegere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Clocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Clocher Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing