We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm afraid I have to disagree with most other reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“I'm afraid I have to disagree with most other reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

There is a lot that is nice about this hotel. It's location is fairly good, five minutes walk from the nearest ski bus stop and ten minutes from the main stop in town, there's a great micro brasserie that brews it's own beer that is a two minute walk away as well. The reception and bar look great, and service is also super. Ski and boot room is fine, though if you indulge in pies too often then you will struggle with the very narrow spiral stairs that lead you to the room!

My issue was with our room, it's a four star hotel yet our room was three star at best. Now we got the cheapest room in the hotel, though we only realised this when we got there, but it's not awesome. No coat hooks for ski jackets for instance, a shower that went from cold to scalding at will. The bathroom was tiny so even Manx cats have to watch out for bruising.

The room itself was, well, ok, but only ok.

If they had said "we are a four star hotel with two rooms that are three star" then I'd have been ok with that and chosen if I wanted to stay there. I just felt a bit let down

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    44
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
86
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in the Maisonnee. We were 4 adults and 4 children (even though it only really sleeps 7) and we fitted in OK.
The Hotel and the associated chalets are very cute (if not a little kitsch). All the staff are dressed in what appeared to be a local heritage costume. Odd, but cute.
Very easy 200m walk to the centre of Chamonix, which only takes 5 mins (even in snow/ice). But far enough out of the centre to not hear any noise.
Great place to either drive up to the slopes or catch the free Chamonix Express bus.
Everything worked perfectly in the Maisonnee. The fireplace was easy to light (chopped wood and kindling provided). We had an issue with one of the showers not draining properly which was attended to by the staff as soon as we asked them.
Beds comfortable, heating worked well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McPatterstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 nights here over the Xmas New Year and were thoroughly impressed. The accommodation was wonderful, clean and very comfortable. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. My only criticism would be that if you're paying over this sort of room tariff (2 bedroom apartment), you should be entitled to some tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board, and a daily update of basic bathroom products - we were only given one set for the 10 nights!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for a week, didn't want to leave. it is the perfect chalet hotel. the food was fantastic specially the breakfast. Near to the center of town yet far enough away for peace and quiet. We has a balcony with Mont Blavc in front. Impossible to have benn better

Room Tip: Go for a room that is in the front of the hotel for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located at the base of Mt Blanc. A mountain view room is a must!! The hotel is a 5 min walk to the center of town where all the restaurants and shops are. The hotel has a parking for those travelling by car. I really liked the friendliness of the owner, who welcomed us with a drink (every saturday) and who was also very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights here in August and had a wonderful stay. The young lady at the front desk was most accommodating with very good English, though her male counterparts, not so much. While we were there during the summer and quite enjoyed the walks into town, which is not very far. I would have to say I wouldn't want to lug ski gear from there in the winter. Though they do provide cards for free shuttle and bus rides. The breakfast is fine, but we didn't know until check out it was extra. I suppose one thing worth mentioning is there was no safe in the room. Otherwise the room was very comfortable and I would certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed a week here this winter for our skiing vacation. We used an airport transfer and got straight from Geneva to the hotel. A very warm welcoming met us. They speak several languages. Our room had a great view, good temperature, a comfortable bed, the bathroom was perfect with a good shower. In the basement there was a very practival ski locker that you can keep your ski equipments. The location was good for skiing. There were about between 3-10 minutes walking distance (in ski boots) to the ski busses, depending on which you are taking. In "walking shooes" I would say a 5 mintues walk to city the center. Every morning we enjoyed a great breakfast with a good view. After dinner you can enjoy hot chocolate or a glas wine at the fire place. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivaparaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard

Property: Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard
Address: 63 Chemin du Ce, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent landscaped garden at the foot of the cross-country ski trails, the HERMITAGE provides an ever-stunning view of the Brévent, the Aiguilles de Chamonix and Mont-Blanc. Just steps from the town centre, all the charms of a family guest establishment with that special Chamonix spirit, a blend of warm traditions and attractive modernity. Summer and winter alike, the joys of skiing, hiking and activities nearby with the sports complex located opposite the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Chalet Hotel Hermitage Paccard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing