We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Michelin Star....get the menu du jour for only €19!”
Review of Le Bistrot

Le Bistrot
Ranked #31 of 226 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$63
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Michelin Star....get the menu du jour for only €19!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great restaurant...lovely food, presented like little works of art! Get the menu du jour for only €19 or splash out on far more expensive dishes. The actual restaurant is nothing particularly special but smart and clean as you would expect from a hotel of this type. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericaharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    81
    42
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seyssins
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need to visit”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Nice modern restaurant in the center of Chamonix. Excellent food and very good service. Very good wine list even if prices are a bit high. This is the place to be at lunch for a nice moment at an amazing price of 19 euros. Incredible for a Michelin One star restaurant. Excellent food and very good desserts. Congratulation to the team.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Reception: perfect delicious food and impeccable service. Couldn't ask for anything better!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We held our wedding reception at Le Bistrot in January 2013, and it was just perfect in every way.
Although it's a bit of a non-traditional reception venue (I believe we were the first!) we had enjoyed dinner there several times before and felt it had just the right combination of decadent, creative, delicious French cuisine; warm, attentive staff and an open modern space. From our very first meeting to the night of the wedding Valery and his team made us feel like their first priority, accommodating all our requests. They prepared a custom designed menu with excellent wine pairings, provided substitutions for a number of guests with food allergies or dietary preferences and generally went above and beyond in every way imaginable. No corners were cut and nothing ever felt like it was done in "bulk." During the dinner each guest was catered to individually. Tables were always served together in a perfectly choreographed unveiling with no "food auctions" - substitutions; alternate meal options were handled perfectly. Glasses were always full of the finest wine and champagne, paired perfectly for the course the guests were enjoying. Several of our guests mentioned specifically how attentive the wait staff was - explaining each course in French and English, memorizing each guest, even when they switched seats, and always maintaining a smiling, professional, calm appearance hiding perfectly, what I can only imagine, was a mad rush behind the scenes in the kitchen.

The food is exactly what you would expect from a Michelin Star restaurant - perfect. Delicately cooked veal, exactly the right shade of pink in the center; truffled scallops that melt in your mouth and more of the finest foie gras than a person can consume. The hors d'oeuvres were delicious, and interesting, especially the salmon macarons. Dessert was their famous and decadent Tasse Cappuccino - best described as a dessert journey through layers of milky foam, espresso mousse, nuts, chocolate and cookie, presented in a fabulous, delicate, edible chocolate "cup". Our guests loved the food, mentioning on numerous occasions how amazing everything tasted.

All weddings come with an immense pressure to make a flawless and memorable night for the bride, groom and their guests. Valery and his team delivered the best wedding reception dinner we could have ever imagined, never breaking a stride.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a_m_nyc_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great food , top notch service, lovely desserts and petit fours.

Wine list only starts at €50 so I declined to order any. The list looked extensive. Seems to be aimed at Oligarchs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lunch at Le Bistrot, Chamonix”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I've never had the pleasure of an evening meal here but over the years we have enjoyed countless great lunches.

The set lunch menu is great. Great food and great value. We don't even ask what's on the menu any more, we just order it. For a very modest EUR €19 you get an amuse bouche, a small starter, a lovely main and a gorgeous dessert all to high Michelin star quality and served by impeccable staff. Effectively a four course Michelin meal for under twenty.

Our only gripe is the wine list has become more and more unaffordable over the years and we now struggle to find anything on it within our budget. This prevents me from giving it the top rating it would otherwise truly deserve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thehazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Argentiere, Chamonix
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing