We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale stay..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chalets de Philippe
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fairytale stay..”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This accommodation catered to every childhood fantasy whilst assuring every luxury required as an adult was answered.

We stayed for three nights in our chalet Les Clarines and on arrival, I admit even knowing the chalet was small from time of booking it was still an initial surprise, however it was not a problem, it added to the feeling of being in a real life gingerbread house.

The chalet was heated to a perfect temperature and the loft bedroom was comfortable and cosy. We had an outdoor spa with a view of Mont Blanc plus a separate steam room and spa for all chalet guests, open all day for general use plus an allocated private time for each individual chalet which during our stay was not required as we didn't see anyone in there.

We had dinner one night during the stay where you viewed the chefs creating their dishes, whilst guests sat in a beautiful snow chalet ambience. The seating was communal, not what we are used to, however it still felt private and thoroughly enjoyable. There was an initial misunderstanding, we are still not sure why we reserved for 730pm yet had to ask to be taken to our table at 900pm, again perhaps our misunderstanding of how the process works. The food was beautifully prepared and an absolute delight, we enjoyed it immensely.

The staff were attentive and ever so polite, it felt like everyone involved in Chalet Phillipe offered their heart and soul to their roles there. The little luxuries made this accommodation extra special, the endless supply of beautifully soft towels, the Hermes products, Nespresso machine in the chalet and a room that was serviced to an immaculate level.

The location in Le Lavancher was easily accessible to central Chamonix and wonderful to be located in such a beautiful village. Being located right on the walk tracks was an extra bonus for us, what a beautiful part of the world and a stay we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alethea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    39
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
51
187
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Les Chalets de Philippe last week. The food was excellent and prepared right in our living room. The menu changes daily and there was good variety, along with a good wine list featuring a nice range of price points.

The rooms were smaller than we've grown accustomed to at some larger chain hotels, but this did not detract from our stay. The beds were some of the most comfortable we have ever slept on, and the other amenities (particularly the multi-angled showers) were great as well.

Philippe and his staff were also fantastic. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and even managed to track down some gluten free bread for me. Additionally, when we brought a small billing issue to Philippe's attention, he immediately rectified it. Phenomenal service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ok...this place isn't cheap!

But if you are looking for something really special then I would recommend it. We ate here in the summer and in a fit of madness decided to book Les Barattes for 3 days over Christmas. It's a traditional wooden chalet which sleeps 2/4 people (we were 2 and I wouldn't really have liked to share with another 2 adults, but I think that's a personal choice). Another minor bugbear is that the bathrooms are not closed, so there is limited privacy. The chalet is over 3 floors and a word of warning, one of the flights of stairs is very narrow and steep). It was furnished to a very high standard with everything replenished on a daily basis. Although there are other chalets quite close by, it was completely private and very peaceful. You also have private access during certain times of the day to a sauna and hammam.

The kitchen is well equiped and we catered for ourselves most of the time but you also have the option to have food prepared and delivered by the kitchen. We ordered a plate of salame and cheese as an aperitivo and ended up not eating dinner because there was so much!

We loved it and will go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was my second stay in this dream hamlet. And it was as perfect as in my memories. We were a group of 12 people and all of us enjoyed the charm of each room and the quietness of the environment. The attention to details in each room and the collection of regional antiques from Philippe are amazing. Food was a delight, meal after meal from breakfast till dinner. Even the simplest meal like the fondue au fromage was a real gourmet dinner. All employees were extremely nice and making sure all our wishes were fulfilled. We enjoyed the great facilities (steam sauna, jacuzzis, cinema,...) as well as the equipment for our walks in the beautiful surroundings. A great choice!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The most gorgeous and quaint hotel ever!! The owner Philippe is charming and goes out of his way to ensure one has a very special vacation. The chalets are simply too divine and look like they have just come out of a fairytale.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The staff was wonderful and Philippe was delightful. We spent 2 nights here in early September. The common areas are exactly what we hoped for in a mountain Chalet, warm and inviting. All of the spaces both indoors and out, common and private have a great deal of attention to detail in the decoration and lighting. It's somewhat eclectic but exactly what we enjoy. The piece de résistance was the chef Denis Flota and Les Tables du Chef. While perhaps not properly part of the hotel the two meals we had with Denis where the best we enjoyed in France - but I'll review that separately. The only thing you'll need to watch out for when booking is to understand that some of the private Chalets are very lovely AND very very small. For instance our bedroom loft room above the downstairs room was inadequate to stand up and there was little room for luggage. The web site is quite clear on this but some people are surprised. Bottom line - know what you like - be clear on what you are reserving - and you will find this place worth every euro!

Room Tip: Read the web site or call Philippe. All the rooms are wonderful in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Fil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
419 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family spent one night at Les Chalets this August. The location is really beautiful and the Chalets are very unique. Bedrooms wonderful, as were beds and linens. We were upgraded to large suite right off the lobby and kitchen. It was very difficult to tell whether or room was private or part of hotel. One curious couple walked in to our living room as we were there, then about an hour later another couple and their dog walkied in and starting looking at the bedrooms. Very strange. We had a lovely meal that was prepared behind the glass window separating kitchen from our suite. Dinner was our most expensive of trip...$600, but unique given private chef and setting. Was fun to watch the care that went into it. Some overall service items were mixed...Eg. We asked for a bottle of wine before dinner and we were given wine, though nothing else, and were surprised that a room that costs $2K/night wouldn't include some peanuts! Similar w/ breakfast where you are charged for everything. Owner was very nice, we left passports in safe and he had them Fedexed to Switzerland for us. Nice hot tub, but steam room which we were shown was not on when we went to use it. Architecture was wonderful, furniture and some ot the art kind of random..again on quirky side! Views and overall setting, super.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,085 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 73 in Chamonix
388 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de Philippe

Property: Les Chalets de Philippe
Address: 718 route du Chapeau | Le Lavancher, 74400, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The totally unique south-facing position of "The balcon du Lavancher" ensures its day-long year-round sunshine, and from this exceptional location at a place called the "Alpage des Esserts", Philippe's 9 chalets look down on the beautiful Chamonix valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Chalets De Philippe Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing