We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Chalets de Philippe
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$141
Mercure
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$90
Mercure
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Le Morgane(Chamonix)
US$148
US$101
Official Website
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$79
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$112
Cancelon
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure(Chamonix)(Great Value!)
US$164
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
325
52
11
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
52
11
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy talenespresso machinemont blancvisited chamonixfantastic locationtwo nightsluxurysuitejacuzzichaletgastronomicalpinewinterfireplaceswitzerland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I felt like I had entered a scene from the Hobbit. To say that this place is quaint, would be an understatement. What a fantastic property! Apparently, all of the chalets were purchased and transported from their original locations.

We arrived weary and frazzled and were given a very warm and kind reception by Philippe. We were a little apprehensive about tackling the winding road down to the town for dinner and decided to hire a driver for the round trip. The gentleman who drove us was typical of the staff we encountered while staying at this property - cordial and professional.

We stayed in one of the larger chalets on the property and it was a visual feast. Every piece of furniture was charming, right down to the children's bedroom with small pint size furniture and tiny little bathrobes. Everywhere you looked, was a unique piece of furniture or a delightful piece of art. One bedroom had, tucked into the window bay, a carved frame bed covered with some of the finest hand embroidered linens I have ever seen. The chalet had a huge spa bath and two hot tubs on the deck where you could soak away your travel fatigue while gazing at some of the best scenery in the world!

Our stay ended the next morning with a delicious continental breakfast delivered to our chalet. I have to tell you that it was very difficult to leave. What a pleasure it was staying at this lovely property and how happy I would be to return one day!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pokieman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This accommodation catered to every childhood fantasy whilst assuring every luxury required as an adult was answered.

We stayed for three nights in our chalet Les Clarines and on arrival, I admit even knowing the chalet was small from time of booking it was still an initial surprise, however it was not a problem, it added to the feeling of being in a real life gingerbread house.

The chalet was heated to a perfect temperature and the loft bedroom was comfortable and cosy. We had an outdoor spa with a view of Mont Blanc plus a separate steam room and spa for all chalet guests, open all day for general use plus an allocated private time for each individual chalet which during our stay was not required as we didn't see anyone in there.

We had dinner one night during the stay where you viewed the chefs creating their dishes, whilst guests sat in a beautiful snow chalet ambience. The seating was communal, not what we are used to, however it still felt private and thoroughly enjoyable. There was an initial misunderstanding, we are still not sure why we reserved for 730pm yet had to ask to be taken to our table at 900pm, again perhaps our misunderstanding of how the process works. The food was beautifully prepared and an absolute delight, we enjoyed it immensely.

The staff were attentive and ever so polite, it felt like everyone involved in Chalet Phillipe offered their heart and soul to their roles there. The little luxuries made this accommodation extra special, the endless supply of beautifully soft towels, the Hermes products, Nespresso machine in the chalet and a room that was serviced to an immaculate level.

The location in Le Lavancher was easily accessible to central Chamonix and wonderful to be located in such a beautiful village. Being located right on the walk tracks was an extra bonus for us, what a beautiful part of the world and a stay we will never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alethea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Les Chalets de Philippe last week. The food was excellent and prepared right in our living room. The menu changes daily and there was good variety, along with a good wine list featuring a nice range of price points.

The rooms were smaller than we've grown accustomed to at some larger chain hotels, but this did not detract from our stay. The beds were some of the most comfortable we have ever slept on, and the other amenities (particularly the multi-angled showers) were great as well.

Philippe and his staff were also fantastic. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and even managed to track down some gluten free bread for me. Additionally, when we brought a small billing issue to Philippe's attention, he immediately rectified it. Phenomenal service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ok...this place isn't cheap!

But if you are looking for something really special then I would recommend it. We ate here in the summer and in a fit of madness decided to book Les Barattes for 3 days over Christmas. It's a traditional wooden chalet which sleeps 2/4 people (we were 2 and I wouldn't really have liked to share with another 2 adults, but I think that's a personal choice). Another minor bugbear is that the bathrooms are not closed, so there is limited privacy. The chalet is over 3 floors and a word of warning, one of the flights of stairs is very narrow and steep). It was furnished to a very high standard with everything replenished on a daily basis. Although there are other chalets quite close by, it was completely private and very peaceful. You also have private access during certain times of the day to a sauna and hammam.

The kitchen is well equiped and we catered for ourselves most of the time but you also have the option to have food prepared and delivered by the kitchen. We ordered a plate of salame and cheese as an aperitivo and ended up not eating dinner because there was so much!

We loved it and will go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was my second stay in this dream hamlet. And it was as perfect as in my memories. We were a group of 12 people and all of us enjoyed the charm of each room and the quietness of the environment. The attention to details in each room and the collection of regional antiques from Philippe are amazing. Food was a delight, meal after meal from breakfast till dinner. Even the simplest meal like the fondue au fromage was a real gourmet dinner. All employees were extremely nice and making sure all our wishes were fulfilled. We enjoyed the great facilities (steam sauna, jacuzzis, cinema,...) as well as the equipment for our walks in the beautiful surroundings. A great choice!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews