We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Clean,quiet, comfortable,good value family run hotel.
Stayed here for a weekend in February 2013 and found the hotel very agreeable.
The room was clean, comfortable and in good condition with WIFI access and TV.The breakfast for €10.50 included fresh fruit, cheese, ham , a selection of breads and pastries , yoghurts and eggs and the dinner was good value at €21 for 3 or 4 courses.
The ever present propreiter is friendly and professional and she speaks good English.
The Flegere lift is nearby and there is a ski bus stop just outside the hotel. It is also on the cross county ski route if that's your bag. It is a good walk back from Chamonix centre in the evening though. This area of the Chamonix Valley is very beautiful with it's proximity to the woods and the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Teddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    41
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
28
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Situated on the edge of the forest, beside the river, right on the cross-country ski path, it is a perfect place if you want to avoid the noisy town centre. The rooms are not luxurious but clean and cosy, the ski bus-stop is virtually on your doorstep and a walk to the centre takes no more than 20 minutes. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the atmosphere is homely, the prices - reasonable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kl-ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We dropped into Chamonix en route home from a Ski/snowboard trip in the Tarentaise valley (Sainte Foy) with the intention of doing a bit of equipment shopping, arriving mid afternoon on a Fri afternoon in March was a gamble and on this occasion it paid off ! there wasn't anything available in town so we asked for help from the tourist information centre (not that helpful!) but after a bit of 'pushing' they agreed to ring a few hotels on the off chance that a canx might have come available. luckily the Hotel Arveyron had one room free, so we Jumped into the car and drove the 5 mins out of town.
Arriving at the hotel reception we were greeted by a very helpful and smiling guy who asked us if we would like to see the room before checking in (we declined and took it, sight unseen) he then cheerfully escorted us to the room.
The room was in a separate building at the rear of the main hotel, the cleaners were busy cleaning the entrance area and stairs and were also very welcoming and pleasant.
the room although not large, was more than adequate and had a good sized bathroom with bath and shower.
the room was warm and quiet with a fantastic view of the Midi from the large sunny balcony.
Bags dropped in the room, we headed to the sunny patio area at the front of the hotel and had Coffee / tea and a light bight whilst watching the cross country skiers pass, tea was served by a polite young guy, this whole checking in experience was excellent.
Check out was smooth and conducted by the granddaughter of the original owner (a very nice lady)
Great location (bit of a hike from town) Lots of parking, very pleasant staff, very clean/warm
fantastic views, very good value for money.
we will, without a doubt, stay at this hotel again rather than staying in town (lots of reasonably priced taxis available 24/7)

ps if you dont wish to eat at the hotel (menu/food is very good) and wish to go into town, Dine at the 'Le SanJon' restaurant ! its fantastic.
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g187261-d2342859-Reviews-Le_Sanjon-Chamonix_Haute_Savoie_Rhone_Alpes.html

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDickoDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Been there in March, 2012. Overall, the stay was satisfying, with no dramatic complains. Location is OK; peaceful and sunny, right on the cross-country ski/pedestrian path. It’s half-hour easy walk to Chamonix center (15 min walk to Les Praz skilift). There is a local railway next to hotel. Although trains are rare, but if your room face the railway, it may disturb you couple of times a night. Also, avoid the rooms facing the road, it may be noisy.
Staff friendly; but not so fluent in English. Breakfast humble, which is typical for this type of property.
What disappointed us was that the hotel turned out to be really basic. I mean, VERY basic. All amenities there (shower, flat tv, hairdry, etc..) but room is shoe-box size; and “double” bed is good for one normal persons only (140 cm at max). There’s no sauna and heated skiroom, let alone aircon or cable tv. And, sound insulation very poor. You can clearly hear people talking in next room, or using the bathroom.
If above shortfalls don’t bother you, you will have a good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing he road/railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This great chalet is right outside of Chamonix-Mont Blanc, very close to my favorite watering hole MBC. It is outside of the center which I like because it made it cheaper and away from the crowd. The restaurant is good as well. The place also has free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joej45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

This is a quaint hotel on the outskirts of the main centre of Chamonix. I stayed here for a few days in December and loved it. It’s a small cosy place, just the kind you want to find nestling at the bottom of the mountains. A proper old style chalet! The staff were helpful, food v good (a bit more variety for breakfast is the only small criticism I can make). The bedroom, although not huge, was perfectly adequate with a large wardrobe, plenty of space for all your ski gear and nice spotless bathroom with shower.

Overall - great value for money.

Keep in mind though – it is quite a hike from the main town and not one to be done in ski boots carrying skis after a long day skiing! I don’t know if it was just the time of year we were there, but the buses did not run late in the evening (or even past 7!) so you’ll have to be happy to grab a cab or take a car to get back at night. That said – the fact that you could look out the window and not see hustle or bustle or any other hotels was part of the attraction of staying here.

  • Liked — its lovely and an original style - not a chain!
  • Disliked — i didnt mind it - but you may have to climb a couple of flights of stairs so could be a problem if you have mobility problems
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montana_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.3 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#15 of 73 in Chamonix
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Clocher
Hotel du Clocher
#39 of 73 in Chamonix
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Labrador Hotel
Le Labrador Hotel
#42 of 73 in Chamonix
137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron
Address: 1650 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing