We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for a ski week end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Small *** hotel well located few kilometers outside Chamonix close to a nice forest in a very quiet area. Despite the small size rooms (actually a bit tired), thanks to the careful service, the Hotel is recommendable for a ski week end in the beautiful Chamonix area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

What a little gem this was. Historic also as it has been in operation as a tea rooms since the last century. It is not smack in the middle of town but a nice healthy walk of 15 -20 mins on a main road with a footpath most of the way or you can go through the forest trail or track either side of the road. One side is supposedly for skiers only in winter but plenty of people walk there too. You can also take the bus - some are free I think they are called the "mule". This hotel is quite rustic and I found it to have a certain charm. The staff are very friendly and multilingual. It is in a great location and a very good base for cross country skiing or downhill as there is a ski field and cable car very close to La Praz . I liked being away from the town centre. In the summer I would imagine it is a perfect base for walking and relaxing too. The room I was in was small but adequate. I booked fairly late and paid 50 euros without breakfast (another 10.50 euro) but it was by far the cheapest accommodation I could find at Chamonix at the time so I am certain if you get ahead of the game you may be able to book at even cheaper rates especially if you are staying more than a night. The bed was a little small and firm but ok. The shower was new and a very good one. The room was warm and safe and had everything I needed but was not at all luxurious so it depends what you want. The meals at this hotel were superb and very reasonably priced. If you are hungry you can choose a 3 course menu for 23.50 euros. When you stay here you are provided with a free travel pass for the bus into town or to go up across the mountain to Argentiere which can be handy. Don't forget to try the local liquer Genepe - it's wonderful after a good meal here. I hope to return here. It left a very good impression with me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltourist064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Clean,quiet, comfortable,good value family run hotel.
Stayed here for a weekend in February 2013 and found the hotel very agreeable.
The room was clean, comfortable and in good condition with WIFI access and TV.The breakfast for €10.50 included fresh fruit, cheese, ham , a selection of breads and pastries , yoghurts and eggs and the dinner was good value at €21 for 3 or 4 courses.
The ever present propreiter is friendly and professional and she speaks good English.
The Flegere lift is nearby and there is a ski bus stop just outside the hotel. It is also on the cross county ski route if that's your bag. It is a good walk back from Chamonix centre in the evening though. This area of the Chamonix Valley is very beautiful with it's proximity to the woods and the river.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-Teddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Situated on the edge of the forest, beside the river, right on the cross-country ski path, it is a perfect place if you want to avoid the noisy town centre. The rooms are not luxurious but clean and cosy, the ski bus-stop is virtually on your doorstep and a walk to the centre takes no more than 20 minutes. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the atmosphere is homely, the prices - reasonable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kl-ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We dropped into Chamonix en route home from a Ski/snowboard trip in the Tarentaise valley (Sainte Foy) with the intention of doing a bit of equipment shopping, arriving mid afternoon on a Fri afternoon in March was a gamble and on this occasion it paid off ! there wasn't anything available in town so we asked for help from the tourist information centre (not that helpful!) but after a bit of 'pushing' they agreed to ring a few hotels on the off chance that a canx might have come available. luckily the Hotel Arveyron had one room free, so we Jumped into the car and drove the 5 mins out of town.
Arriving at the hotel reception we were greeted by a very helpful and smiling guy who asked us if we would like to see the room before checking in (we declined and took it, sight unseen) he then cheerfully escorted us to the room.
The room was in a separate building at the rear of the main hotel, the cleaners were busy cleaning the entrance area and stairs and were also very welcoming and pleasant.
the room although not large, was more than adequate and had a good sized bathroom with bath and shower.
the room was warm and quiet with a fantastic view of the Midi from the large sunny balcony.
Bags dropped in the room, we headed to the sunny patio area at the front of the hotel and had Coffee / tea and a light bight whilst watching the cross country skiers pass, tea was served by a polite young guy, this whole checking in experience was excellent.
Check out was smooth and conducted by the granddaughter of the original owner (a very nice lady)
Great location (bit of a hike from town) Lots of parking, very pleasant staff, very clean/warm
fantastic views, very good value for money.
we will, without a doubt, stay at this hotel again rather than staying in town (lots of reasonably priced taxis available 24/7)

ps if you dont wish to eat at the hotel (menu/food is very good) and wish to go into town, Dine at the 'Le SanJon' restaurant ! its fantastic.
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g187261-d2342859-Reviews-Le_Sanjon-Chamonix_Haute_Savoie_Rhone_Alpes.html

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDickoDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Been there in March, 2012. Overall, the stay was satisfying, with no dramatic complains. Location is OK; peaceful and sunny, right on the cross-country ski/pedestrian path. It’s half-hour easy walk to Chamonix center (15 min walk to Les Praz skilift). There is a local railway next to hotel. Although trains are rare, but if your room face the railway, it may disturb you couple of times a night. Also, avoid the rooms facing the road, it may be noisy.
Staff friendly; but not so fluent in English. Breakfast humble, which is typical for this type of property.
What disappointed us was that the hotel turned out to be really basic. I mean, VERY basic. All amenities there (shower, flat tv, hairdry, etc..) but room is shoe-box size; and “double” bed is good for one normal persons only (140 cm at max). There’s no sauna and heated skiroom, let alone aircon or cable tv. And, sound insulation very poor. You can clearly hear people talking in next room, or using the bathroom.
If above shortfalls don’t bother you, you will have a good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing he road/railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This great chalet is right outside of Chamonix-Mont Blanc, very close to my favorite watering hole MBC. It is outside of the center which I like because it made it cheaper and away from the crowd. The restaurant is good as well. The place also has free wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joej45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Lanchers
Hotel Les Lanchers
#8 of 73 in Chamonix
345 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
154 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Labrador Hotel
Le Labrador Hotel
#40 of 73 in Chamonix
154 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron

Address: 1650 route du Bouchet, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range: £93 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Arveyron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing