We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot water, good bed and (un)cleanness. What do you need more?”
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We traveled as a young couple and booked this hotel just because of good (low) price and that it is near city center Chamonix-Mont-Blanc (2 km). I saw there was a bus stop near this hotel but as we were traveling by personal car it was not important to us what kind of public transport they have.

We were coming late in the evening and reception was working only till 7 p.m. We were trying to call them and notice it but nobody answered so we called to booking.com call center as we have booked this hotel using their internet page. They also could get in touch with hotel by phone so they wrote an e-mail to them and then got answer that the key will be left near reception window. That's good!

So, we came to hotel, took our key and went to the room. What was disappointing that the floors (actually carpet) was very unclean. So it was kind of ugly to walk without shoes. I guess they could take this carpet away and just make simple wooden floors better 'cause everything there is "old style".

Towels and bedclothes were clean. And there was hot water!

Room is simple: double bed, a table, 2 chairs, 1 chest-of-drawers, closet.

Bed had a hard mattress (and that is good!). Wall are made of paper I guess, 'cause you can hear everything...

There were two lamps at the side of bed and one more on the wall (with two lightbulbs). The first two were not working and another one was not working fully (only one lightbulb was actually illuminating). We showed it and asked to repair or change. Next day they said sorry that they can't repair first two at the moment and when we went into the room we saw that they didn't even change lightbulb for lamp on the wall. So it was kind of romantic and dark inside...

In the morning we looked through window an saw a mountainside near it!

All in all it's a good deal but I cannot give more that 3/5 because room was not clean. But we were not disappointed because all we needed was hot shower and good bed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Girdrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent to delightful nights at Le Vert in Chamonix in May 2011. A warm and cozy place (low season in May), silent and calm. With a great view of Mont Blanc's glacier and only 1 km from the city center.
Breakfast was great: baguette, jams and croissants with tasty coffee. The rooms, simple yet cozy. A minute bathroom but a great wifi internet connection. TV.
Good for its value!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were here in the summer of 2011 staying two nights. As other people commented, walking it would be about 20 minutes to Chamonix. For us, the distance to the town centre wasn't an issue, as we went back and forth by car (5 minutes). There is plenty of parking space near the hotel (not so in Chamonix though, but that's another subject).

We got a room at the front, way up under the roof. It seemed like an attic. The wood beams and all made it cosy. The tapestry behind the bed was a bit dusty, like the rest of the room. Nice little balcony though and a great view on the Mont Blanc. The bathroom is under the roof, which did not allow for much space to stand up. Tall people would have a problem here. The room was relatively large. Two steep stairs had to be climbed with all the luggage, but that's not too much of a problem.

In the summer, the location has a nice bonus in the form of the little lake, just beside the hotel. Great place to spend a sunny afternoon, sunbathing, swimming or rock climbing. A big plus of the Le Vert Hotel was the excellent wifi connection. The room was quiet and we slept like roses.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view of the peak of the Mont Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Nice and friendly place, but a little run down. I was there for the hotel's opening party way back when, and I was a little surprised now to see how hard time can be on a Cham hotel.
We had a good sized family room and slept like babies (apparently through a sequence of garden parties outside our window, but we didn't hear a thing).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-sailors-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were kind of surprised by the location of Le Vert, because no one mentioned it. It's a good 20 minute walk from the old town of Chamonix, or a 10 minute shuttle bus ride. However during non-peak season, the frequency of the bus is not high. The walk is scenic in the backdrop of the Alps, but not when you have a heavy backpack to lug!

Anyway, the hotel is good value for money at 55 euros a night (cheaper than anything you'll find in old town) and has a bar with a chilled out ambience. Worth a stay, as long as you know what you're in for!

My travelogue from Chamonix: http://theshootingstar.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/chamonix-of-french-alps-summer-snow/

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Alps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheShootingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The good:
It's cheap. Staff speak English - when you can find them to talk to them. Location is good if you are on a hiking holiday in that it's close to bus and train connections and the hiking trails.
Good bar with huge TV. Free wifi.
The bad:
Rooms are small; bathrooms tiny. The electrics are dodgy (blew and destroyed the plug in our friends phone charger and the entire reservation system had been blown out by a storm the day we arrived). The bar is noisy.
Reception hours are extremely erratic and response to phone/email requests (we tried to book a second night) is spotty.

If you are young, like to party and are budget constrained it's not a bad option; if you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

You'll be really impressed by the brilliant location of the Hotel Le Vert, underneath Mont Blanc. Fantastic Bar and fantastic views of Mont Blanc from the Bar and Bar Patio Terrace. Very helpful staff making the hotel a real home from home. Rooms are clean and comfortable, if a tad basic, but ideal to crash out into, after a few beers and some good skiing that day.. Excellent, well equipped Pro Shop available for Ski / Board and Boot hire, off the hotel reception, where Ju is a really helpful and knowledgeable guy. The hotel can be very noisy on the exceptional evenings, i.e Saturday night, boom boom boom, through the whole place. 15 minutes walk from Chamonix village. The Ski Shuttle bus stops outside the door, for getting to Le Tour, Les Grandes Mondes, etc..Top blokes having a great time having a go at running the hotel, livng the dream. Nice one. Excellent for savouring the Big Mountain Scene and looking forward to the next visit SKI trip to Chamonix and Hotel Le Vert,

Room Tip: Front of Hotel for the best views of Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austriantraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing