We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food brilliant, room average”
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food brilliant, room average”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The location is pretty good for the price - out of town but right by a bus stop and train station so getting to the slopes is pretty easy if you don't have a car. The staff are very friendly and were happy to help with most things. The on-site ski rental shop is very handy and saved us the hassle of having to go into town for our gear. The skis were fine as far as I could tell, and the boys in the who were very helpful.
Our room was pretty small for a double, and the en suite was tiny, with a sink barely big enough to wash your hands in. We were a bit unlucky to be above the bar as well, so we had music coming through the floor every night.
The food is the reason to come here - we had tasty and good-value meals every night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank georgegreenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    124
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
66
148
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great week in chamonix. Le Vert Hotel was ideal. Ski hire place on the premises that can also supply lift passes. The bus stop for main route to all ski areas is just outside the door. If the horrors of the chamonix ski bus are too much then the hotel can arrange pick up and transfer for you. The hotel itself is well decorated and the bar and restaurant area have a great atmosphere. Best of all the food in the restaurant is amazing! Full gourmet feasts and especially if you go for the daily menu brilliant value! Staff helpful and friendly, even kept a room available at their inconvenience to allow us to take a shower after a sneaky extra morning on the slopes before a late transfer to airport.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FraserCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Recently returned from Le Vert and must say what really makes it a stand out is the fantastic staff and friendly atmosphere. If you are looking for somewhere a bit different from the bog standard complacent tourist trap then this is for you! From start to finish they could not be helpful enough with literally everything from best places to visit, to restaurant recommendations, to advice on ski instructors. The hotel has a real buzz and was a great place to spend time in. Don't be put off by location, the centre is only 15 minute stroll and the free cham bus service stops literally outside the hotel. Also there is usually a staff member around to drop you to the centre all with a smile! Martin :) The rooms are clean and comfortable, great lively bar and the restaurant is not to be missed-best food we found in Chamonix and very good value.
Will definately be returning could not fault it! Thanks to Richard and Liz and all the staff for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1cky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just got back from Le Vert this weekend, my first stay in hotel, will defiantly be going back. 15 minute walk from chamonix centre you will find this buzzing hotel , the food is of a very high quality the bar is lively with great atmosphere and the staff quite simply cant do enough for you. They have an onsite ski rental shop which is a major plus and the staff in the shop give good advice on to which slopes to visit according to conditions, if you don't want to catch the ski buses they even lay on a mini bus for you for a small fee. Rooms are quite adequate and clean exactly what you would expect in a ski resort. All in all this was a great find and would recommend you give it a go .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This has to be the friendliest hotel that I have ever stayed in. The staff all made a point of chatting to you, which for a single traveller is fantastic. I stayed here at the the end of February, which is a pretty busy time and yet the atmosphere was very relaxed and calm. The hotel is spotless, and although it seems small my room was actually quite large with an excellent shower.
I had a bit of a n accident on the slopes during my second last day and I was amazed by the reaction. The hotel staffed booked appointments, drove me to the hospital, provided me with bags of ice etc etc. I simply could not have asked for more. Thank you to every body at Les Vert, I hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Try to get the second floor, as it can get a bit noisy on the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanProne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having searched fairly last minute for accommodation for a long weekend, group snow holiday, Le Vert Hotel was suggested. This turned out to be the perfect base!
Pluses:
• Pay the extra for a room with a balcony and view of Mont Blanc. I didn’t see the other rooms but I would definitely pay the little extra for these rooms again.
• The hotel will do everything for you!
o Private transfer to/ from airport at very competitive rate (Flying from Scotland this allowed us to be on the slopes by 1230. For 6 of us on the return journey it was about the same as the group transfers).
o Shuttle bus to/from the slopes (I think 3-5Euro depending on resort). The Chamonix buses are busy! This service, at least 1 way, is well worth the cost!
o There is a ski/board shop onsite. They shut between 1100 and 1300 but will try to stay open for you if you contact them in advance.
o You can buy your lift passes a the onsite ski shop
o They hired us a helmet (for our 1 non helmet owner) for free.
o They run a shuttle into the town centre on Friday and Saturday nights
o They’ll make you a packed lunch for a small price
• The ski bus stop is right outside the door. This isn’t brochure speak, it is about 5m from the hotel driveway.
• There is a very nice bar where they show sport
• The onsite restaurant was amazing and the best meal we had in Chamonix! It’s not cheap, but nothing in Chamonix is!
• Our room was lovely!
• There’s a board storage room
• The staff are great! So friendly. So helpful.
• It’s only a 20 min walk into town
Negatives
• It’s a 20 min walk into town (This doesn’t bother me but I know some people might want to be central). There’s not a pavement the whole way into town.
• There was a little delay getting an initial response about our booking. Persevere with the booking! It’s more than worth it!
• There’s no sauna or Jacuzzi to relax (I can’t believe the hotel is this good that I have to use this as a negative!)
I loved this place! We had 3 rooms between us. The 2 doubles were pretty big and comfortable. I didn’t see the twin but I think it seemed a little smaller, as you’d expect, due to the 2 twin beds; I’m glad I booked them the larger twin. Breakfast is included and sets you up for the day. The staff are all snow crazy and couldn’t do enough to get us on the mountain as soon as possible! This included clearing their meeting out their office to let us all get changed in it as we were too early to check into our rooms!
I can’t wait to go back to Verthotel. For money, this is more than I’d expect in Chamonix!

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for the balcony room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our group of 8 blokes stayed at Le Vert for 4 nights. The rooms are as you'd expect from a 2 star hotel - clean and functional. What really shone were the staff, who manage to combine a relaxed attitude with genuinely friendly and quick service. The food was outstanding too, and the Manager Liz knows her wine. The minibus service also deserves a special mention. Chamonix has 5 ski areas, but it's bete noire is the overcrowded and unreliable bus service that you need to use to get to these, even if you're staying in the middle of the town. While Le Vert is out of town, it's turned this into an advantage by offering a minibus drop off and collection service to the lifts, which for a few € gives you more skiing and less hassle. The drivers also run a regular evening shuttle to and from town for apres-ski, although Le Vert does a pretty good job of this itself with a funky bar and restaurant area and enough going on in the evening to make it a good place to hang out. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Some of the twins are on the small side so if you're in a group think about the triples, which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutfield_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,089 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Property: Le Vert Hotel
Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing