We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What I Wanted”
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My fiancee and I stopped in Chamonix for 2 nights while driving from Venice to Geneva. We wanted something simple, comfortable and with a view of the mountains. We got all three at Le Vert. The room was small, but the beds were comfortable and the balcony looked out over Mont Blanc. The front desk staff were excellent and helpful and the restaurant at the hotel is simple wonderful. The price of 69 euros a night to have a balcony room overlooking the Alps was spot on. If your looking for a good, rustic and charming hotel for a very good price, look no further.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Mont Blanc" view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Found this place by accident after climbing at Les Gaillands. Another night in the car or in a tent on the rainsoaked
campsites? No thanks. Even climbers get older and prefer to have a shower once in a while...and while the weather was bad the last few days, this place brought back the sun. The rooms are nice and the staff is super friendly. What more
do you want for 69 Euros for two persons?!? And before I forget: This is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star restaurant - the menu du jour was excellent and the courses can compete with any upper class place hands down...

...we will be back for sure!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location with fantastic atmosphere, friendly staff, great beer and out of this world food. Me a a group of friends stayed for 3 days recently on a mountain biking holiday and couldn't recommend this place enough. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in Le Vert. For a skiing enthusiast, you can't really go wrong there as they have their own little skiing shop., where I was able to hire some top of the range demo skis. Also could purchase lift passes as well, which is very handy. The rooms are a nice size, and everything is clean and comfortable. Its a little walk to the main town, but only 10 or so minutes and you are there. It is right next to the bus stop so no problems getting into town, at least. The restaurant was great, the service was second to none and the food was great quality too. I remember I had a fillet steak one night which was beautifully cooked and perfect after a hard day's skiing. Everyone at the hotel made you feel comfortable and friendly. I believe Le Vert is one of the better all round accommodation options for the skiing enthusiast and would happy return again.

Room Tip: the rooms with a balcony opposite the mountain are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The restaurant was excellent and the staff were great. This was a fun hotel to stay at. It was a lively and relaxed atmosphere downstairs. The hotel rooms themselves are at best average. Overall a very good value. Family friendly. They don't replace your towels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 64ErikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Le Vert is located near a bus stop and about a (-;+) 15 minute walk from the Chamonix town centre. There are some free parking lots at front door. It´s not easy to park free near the center Chamonix so this is very convenient because one can leave the car and take the bus.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. A few words and you are already an oldtimer...
Our room was on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor looking out over the mountain peaks. It was a bit noisy earlier in the evening.
The room itself was clean, the sink in the bathroom too small other than to wash your hands.
The bed was wide enough, although too soft !!

It's an old world type ski lodge and it could do with a bit of a makeover as it looks a bit tired, on the other hand having no makeover gives it a certain charm.
However it is clean and well priced.
If we can we will return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (not facing the road and the pub/bar) will be quieter but don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank messup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Bed was very comfortable, staff was very friendly and accommodating for our late arrival.

Only complaint would be that the cleaning staff was quite loud and a bit rude in the morning (we arrived late so slept in until about 10, they were cleaning around 8 and I could hear them complaining loudly about things in various rooms..."why the F*** are these beds pushed together?", etc.).

Owners were great! Would stay here again, wish we could have stayed longer.

Parking is free in front of the hotel. Close to the town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
1.8 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.9 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
364 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing